We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortuga's Mexican Eatery

Tortuga's Mexican Eatery
Ranked #29 of 65 Restaurants in Collegeville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I love this place. Everything I've tried here has been delicious, and I'm always trying to get new people to come along and try their food. Their salsa is probably my favorite salsa anywhere. It tastes so fresh, and has a great kick. All of their meals are sizable portions. My favorite is the Chipotle Chicken, which comes with all of the fixings to make your own little tacos, plus rice and beans. Sooo good. Their desserts are delicious too, and they offer all kinds of authentic Mexican drinks. The only thing I have to complain about is the service. No matter how many or how few people are dining, the service ALWAYS sucks. And the owner can be pretty snippy. She's definitely not the most pleasant...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
749 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Not the typical large Mexican menu, but good nonetheless. Restaurant is small and feels a bit like a fast food restaurant, but has table service and a liquor license. Informal and inexpensive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Microwaved chicken”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming to this restaurant for years now. We were so disappointed when my husband's creamy chipotle chicken tasted like it had been heated or even cooked straight through in the microwave and then thrown on the grille for a few seconds at best! It tasted terrible. When the server came and asked how dinner was going my husband told her about the chicken and even asked her if they had microwaved it because it tasted as though it had been. She insisted that they do not use a microwave on their food. "Ha ha ha, yea right!" Anyway she asked if she could take the plate away and make him something else. We told her that he would eat it anyway because the kids were getting antsy. Well you would think that they would take the chicken off of our check- nope! And we didn't even get spoken to by the manager- she was too busy serving other customers - too bad because we will not be going back. And I will also make sure to tell everyone their lack of customer service.

Helpful?
Thank Rosicilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATHY H, Owner at Tortuga's Mexican Eatery, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I am very sorry about your unsatisfactory experience at Tortugas. I want to assure you that are meats are never microwaved. The chicken is grilled. If a customer is not happy with a menu item, we always offer to prepare them something else. However, if they do eat their meal , we do charge for it. I should have come over to your table to address the situation, perhaps I could have resolved it better. I hope that as customers who have been coming for years, that you have been happy with your other visits to Tortugas, and will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
210 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stopped in on a Wednesday evening while visiting the area. Hubby had a margarita which he pronounced excellent. Reasonable selection of beers also.
We each had the pick two combination, which was very reasonably priced. I had the cheese enchilada and a pork enchilada. The pork was succulent and very tasty. The cheese enchilada, well, let's just say I've had way better. Hubby had the beef tamale which he said was very good, and a ground beef enchilada which he also said was good. The verde sauce is supposed to be spicy, but I felt it could have used some zip. Hubby said the mild red sauce was good.
Overall, when we left we decided that if we are back in the area again, we would return for another visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Margarita I Love You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Best Margaritas in town--in just about any flavor you prefer. Huge menu of choices; I usually go with the pick three (of any combination) for $12.95; with a choice of tacos, burritos, chimichangas,enchiladas, tamales, tostadas and then You can choose from delicious shredded beef, shredded pork--those are my two favorites--chicken, ground beef, or chorizo. there are also several vegetarian options.
Great prices, festive atmosphere, and quick, friendly service. My only complaint is that they don't have a bar--which may be a good thing because I would be there all the time!
menu: http://tortugasmex.com/

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga's Mexican Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Tortuga's Mexican Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing