We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy restrooms”
Review of Whip Tavern

Whip Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Coatesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Kennett Square, PA USA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Filthy restrooms”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My hubby and I have been going to the Whip for a few years and dearly love the food and drink; however, our visit there last night (2/24/13) was enough to turn my stomach inside out. The large restroom (there are 2 ~ 1 big, 1 small) was absolutely disgusting! Water, urine and dirt all over the floor. The large trashcan sits directly in front of the toilet making it difficult to do your business... I've never cared for the lack of attention to the Whip's 2 restrooms but last night was more than I could handle. I'm afraid to think of what the cleanliness of the kitchen must look like...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bouncingbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    122
    20
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I don't want to tell you how good it is, because then you will go there all the time and it'll get too crowded! Ha, in all seriousness, the food is scrumptious and the atmosphere is great! In the winter, you can sit by the fire and in summer, the patio is gorgeous! Great english fare, reasonably priced!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aj1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem in Chester County”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere. You walk in and they make you feel right at home. Best shepard's pie around. And the scottish eggs are delicious!
Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cardmom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“VERY good food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

the food is a bit pricey But if you get a sandwich with chedder cheese.. is it NOT deli sliced cheese..it is cut off a block...so you get what you pay for ..I have not had a bad meal there...Parking is not great ... and the wait....well you usually have to wait.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Thank goodness the Whip is off the beaten path”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Whip is owned by an Englishman and looks exactly like any pub in the UK. They don't take reservations and are always full. We try to go around 4 when the dinner menu begins. It's different from the lunch menu which ends at 4, so the food is always very fresh.
I always say I am going to have something other than fish and chips but that is what I always order with a side of mushy peas. Actually the Whip is the only place I eat this even in England because it is done so well.
If you can find it, eat there but remember even people from other places nearby have trouble finding it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclairewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whip Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Whip Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing