We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to nature”
Review of Hiouchi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hiouchi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hiouchi Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to nature”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We came halfway round the globe to see the magnificent Redwoods. To smell the fresh forest air from this motel was an additional bonus. The absence of air conditioning and the ineffectiveness of the blinds did not bother us. Sure there were two dogs beneath our window, but they only bark in the mornings.
Take a short stroll to see Jed Smith Redwood Burl Co and bought a couple of his beautiful Redwood bookmarks and business card boxes. Generally the surroundings were calm and the forest air was invigorating.
If you like nature and not perpetually rushing around, you will love this motel and the Redwoods. Otherwise stay in Crescent City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scy298298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was one of many stops on a road trip. I chose this because of the location to the Jedediah Smith park. I was disappointed to find out the restaurant the motel web site and other reviews mention was closed down. We had planned on dining there both for dinner and breakfast since there is no continental breakfast offered by the motel. The staff told us the nearest restaurant was 10 miles away in Crescent City. The only other option was the overpriced gas station across the street. The room also had no air conditioning and no screen on one of the windows, which we had opened to let in some air. In addition to flying bugs, the smoke from the neighbors cigarettes also came in. The windows and the curtains are thin. We could hear the traffic quite well and lots of light came in. We were happy to see the refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave, but the ice maker didn't work while we were there.

Room Tip: Because the traffic can clearly be heard, request a room as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed there two days ago as a last minute option while visiting the Redwood Forest and the thing that sticks out in my mind is praying I'd fall asleep soon so I could stop itching and feeling creeped out by the bed sheets. The place was $66 and I know why, you are paying for a roof and bottom of the line amenities. Hair was found in the "clean towels", a layer of dust on the fan that I couldn't turn on in the heat I felt because I was afraid the dust would fly everywhere. After checking in I had a need to take a shower because I felt so dirty in the room. A brown ring covered the tub and that's when I just had enough.

Not sure why so many gave this place a good rating, I'm quite surprised. Why I gave this place two stars and not one: they accepted pets, it was in a great location and the price was cheaper than a bottle of restaurant wine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chacha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I cannot believe that someone has rated this motel any higher than a 2. I call this place the 'Last Chance Motel'.

Where to begin.....

First, upon arriving, my reservation was lost, the key was lost, so I was given the hotel's master key, and then given instructions to go to the wrong room. Upon opening the door...let's just say unpleasant for both parties involved.
After a lot of searching, the night attendant and I finally figured out that I was on the second floor, not the first like I was told.....ughhhh.

Now the room. Dust everywhere, hair in the tub, towels, and sink. The beds were very sketchy, and screamed bed bugs. The blankets gave me the willies. To top it off, the motel backs up to a property with two big dogs that decided to bark all night. Couple that with no a/c, I wished I had Quaaludes and a stiff drink to knock me out.

Yes, it's close to Jedediah park, and it's cheap, but think long and hard about this place. Or, go there with the mentality that it's only one night, and you can endure anything.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Office hours are limited but staff is friendly. Advise would be bring your own pillows. There are only two per bed and they are pretty flat. Our room was clean and equipped with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker. Motel is cute and pet friendly. I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We were in the area and it was getting late and the road was starting to get foggy. I checked out the trip advisor reviews and based on them we decided to stay. I agree with the other reviewers regarding the need for curtains as the blinds don't make the room dark enough. We had some problems with the noise also - bunch of fisherman were standing next to their trucks trading stories and you could hear them like they were standing next to you. When we went to get ice- the machine that was outdoors was empty and the ice scoop just sitting out on top of the machine --- seems the fisherman had just filled up their coolers. I'm not comfortable with scooping ice for a drink with a scoop that has been sitting outside where birds fly by and poop and anyone can access it.
I think this is a good place at a good price but I think there are a couple of things the management could do to make it better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This motel is perfect if you're looking for a 'no frills' motel that's clean and inexpensive. It's in an absolutely awesome location, just down the street from Jedediah Smith Redwoods. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking to get away from it all and experience the beauty of the redwoods. Located just next door is a nice little cafe that offers up some decent breakfast. I definitely plan to come back here in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oakhillstraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiouchi
6.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
432 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
13.3 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
7.5 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
445 reviews
6.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiouchi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiouchi Motel

Property: Hiouchi Motel
Address: 2097 US Highway 199, Hiouchi, CA 95531-9307
Location: United States > California > Hiouchi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing