We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Glad We Stayed Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Aryani Terengganu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Glad We Stayed Here”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

On the way there we thought we got lost driving through the narrow village roads but soon found out that the location was quite secluded – away from the mainroad and hustle and bustle of the city which was great. We were welcomed warmly by the young and friendly receptionist and was served with cold refreshing welcome drinks and hot keropok lekor at the lobby after registration.

The receptionist brought us to our room Chalet #9 which was facing the pool. She explained the amenities and facilities in our room and the surroundings to us, very kind and thoughtful of her to do so. I’ve stayed at other more expensive resorts before and they don’t give this personal touch and service like The Aryani. Our room is reasonably clean, very spacious and roomy with Malay décor influences. The extra-large King sized bed was very comfortable for me, my husband and daughter to sleep in. There is a fan, air-cond, TV, telephone, torchlight, electric mosquito repellent, toiletries, hair-dryer and an outdoor bathtub!

After settling down in our room, we went out to explore the surroundings. My daughter loves the garden and space. The surroundings and landscape looks tired and run-down and really need some maintenance and TLC. But the pool works well – we enjoyed swimming in the pool that evening. The entire atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful.

At night, we ate at the Serai Restaurant. We ordered the ‘Putri Adruja’ Wild Mushroom Smoothie Soup, ‘Ratu Mariam’ Char-Grilled Beef and ‘Pura’ Pastamania. Food was very delicious and tasty and the portion was big. Breakfast in the morning is served as à la carte set.

I requested for 2 extra pillows from the reception that night and the same helpful receptionist sent it to my room without any charges. I have nothing much to complain about The Aryani. Yes, the surroundings and landscape need maintenance but for me, the memorable service and Malaysian hospitality shown by the staff is wonderful. We stayed for only 1 night but wished we could stay longer. Would we stay in The Aryani again in the future? Definitely!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
27
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This a beautiful place for a few days away from it all - not surprising that it's designed by an architect - the buildings, landscaping and pool are all beautifully laid out, and help to maintain privacy - even when there are more guests, it still feels so peaceful.
The staff could not be more helpful - they were able to meet nearly every one of my many requests with grace, including ordering off menu as the choice of food, though delicious, is a bit limited after a while.
The beach is not amazing in itself but the sea is lovely for swimming and gentle body surfing.
If you're looking for action, this is not the place. But if you're looking for beauty and peace, and very good value, then Aryani more than fits the bill - highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 11 has a great ocean view from both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaAtkinson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night there...
The place is great! We got the room that face the pool and the room is clean.
There are a few things in the room that is probably a bit worn out.. but nevertheless the room is spacious and clean..
Staff are very polite and nice..
Food at the restaurant is very good as well.. it might b a bit difficult to get good food around the area at night but no worries as the restaurant's food is worth the money!
It is a very nice place to go to for those who wants a quiet and relaxing holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peck Lian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice welcome at the Aryani. Great room with outdoor bath.
The pool was perfect for a swim and to relax. Nice oceanview.

Food was amazing, service was perfect. Nothing bad to say about the Aryani, the staff was really friendly and helpful.
Maybe one thing, some things need more maintenance, but I think the hotel is understaffed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inge_Steffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Extremely disappointing. We drove from Mersing to MARANG - no Aryani Hotel there. We rang hotel and were told no just another 80 kms to drive to MERANG!! ( the other side of Kuala Terengganu. Believe us it definitely wasn't worth it. PLEASE TAKE THIS HOTEL OUT FROM MARANG HOTELS. IT IS BOTH MISLEADING AND WRONG TO HAVE THIS LISTED IN THE WRONG LOCATION. We were very tired when we finally arrived, the first room we were given had a phone that didn't work at all; toilet water that ran for 5 minutes after flushing. Mould on the ceiling.
We swapped rooms as phone didn't work only to be advised that reception closed at middnight so no-one would answer the phone anyway! A mobile number of the security man was given to us.
SEcond room had no toilet paper and then no hot water until morning.
We discussed these points with Manager next morning - who kindly reduced tariff - hotel group leasing this property should consider whether or not the property is up to their standard and why owner doesn't wish to offer a well maintained and satisfactory accommodation for paying guests.
Location of hotel/resort is in MERANG. You will not be missing out on anything if one chose somewhere else.

Room Tip: STay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susie_phillips_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great rooms, great hotel, great food ... and so peaceful ! We will return there for sure. Bungalows are nicely decorated, balinese style.
We took two connecting rooms as we are with 3 kids, everything was perfect ...
And to be honnest, at 75 euros per room, including breakfast, this is a great value !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stay for a night with my family.
Pro: quiet, rustic with a typical Malay culture feel, good gardening that give you a village sensation. The room is very spacious, with super-king size bed whihc is very comfortable! There is even an outdoor bathtub if you like a breeze of natural or some starlight during bathing! Due to the low occupancy, we got almost the whole beautiful beach and swimming pool for ourselves that evening. Friendly staffs, food is nice including the well fried local 'keropok lekor' as welcoming dish.

Cons: the place really needs some touch up. To me, it is really a waste that this place is not well maintained despite a good start I guess - there is a certificate that it won the best beach hotel in 2007. The staffs are just enough - one as receptionist and waiter/ waitress for restaurant during meal time. The shower is spoiled and the dressing place is broken. Cleanliness is just ok. We have to ask for extra towels specifically for beach/ swimming pool activities as it was not provided readily.

Conclusion: I would recommend this 'resort' hotel if you are looking for serenity and quietness, and to taste how a local 'kampung' like. However, prepare not to have the usual facility like other resort hotels. Before we left, the staff mentioned the hotel is under renovation. Hopefully it will come back to shine again.

Room Tip: Choose garden deluxe if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellyfish1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faizal H, General Manager at The Aryani Terengganu, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear jellyfish1079,

Thank you for your balanced review of our resort. We have taken note of the cons in your review and please be assured that corrective action is being taken to improve the service and to train our staff to be more pro-active in addressing to our guests’ requests such as yours. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and we hope that you will visit us again to examine our implemented upgrades.

Faizal Hussain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merang
16.4 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#9 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
13.4 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
19.5 mi away
D'Coconut Lagoon
D'Coconut Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Pulau Lang Tengah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
17.9 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
16.9 mi away
Terrapuri Heritage Village
Terrapuri Heritage Village
#1 of 1 in Pantai Penarik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aryani Terengganu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aryani Terengganu

Property: The Aryani Terengganu
Address: Jalan Rhu Tapai | Setiu, Merang 21010, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Merang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Aryani Terengganu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Aryani Terengganu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aryani Terengganu Hotel Marang
Aryani Terengganu Hotel Kuala
Aryani Terengganu Kuala
Aryani Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing