We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tally-ho, head out into beautiful Chester County for an English pub experience”
Review of Whip Tavern

Whip Tavern
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Coatesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
614 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Tally-ho, head out into beautiful Chester County for an English pub experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

For many, the Whip Tavern is a fantastic "road trip" restaurant destination. For Chester County locals (you lucky people!) the Whip is a great local pub. Visitors to beautiful (yes, I am biased) Chester County and the greater Brandywine River Valley have a nice place to stop for a bite to eat, have a drink, and enjoy an interesting establishment in the country. The theme of course is English pub combined with equestrian sport. High marks for great feel, atmosphere, decor, etc...you'll know what I mean once you step inside. Depending on the weather, you have the option of sitting outside on their circular terrace nestled along a babbling brook. We've eaten both inside and outside, and found both spots to be equally comfortable. Much has been written about the food already on previous Trip Advisor posts. If you already are a fan of the British pub "scene", welcome home! For others who don't immediately salivate when they hear "bangers and mash" or "Shepherds pie", relax, there are actually some other decent options you will likely enjoy. Interestingly, with the strong presence of Indian cuisine in England, you will find a few curry dishes here at the Whip. We've eaten here both for lunch and dinner. Be prepared for many entree prices over $20. If price is an issue, try coming here for a lunch. Most lunch options are between $10-15. While the food is generally good, the overall atmosphere lends tremendously to an overall pleasant experience. Depending on what you order, some of the food (by itself) is rather underwhelming and ordinary. The restaurant touts it's use of local and organic ingredients; some of the dishes are amazing. I was recently let down by a dinner salad entree. It sounded great when described by the waitress, but it's presentation and taste were second rate (and definitely not worth the ridiculous price that was charged). But the majority of our experiences have been positive. As other have noted, it does get crowded here; another reason to come out here for a midweek lunch. Also, the small parking lot will test your k-turn skills (leave the minivan at home, and bring your MG!!). But overall, this is a fun place to "hang out" especially when you're hankering some Old Speckled Hen and bangers & mash.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    121
    20
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food & Good service in horse country”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had their Soup Du Jour which was a Curried Carrot. It was spicy and delicious. Excellent soup. I would go back for that again and again (too bad it's not on the daily menu). As a meal I had their Hummus appetizer. It is a generous serving, enough for a meal or for sharing as an appetizer. The hummus itself wasn't spectacular but the rest of the items on the platter made it a good meal.

We sat outside and the waitress' service was slow, particularly with the beer, not the food. She didn't check back in a timely fashion after food was delivered to see if we liked it or needed anything. We had to ask someone to find our waitress at the end to pay the check.

As others stated, parking is very limited and it is very crowded at dinner time and they don't take reservations so be prepared to wait an hour for a table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alegriapancir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coatesville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We love this gem! However the long waits and lack of parking are discouraging. I recommend lunches or early dinner if you're not a fan of waiting. If you don't mind waiting there are plenty of beers to enjoy at the bar or the large sofa. English favorites are never disappointing, my boys love the shepherds pie but my favorite option is the black Mac. Service is usually fantastic can be spotty depending on how busy the pub is. For dessert the sticky toffee pudding is not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterCountyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Taste of British Food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently met a friend at The Whip for lunch. Despite both of us living about 15 minutes from the restaurant, we had never heard of it. What a treasure! We ate outside on the back deck and loved the gourmet food. My friend has a lot of dietary limitations, but the wait staff made multiple trips from the kitchen to our table to be sure the proper ingredients were left out of her food. I had a delicious quiche and salad. I can't wait to go back and try the Rarebit! No reservations here but we walked in with no wait for lunch. Take a ride in scenice Chester County and drop in at The Whip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MusicSUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous English Food!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I LOVE THIS PLACE! Great food, great beer, good friendly service and dining outdoors in "Chester County horse country" was the icing on the cake! Thank you for a wonderful evening! (PS - go mid week - it's really crowded Fri/Sat)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whip Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Whip Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing