We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family day”
Review of Redwood Rides

Redwood Rides
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hiouchi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Redwood Rides provides guided adventure tours and rentals in and around Redwood National Park on California's North Coast. Our most popular trips are guided kayak tours on the jade-clear Smith River, where you learn to paddle your own inflatable kayak through fun but mellow rapids while gazing up at ancient redwoods. We also offer kayak tours on Class II through Class IV whitewater on the Smith River. We also offer kayak and bike rentals with shuttle service for more independent travelers. Guided bike tours through old-growth redwoods are available on easy, family-friendly trails or on advanced terrain. Bike trips in the redwoods, or in the rugged and beautiful Siskiyou Mountains, are a great way to see the scenery in California's only rain forest. If you're really looking to get into the wild, Redwood Rides offers guided backpacking trips in the Siskiyou Wilderness as well as in Redwood National Park. No matter what adventure you crave, Redwood Rides has you covered!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Our 8 year old said he loved it more than computer games!!!! Jar was a great guide...kind, knowledgeable and patient. Can't wait to come back next year!!!!!

Thank lisahE7196VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Director of Sales at Redwood Rides, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Better than computer games?! That is quite the compliment coming from an 8-year-old! ;)
Can't wait to have you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kayak trip"
in 17 reviews
"smith river"
in 71 reviews
"multi sport"
in 7 reviews
"dry bag"
in 4 reviews
"fun kayaking"
in 4 reviews
"mountain bike ride"
in 3 reviews
"guide laura"
in 3 reviews
"great trip"
in 13 reviews
"splash jackets"
in 5 reviews
"water level"
in 5 reviews
"half day trip"
in 5 reviews
"river kayaking"
in 3 reviews
"swimming hole"
in 3 reviews
"wet suits"
in 4 reviews
"short hike"
in 8 reviews
"these guys"
in 10 reviews
"redwood grove"
in 5 reviews
Filter

203 - 207 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2016

Our family of 4 took the multi sport package. We started with the bike ride. My eldest and her dad took the hill challenge route, while I went with the younger kid on the hilly ride. The regular route was great and perfect for a HS Freshman, but if you have an high strung athlete, they have a great route for that person too. After riding we had a delicious lunch, and then put in the one man kayaks for a 2+ hour paddle through rapids and beautiful countryside. We also stopped and did a quick 10' hike through a redwood grove. Fantastic day for a family. We had Zack as our guide. He's local and knows it all. Even gave us suggestions for a yummy dinner.

Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Director of Sales at Redwood Rides, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

It sounds like you all experienced the best of the best that the redwoods has to offer! Thanks for joining us, and for leaving us a review. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Alex, Zachary, and Laura did a fabulous job of taking my family down the Smith River kayaking! The leisurely pace allowed everyone to get acclimated to the 'feel' of the sport as well as enjoy the amazing beauty of the Redwoods. A bonus was the care they took in making sure that I (the picture taker of the group) knew which trail/beach to head to so that I could get some wonderful shots of everyone in the river.

Truly a 'must do' when visiting Crescent City! Thank you to everyone!

1  Thank nd6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Director of Sales at Redwood Rides, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

It was a pleasure taking your group out - hope you got some amazing photos! Thanks for taking the time to review us, it means a lot. Hope we see you next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Our group Pilates retreat on the Smith River was complete with kayaking on the Smith. We took a very mellow self-guided river run that our first-timers to more experienced paddlers enjoyed so much! Adam was very helpful and gave us lots of tips for places our group would enjoy in the area during our stay. Alex was accommodating to our schedule change and both were easy to reach to discuss logistics for our arrival and transport for our day of paddling. I am already looking forward to next years' retreat which will include boating with Redwood Rides!

Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Marketing Director at Redwood Rides, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

What a fantastic combination of activities - we love that you're bringing a pilates retreat to our area! Glad your group enjoyed the redwoods. Can't wait for next year, Jeanette. It will be even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2016

We heard about Redwood Rides from the Visitors' Center at Jedediah Smith State Park. Adam was great on the phone making the arrangements. Alex was professional and very personable from our pick up at the entrance to the park to our pick up just past the day use area. We were well informed and were provided with great equipment. We will definitely be doing this trip again and will certainly call Redwood Rides again for another adventure.

Thank kellenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Marketing Director at Redwood Rides, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thanks for joining us, we're glad to hear you enjoyed the experience. Looking forward to taking you on another kayaking adventure in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood Rides also viewed

 

Been to Redwood Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing