We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in the Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Certificate of Excellence
Western Mass/Bristol England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Value in the Area”
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I don't know why some reviewers are bent out of shape about this place, because it was at least half the price of everywhere else we tried to book! And that was with a corporate rate for a group of workers staying in the area for a survey. We stayed here another time also (October 08) and were so pleased with the price we came back. The manager was very gracious and the rooms perfect for what we needed - a clean room, fridge, (microwave in the lobby, was fine), really fast free WiFi - and all at a good price. Other chains up the road and as far away as St. Mary's were all in the $80+ range. Nothing fancy... but everything works. The beds are comfy, the water pressure is good, the internet is fast and reliable (something that rarely happens even in the higher-end Comfort or Holiday Inns!) and it isn't too far out of the way. We will definitely come back if we have more work in the area.

  • Liked — Price, internet quality
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast offered with late hours (7-10am as opposed to 6-10am other places)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lc3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
34
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2008

RUDE, RUDE, RUDE! I only gave it one star because I had too. My husband stayed at this hotel while working in the area. We have NEVER been treated so poorly! The owner/manager treated us like we were lower than dirt. We stayed a couple nights without any problems - then we went to check in and he told us our towels were 'too dirty' and we needed to clean up before we showed up. Are you kidding me???? Isn't that the reason you go to a hotel is to clean up??? Let's face it - this isn't the Hilton, it is a $40 per night place to shower and sleep. I have contacted the company and the BBB. The company told me the would speak to the manager of the hotel and notify of the issues. Big joke seeing as how the manager IS the owner. I got a letter from the company stating that they contacted the hotel and I would receive a letter from the owner/mananger within 7-10 days with a reply. As of 2 weeks - I have yet to hear a word. We will NEVER stay there again and will do our best to make sure no one else that we know will stay there to be treated so poorly!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The owner/manager
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familyof398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnclearfield, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m terribly sorry that you were displeased with your stay with us. We’ve changed nearly every aspect of this hotel since this stay years ago and are now better than ever. That include many staffing changes. I challenge you to try us again and see what you’ve been missing. You’ll enjoy your experience with us this us, I’m certain.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Had to go Clearfield for a funeral. Wasn't quite quite sure where to stay and with so many people coming didn't want to impose on family. Years ago stayed at another local place, won't mention the name, but it was horrendous (dirty, rude staff etc), to the point where I wrote to BBB about them. We won't even stay at that chain in other locations.

Anyway, our stay at Rodeway was quite pleasant considering the circumstances. As I said we came for a funeral and it happened to be snowing when we arrived. Overnight there must have been about a foot of snow, and Rodeway was very good at getting the parking lot cleared. My only problem was that on arrival the heat was not on in the room and we are freezing waiting for the room to heat up.

The staff was friendly. The room was clean, we had 2 beds as well as 2 sinks and a frig. Only thing missing was a microwave. The continental breakfast was lacking, but there's a restaurant right across the parking lot that not too bad. Plus having family in the area for homecooking is really great.

We'd definitely stay here again and plan to real soon on our next visit. Great value!!

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — continental brakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We didn't expect much, so actually this place was a pleasant surprise, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Room was spotless, staff very friendly, we even had an exercise bike in the room. Bed was relatively comfortable, room was fair sized. Put it this way--we have paid a heck of a lot more for a heck of a lot worse.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoSteelersPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We were traveling through the area and needed a place to stay for the night. The price was right (in the $30s) with a coupon book we had picked up at a rest area upon entering the state. This hotel is a few miles into town and therefore cheaper than those right off the interstate. It's an older property, partially renovated.

They were out of king beds so we took a room with two doubles. It was quite adequate, featuring full cable TV and a fridge, as well as two sinks for some inexplicable reason. There was a table and chairs, which we utilized to eat Chinese takeout (the local Chinese restaurant had a scary-looking buffet, but we ordered from the menu and it was surprisingly good).

Cleanliness was acceptable. The bathroom floor was a little dirty and there were some chipped tiles there.

The continental breakfast was pathetic, not native to any continent on planet Earth -- two boxes of donut holes, some Sam's Club OJ, hot water, and coffee.

Then again, this isn't the Ritz and we weren't expecting it to be. We would consider staying here again when passing through the area. Recommended for the budget traveler.

  • Liked — Decent room for the price.
  • Disliked — The breakfast was hilariously bad.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Motel-Mavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

My wife and I needed a hotel in Clearfield, PA on our way to Erie. All we were looking for was a safe hotel with a bed to help split up our 8 hour drive.

We were pleasantly surprised with the Rodeway Inn! Upon arriving at 11pm, we checked into our room. We had 2 sinks, a king sized bed and a refridge!! Granted, the bed was probably 10 years old...but the room was clean and was recently renovated. It was Christmas Eve and the hotel was almost at full capacity.

So if you're looking for a decent room in Clearfield, PA for $40-$50, this is it!! (and I've stayed at many different hotels in Clearfield...)

  • Liked — Cable TV, King size bed and refridge
  • Disliked — Mattress was a little hard
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearfield
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Clearfield
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn Clearfield
Budget Inn Clearfield
#7 of 9 in Clearfield
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
#8 of 9 in Clearfield
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearfield
Hampton Inn Clearfield
#4 of 9 in Clearfield
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearfield
19.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton DuBois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 6259 Clearfield Woodland Hwy, RR 2 Box 297B (SR 322 E), Clearfield, PA 16830-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clearfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Clearfield
Clearfield Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing