We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place”
Review of Hiouchi Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hiouchi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hiouchi Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Paid $58 for one night at the Hiouchi Motel. Considering the price, it was a great deal -- clean, comfortable, and next to the redwoods. For dinner, you need to go into Crescent City, but that's only 10 minutes away.

Hotel is on the main highway so there is quite a bit of road noise -- bring earplugs. Wish they had more substantial blinds/curtains to block out more light (just had mini-blinds). But other than that, if you are looking for a cheap, clean place to stay, don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BigSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hiouchi Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a cheap, clean, place to stay after driving all days. This motel was right off the main road on your way to crescent city- it was immaculate. I am a clean freak so rest assure it was spotless, no odors, clean comfortable bed and shower. Great for one night stay. Oh, also provided 4 fresh towels.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cory370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The location was very close to the beautiful trees and the owner told us about a great "swimming hole" nearby. There is a nice sized yard for the kiddos to play in. Plus a gazebo type area with a grill. The diner across the street is yummy!

This is a great place for you if you love the redwoods and are on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExperienceAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Older, but very clean with cozy beds and windows that open. If you're not in to camping, but want to visit J. Smith Redwoods this is the perfect place to stay. Ranger station and the entrance to the park are very close and the rangers even allow free access to the campfire talks at night. Grocery store, small cafe, and redwood carver make up the town. Downside, cafe not open for dinner. Must drive to Crescent City, but it's only a few miles away. After seeing the city, I'd choose Hiouchi every time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retired-ready-to-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The rooms were so reasonable that we got two so our teen daughter could have some privacy for a change. Spotlessly clean, well equipped with quite new furnishings (microwave, fridge, comfy chair, A/C), no charge for dogs, and a great deal. The rooms with one bed are downstairs.. the end unit is a King bed and quite nice. If you need two beds you'll be upstairs. There is a nice little gazebo-barbeque areas out front with some comfy lawn chairs.
Yes, construction was still going on in the mini-storage facility next door, owned by the same guy as the motel, and it started before 7 AM on a Saturday. We complained about that to the young women in the office and the next day they didn't start until after 8 AM so we were OK with that. The Jedediah Smith forest and some great short walks are very close, and there isn't much to do at night in Hiouchi... or in Crescent City, for that matter. We have never felt any of the motels in Cresent City were worth the prices so will definitely stay in Hiouchi next time we need a fix of the Big Trees!

Room Tip: some may not be renovated; ask for an updated room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardensail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Rooms are not huge nor sound-proof, but I really like this place a lot. Its very clean and located in a quaint little community with a small market and fuel station just across the street. The prices are excellent. The people working were very helpful and friendly.

I drive down from Beaverton, Oregon, to explore in the redwoods about every 10 to 12 weeks and take photos. The Hiouchi Motel will be among my top picks for a place to relax.

Never tried the cafe next door, but hear its okay. Plenty of restaurants within 15 minutes or so in Crescent City. Chart Room is one to keep in mind. The redwood park is virtually adjacent to this location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdvaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is a better-than-average budget motel with surprisingly reasonable rates, particularly considering that it’s sandwiched between the Redwood National Park and the canyons of the Wild and Scenic Smith River. (It has a Crescent City address, but it’s 10 miles from town.) My room was squeaky clean, freshly painted and the bed above average for this price room.( Photo 1) It has a microwave, in-room coffee and free wif-fi, but no hair dryer. The TV remote didn’t work, and there’s no pool. But why watch TV when magnificent ancient redwood forests are practically at your doorstep? (photo 2) Why swim in a tiny chlorinated pool when the clear, cool emerald depths of the Smith River are a two minute drive? (photo 3) Rugged is coastline is 15 miles away. (photo 4) Single in July was $50 flat, taxes included. Reservations by phone only, I think. Oh, and drink the tap water. Live here and you’ll never need bottled water again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brewsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiouchi
6.7 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
456 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
6.4 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
13.3 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiouchi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiouchi Motel

Address: 2097 US Highway 199, Hiouchi, CA 95531-9307
Location: United States > California > Hiouchi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiouchi
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hiouchi Motel is located in the heart of the Redwoods, where warm hospitality meets rich history. We offer clean, comfortable lodging with all the basic amenities to meet your travel needs. Our convenient location allows you easy access to local activities such as hiking, biking, fishing, kayaking, river rafting, birding and picnicking, all among the world's tallest trees. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing