We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Budget Inn Clearfield
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Reviewed June 28, 2013

First of all, why are hotels on I-80 so expensive in Pennsylvania? Seriously, This hotel was the cheapest by a long-shot. Every hotel on that highway was 90 dollars or more, even some crappy chain hotels charging as much as 160/night. No Thanks Holiday Inn! So we yelped to find a hotel under 100 dollars and this was pretty much the only one that came up. When driving from northern Maine to Indiana a stop was necessary. After camping for a week in Acadia National Park any room with a shower and bed was acceptable. This place is a dive of sorts, but its so cheap who cares? All I wanted to do was sleep and shower and this place helped me accomplish this goal. I think this place is run by a friendly Hare Krishna group, and here is what you need to expect; the office smells strongly of moth balls and the pillows on the bed are no picnic. The showers are very out of date like perhaps from the 50's or 60's but are not cool in a mod-retro way. When getting off of 80 there is a bit of a jaunt to get to the hotel, we cruised for a 5-10 minutes into a steamy forest and thought we may be getting off track don't be scared, just keep going, when you leave in the morning to get back on the highway its only a few minutes to get back on the road. I would definitely recommend this for a stopover intended only to sleep. There a school or church across the road and another random hotel next door, but there isn't much else around. Also I would like to thank the family for letting us check in so late, around 2 or 3 AM it was really awesome because we were so tired and couldn't dream of paying so much for a night

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoosierKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Budget Inn Clearfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a coupon book and paid 34.99 plus tax or whatever. The place was very clean with no bed bugs, and for me, that's all I need. We only stopped to sleep on a long trip. Had microwave, tv, refrigerator, ice machine nearby, two beds, table for two with chairs, shampoo and soap....nice firm beds (maybe too firm for some, but I liked it), It was quiet and had a restaurant next door, though we weren't thrilled with the buffet. The people at the motel were very nice, and even checked our room as we were leaving and saved me from leaving two of my own special pillows behind. Seriously. Breakfast was coffee, juice and packaged donuts....not great....but for the price.......why pay more?

Room Tip: ask for one on the parking lot, not on the inside hallway.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonflysees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

As always, if you seek the Hilton, stay at the Hilton. If you stay at the Budget Inn, expect a budget hotel. This place is basic but gets the job done. Three of us (parents, older child) stayed there, and while it was nothing fancy, the price was right, and the stay was comfortable. Beds were fine, TV worked well (hi-def, I think), clean and bug-free.

We checked in quite late, so the owner gave us 30 more minutes for check-out the next day. Accommodating and quite friendly.

Drawbacks were minor: Towels were a bit thin. We heard a baby crying next door in the morning, but you might get that anywhere. The motel is a bit off the beaten path, so make sure you know where you're going.

Finally, while we didn't have a chance to try it, a family restaurant is right next door to the motel, and we heard good things about it. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I called ahead for a late check in and they obliged. The room was clean, comfortable and warm. Microwave oven and mini refrigerator in room. Plenty of hot water and powerful shower head. You cannot complain about paint and decor in a $50 room. Small flat screen on the wall with all of your major cable channels. The walls were a little thin but all in all a great place to rest your head. I did not eat there but there is a restaurant across the parking lot.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper the walls seemed to be a little slim.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehamoftruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

A coupon sent me there and I just about didn't stay. There were obviously some long term residents with charcoal grills by their doors. The staff was friendly. My non smoking room was a bit smelly and musty even though the windows were open. However the room was clean (except for the bedspread) and there were no bugs. The fridge worked. There was no outlet in the bathroom. The bed was worn out and you could feel the springs. The bedspread was dingy. This motel is not close to the interstate, especially from the westbound directions. There is a restaurant next door, very handy.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discoverer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Needed a place that accepted dogs and it seems that in Clearfield this is it. They advertise that there 'MAY' be a charge. Well I am here to tell you there 'is' a charge $15 extra on a $40 room. I also asked for a non smoking room and all they had left was a smoking room. No question that if you want a no frills motel, this is it. Room was clean but did smell. Water was ok after we let the water run out of the pipes. They advertised breakfast but never mentioned at checking and I forgot to ask. Most likely would not have eaten there anyway. Because of the horific pet charge, I will not stay there again. At least they should have been honest and up front. That really bothered me and they lost my trust

Room Tip: Get there early so you can get a non smoking room and closer to the well so your water does not have...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent three nights at this property in July, 2011. The owners were very friendly and they really made every effort to be accommodating. When we made our reservation, we requested a refrigerator and a microwave Both items were setup and ready for us when we arrived. That being said, here are a few of my "other" comments. Many of the guest rooms open directly to the outside parking lot. We were in a small section that has guest rooms which open into an interior corridor. Several room air conditioners vent into that interior corridor so it was hot and stuffy walking through it when those A/C units were in use. In order to stay here, my husband and I went to the local walmart where I purchased cleaning supplies and gave the entire room a good cleaning, including washing the walls. I folded up the bedspreads and tucked them away - they did not get used during our visit. I did not sit in the chairs in our room, as they were upholstered and I did not have any upholstery cleaner. Had our room chairs been vinyl, I would have been able to clean them. During our stay, the property was occupied by many construction workers. Some brought their chairs outside of their rooms to hang out in the parking lot. On our first day, after checking in and seeing our room, we walked over to the nearby Rodeway Inn and asked to see one of their rooms. We then tried to relocate to that hotel, but they were unable to accommodate us for the three nights. If we return to Clearfield, we will not return to the Budget Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FactualReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearfield
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 9 in Clearfield
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Clearfield
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
#8 of 9 in Clearfield
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearfield
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearfield
Hampton Inn Clearfield
#4 of 9 in Clearfield
375 reviews
22.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#7 of 10 in DuBois
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Clearfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Clearfield

Address: 6321 Clearfield Woodland Hwy, Clearfield, PA 16830-1006
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clearfield
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Price Range: $46 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Clearfield 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn(R) hotel is easily accessible from Interstate 80 and adjacent to Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania. This Clearfield hotel is 25 miles from the Moshannon State Forest, which surrounds the Black Moshannon State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Inn Clearfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing