We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service in a pleasant atmosphere.”
Review of Moena

Moena
Reserve with OpenTable
Moena is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Clearfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food and service in a pleasant atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I am local so eat there regularly. It is the best restaurant in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willow076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the quality”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have dined at Moena's over the past several months and have been repeatedly disappointed. My husband works in Clearfield several times per month and we drive over to visit.
Although the atmosphere is very nice, the dishes served are pretty tasteless and lack creativity. I don't feel that the ingredients are very high quality. We liked Moena'e when it first opened, but perhaps the management and chef's have changed. I heard that the chef went to cooking school in Punxsatawny - so imagine the level of expertise!!
The prices are very high for the kind of food you get - Cracker Barrel and Olive Garden are much better than this place!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houtzdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner at Moena”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A small, excellent Italian restaurant in downtown Clearfield. The food is fabulous.

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife, son, and I had a great meal at Moena last night. My son had the Veal Oscar, my wife the special, Veal with Almond Sauce, and I had the Chicken Marsala. We were all very happy with our selections, tasty and well prepared. Our meals came with rice and mixed vegetables. They have so many great Italian dishes we never get around to the pasta. It would have been nice to have had a choice of pasta as a starch with our meals instead of automatically receiving the rice.

The one downside was a limited wine menu and only a small selection of beer on draft.

If you are in the Clearfield area, you can't go wrong with Moena.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bankscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

You drive a few winding miles across bridges and along rivers until you get to the downtown of Clearfield, and there, in an old department store, is Moena, a family owned restaurant named for their ancestral Alpine town of Moena, Italy. The service we had (one of the younger family members) was excellent, and the food well above what we'd expect to find "on the road" (we were driving west on I-80 and stopped for dinner). The decor made you feel comfortable and at home somehow, and even though the place was cavernous with its ultra-high ceiling, you sat in a cozy booth just soaking it in. If you get there at holiday time, be sure to take time to admire the ornaments on the trees in the foyer. There is interesting artwork to attract your attention here and there, and the big relief map of Italy on one wall is quite a marvel. The place, including the bathrooms, was spotless. The prices are small-town reasonable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deben44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moena also viewed

 

Been to Moena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing