We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Courtyard but I like the new "freshbar menu"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Collegeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Have not stayed in a Courtyard for a while so I thought I would write this up. Nice standard Courtyard Room (plenty of plugs and free wifi with my elite status). Work out room cramped with ellipitcals and weight machine (but again this is a Courtyard so what do you expect?). For the price a great value (staying on business).

The new addition (I guess for every Courtyard) is that they have done away with what I can only describe as the disgusting breakfast bar buffet (cold greasy eggs, instant oatmeal, stale bagels, day old sliced cantaloupe they idea of one of these makes me want to puke!) and gone with a fresh bar that will cook a quick and fast (and healthy if one wants) breakfast + Star Bucks Coffee for under $ 12. Count me in for this. THey blow away comparable tiered hotels (Hampton/Hampton Garden/Embassy Suites/Holiday Inn Express or Staybridge) with this breakfast and also quick and light dinner. Limited menu but good hot and fast.
Well Done Marriott.

Room Tip: Its a Marriott Courtyard- it does not matter!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are excited to hear you like the new Bistro concept the Courtyard Marriott brand has developed. We are excited to serve our guests with it everyday. We did just recently go through a renovation. With the renovation we expanded our fitness center and put in all new fitness equipment. We are excited to show it off but we are always looking at ways to make it even better. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts about the fitness center. They are very useful to us here at Courtyard Marriott so we can always make our guests' experiences even better than the last.
Jon Gustin - General Manager Courtyard Marriott Collegeville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 226 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

I travel to the local Collegeville corporate site 5-6 times throughout the year from Connecticut and have stayed at the Courtyard before. Week before last I made the 5 hour drvie, exacerbated by traffic and roadwork on the highway, arriving exhausted at the hotel by 11:30 p.m. only to find that my guaranteed corporate reservation (late arrival) had been usurped. Apparently the hotel was overbooked, and the decision was made to give away my room prior to my arrival. No attempt was made to contact me, and the staff was less than apologetic. I was furious and had to sit in the parking lot and call surrounding hotels until I could find an available room. Our administrative assistant has handled all of the reservations in the past, specified late arrival and "guaranteed" reservations. I'm not sure what happened this time but never plan to stay there again. Due to getting to sleep after 1:30 a.m. the entire next day at work was a reminder of the sleep I'd lost because of their overbooking.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel, I'd recommend double checking any reservation.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Jakerbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at the Courtyard Marriott in Collegeville, PA. Unfortunately that evening when you came to our hotel we were in a oversold situation and it is not in a position we like to be in. There are many reasons why this might occur but it does not happen often. We know how much this can be an inconvenience to our guests when this does occur but we do make sure we take care of our guests when this does occur. We immediately setup a reservation for that guest at a local hotel. We pay for the room and tax for that night at the local hotel. We make sure that guest has transportation to get to that local hotel. We will go over and beyond that to make sure the guest is satisfied and to show our apologies for the situation. We apologize again for this happening to you.
Thank you
Jon Gustin - General Manager Courtyard Marriott Collegeville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

In case you have never been to this neck of the woods, this hotel may be the best in the area. It has recently been renovated. I have had a couple of room with internet problems, but nothing lately. I suggest driving down the road to Phoenixville for a nice dinner or going across the street to Wegmans for a quick breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWGators22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for your great review! We really appreciate it! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you had internet problems in the past but I can assure you that we have made some great improvements with our internet connections. I am not sure if you had a chance to experience our new Bistro for breakfast or dinner but next time you are in town definitely check it out! Thank you again.
Jon Gustin
General Manager
Courtyard Marriott Collegeville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed 1 night on business in April 2012. This hotel is located near a number of major companies in the area and is priced accordingly - I thought it quite expensive for a Courtyard. However the hotel itself is very good, nice rooms, comfortable beds. Breakfast was a little different but good. Overall worth staying here if you are travelling on business.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashlessinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for your review! I am glad you liked our newly renovated rooms! The bistro breakfast is definitely new to the Courtyard Marriott brand but we are excited with the changes and delighted to serve our guests in it. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Thank you!
Jon Gustin
General Manager
Courtyard Marriott Collegeville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed at several Courtyards in various places, and I would have to rate this one as the nicest I have experienced.

I stayed here before about 3 years ago. At that time it was your average Courtyard, Nice, comfortable, nothing outstanding. My son and I were there again this past weekend, and I am very impressed by the renovations they did. We had an extended queen-queen room, which would be fine in a full service Mariott or Renaissance.

Staff was friendly, breakfast in the bistro was exactly as expected.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

I am excited to hear you liked our newly renovated Courtyard Marriott. We have definitely put some great improvements into the hotel. The extended queen-queen rooms are very nice and I am glad you and your son got to enjoy one of those rooms. They are very spacious rooms. Hopefully we will have the chance again to serve you and your son in the future.
Thank you for staying with us!
Jon Gustin
General Manager
Courtyard Marriott Collegeville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We travel often for work and pleasure, and are very picky about where we stay. We have stayed here often while visiting our daughter at college, and continue to be impressed with this hotel - the design, cleanliness, and service. Today my kids colored eggs for Easter at a table in their lobby. John W, an employee, overheard we forgot vinegar and ran out to the market to get some for us. Other employees, Krista and Ester went out of their way to ensure the Easter tradition and then the rest of the evening were special. For a business oriented hotel, it is extremely family friendly and comfortable. We look forward to many more visits here.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank ccm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are excited to hear you and your family had a great stay with us! We can not wait to have you back! If you need anything please let us know.

Jon Gustin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and this impressed me. They've recently remodeled and the 'bistro' is a nice touch. The lobby is much more 'W' than your average Courtyard, and the service was very helpful.
DO plan to rent a car if you're staying here. It's a long way away from anything (Philly, airport, trains, restaurants). We couldn't even walk across the road to the nearest mall/restaurants because the highway doesn't have crosswalks!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (5 or 4) near the 'ends' of the hallways for quiet. The south end is c...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoiledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collegeville
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Valley Forge/Oaks
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Royersford-Valley Forge
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Limerick
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Valley Forge
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville

Address: 600 Campus Dr, Collegeville, PA 19426-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Collegeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Collegeville
Price Range: $117 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville was just renovated and includes great perks in an ideal location to make it a top Valley Forge Hotel. The new, state-of-the-art lobby provides inviting media pod work spaces, property-wide WiFi, a media library, and easy access to the latest news, weather, and airport conditions via the touch-screen GoBoard™. Start your day off right at the Bistro, where you can enjoy a healthy breakfast with Starbucks(R) coffee, or unwind after a long day with a delicious American dinner menu paired with craft wine and beer to enjoy outside in our patio with fire pit. The guest rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable, luxury bedding, and in-room mini-fridges. Choose the Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/Collegeville Hotel Collegeville
Courtyard Hotel Collegeville
Courtyard Collegeville
Collegeville Courtyard
Collegeville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing