We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Little Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiouchi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hiouchi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hiouchi Motel
Save
You added Hiouchi Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Paid $58 for one night at the Hiouchi Motel. Considering the price, it was a great deal -- clean, comfortable, and next to the redwoods. For dinner, you need to go into Crescent City, but that's only 10 minutes away.

Hotel is on the main highway so there is quite a bit of road noise -- bring earplugs. Wish they had more substantial blinds/curtains to block out more light (just had mini-blinds). But other than that, if you are looking for a cheap, clean place to stay, don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BigSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a cheap, clean, place to stay after driving all days. This motel was right off the main road on your way to crescent city- it was immaculate. I am a clean freak so rest assure it was spotless, no odors, clean comfortable bed and shower. Great for one night stay. Oh, also provided 4 fresh towels.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cory370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlover101101
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The location was very close to the beautiful trees and the owner told us about a great "swimming hole" nearby. There is a nice sized yard for the kiddos to play in. Plus a gazebo type area with a grill. The diner across the street is yummy!

This is a great place for you if you love the redwoods and are on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExperienceAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Older, but very clean with cozy beds and windows that open. If you're not in to camping, but want to visit J. Smith Redwoods this is the perfect place to stay. Ranger station and the entrance to the park are very close and the rangers even allow free access to the campfire talks at night. Grocery store, small cafe, and redwood carver make up the town. Downside, cafe not open for dinner. Must drive to Crescent City, but it's only a few miles away. After seeing the city, I'd choose Hiouchi every time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired-ready-to-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Prairies
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The rooms were so reasonable that we got two so our teen daughter could have some privacy for a change. Spotlessly clean, well equipped with quite new furnishings (microwave, fridge, comfy chair, A/C), no charge for dogs, and a great deal. The rooms with one bed are downstairs.. the end unit is a King bed and quite nice. If you need two beds you'll be upstairs. There is a nice little gazebo-barbeque areas out front with some comfy lawn chairs.
Yes, construction was still going on in the mini-storage facility next door, owned by the same guy as the motel, and it started before 7 AM on a Saturday. We complained about that to the young women in the office and the next day they didn't start until after 8 AM so we were OK with that. The Jedediah Smith forest and some great short walks are very close, and there isn't much to do at night in Hiouchi... or in Crescent City, for that matter. We have never felt any of the motels in Cresent City were worth the prices so will definitely stay in Hiouchi next time we need a fix of the Big Trees!

Room Tip: some may not be renovated; ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardensail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Rooms are not huge nor sound-proof, but I really like this place a lot. Its very clean and located in a quaint little community with a small market and fuel station just across the street. The prices are excellent. The people working were very helpful and friendly.

I drive down from Beaverton, Oregon, to explore in the redwoods about every 10 to 12 weeks and take photos. The Hiouchi Motel will be among my top picks for a place to relax.

Never tried the cafe next door, but hear its okay. Plenty of restaurants within 15 minutes or so in Crescent City. Chart Room is one to keep in mind. The redwood park is virtually adjacent to this location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdvaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is a better-than-average budget motel with surprisingly reasonable rates, particularly considering that it’s sandwiched between the Redwood National Park and the canyons of the Wild and Scenic Smith River. (It has a Crescent City address, but it’s 10 miles from town.) My room was squeaky clean, freshly painted and the bed above average for this price room.( Photo 1) It has a microwave, in-room coffee and free wif-fi, but no hair dryer. The TV remote didn’t work, and there’s no pool. But why watch TV when magnificent ancient redwood forests are practically at your doorstep? (photo 2) Why swim in a tiny chlorinated pool when the clear, cool emerald depths of the Smith River are a two minute drive? (photo 3) Rugged is coastline is 15 miles away. (photo 4) Single in July was $50 flat, taxes included. Reservations by phone only, I think. Oh, and drink the tap water. Live here and you’ll never need bottled water again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brewsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiouchi
6.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
7.5 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#11 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#4 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
6.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiouchi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiouchi Motel

Property: Hiouchi Motel
Address: 2097 US Highway 199, Hiouchi, CA 95531-9307
Location: United States > California > Hiouchi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing