We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant interlude between Fall and Winter”
Review of Fern Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fern Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifford B&B and Inns
South Abington Township, Pa. 18411
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant interlude between Fall and Winter”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

we have had dinner at the Inn in June and the setting and food was execellent. In late October we spent a very romantic overnight at the Inn. We went for a long walk and had a drink at the small bar. Dinner was served in front of the a blazing fire. We felt we were in England with the way breakfast was served. I would highly recommend Fern Hall for a quiet getaway. The staff made us feel very special. Thank you again for a pleasant interlude.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary B, Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Well Sharon, It is always so pleasant when we get a review like this. Our goal is to keep things as simple as possible while you are here. Not a lot of distractions, just the peace you were looking for! I hope that part of that walk you took was out on the golf course. The course is perfect for an evening stroll, or early morning walk. The neighbors (deer, fox, or turkey) make their presence know especially at those times. So very grateful that you have been here a few times, now, don't break that habit!! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    14
    1
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family spent a wonderful weekend at Fern Hall. We decided to stay here for a quick winter getaway. This was our second year in a row staying at the Inn and skiing Elk Mountain. The staff was warm, friendly and very accommodating. They have a delicious restaurant. Our kids enjoyed playing games in the cozy game room. We would recommend this Inn and we are looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary B, Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Mary, thank you so much for your kind review!
Its easy for us to make guests comfortable and happy, when they arrive that way!
Your entire family is a delight - now don't wait until the last minute to book for next year, call me early and you can have all the rooms if you want!
Did your package arrive? I kept adding more things to it, before I finally mailed it out!
Tell the Gang we all said Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Fern Hall on the night of October 19, 2013. The inn looks beautiful in the fall with all of the colorful foliage, mum varieties, and natural fall bushes with bright red berries as well as a clear scenic view of Crystal Lake and Elk Mountain. We were graciously greeted and welcomed by Mary; the inn manager. Mary worked her magic and was able to find us a room the last minute which my husband of which my husband and I were most appreciative. The room itself was lovely; nicely decorated while simultaneously spacious and cozy. It was great to be able to get away from the city even if for just one night. We enjoyed a candle lit dinner by the fireplace that evening at the Inn's romantic restaurant. The staff was very attentive; especially Katie. The food was delicious and particularly enjoyed the Beef Wellington and rib eye steak. Breakfast was good and very relaxing the next morning. Looking forward to our next mini vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary B, Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Sandra and Gordon, it was my pleasure to see you again! So very glad that you called and we had the room available.

I told you, you were going to be impressed with Chef Donna's menu. Beef Wellington and Rib eye, great choices!

Hoping Fern Hall Inn is your first choice for your next mini vacation!, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We did nothing but sit back and relax, and eat of course. Fern Hall Inn was a great find. The staff and owners are wonderful, offering everything you could think of. We loved the golf carts, and the backdrop of Elk mountain at night and in the morning is breathtaking. Donna is an AMAZING chef, yes thats caps. I had the best ribs in my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Don't miss this jewel in the Pennsylvania countryside!!! Great food, beautiful lake, many activities and welcoming/accomodating staff. Couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more!!! Great place to take the kids for swimming, fishing and nature walks.

Room Tip: All rooms are attractive and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank we2atlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I shared a fun-filled 4th of July at the boathouse of Fern Hall Inn on Crystal Lake with friends and other guests. Swimming, kayaking, fishing, food, drink and fireworks made for the perfect Independence Day experience. Other activities include a beautiful nine hole golf course and lovely restaurant with outside dining and great food at good prices. The staff is friendly, helpful and attentive. I understand that winter offers skiing a short distance away at Elk Mountain. Got to try that.

Room Tip: All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLG183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This Inn and restaurant and golf course are superb! The food was excellent, the room DEVINE, the service friendly and efficient and the hosts were warm and welcoming and had everything working smooth as silk. Authentically historic, with all the things you need in a modern inn, it is hard to ask for more. Even the golf course was impressive, and I'm not a golfer! I was welcomed by the staff and owners and introduced to the other guests so I felt like a part of the family. Yet, there were patios and niches for private time to gaze out on the beautiful scenery or read. This place is a treasure.

Room Tip: All are historic and beautiful. I don't think you can make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifford
5.4 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
130 reviews
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarks Summit
159 reviews
15.2 mi away
Schrute Farms
21.6 mi away
Settlers Inn
Settlers Inn
#1 of 4 in Hawley
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Hall Inn

Property: Fern Hall Inn
Address: 2819 State Route 247, At Crystal Lake, Clifford, PA 18413
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clifford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1916 Stone Estate once the residence of the Johnson & Johnson Family of Pharmaceutical fame. Currently Fern Hall is home to our Inn and award winning Golf Course! All at your disposal when staying with us. Summer provides use of the boat house on glorious Crystal Lake, and winter offers an 8 mile drive to Elk Mountain, the highest vertical ski mountain in Pennsylvania! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fern Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hall Inn b&b
Fern Hall Inn Bed And Hotel Clifford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing