We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the heck is Clearfield, anyway?”
Review of Super 8 Clearfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Clearfield
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Travelling east on I-80 to accomplish the famous 3-lb burger challenge which is legendary in Pennsylvania, we arrived at the Clearfield Super 8, as luck would have it, around dinner time. A great location right off the highway and convenient to everything Clearfield has to offer. The beds are comfortable (I would have preferred something harder) but the pillows were way too soft. I think I will start travelling with my own pillow as I have been disappointed too often in that regard. The room was small but comfortable, and included a fridge and microwave, but no safe. Upon check-in we were warned about the group of hunters that would be leaving early in the morning, and I expected to be woken when they made their way out, but I heard nothing. Perhaps it was the fact that I didn't get too sleep until 3 am due to some physical discomfort (see Hammer222222's review) as well as the pillow issues. All in all, it was a good experience and the Super 8 in Clearfield is a bargain compared to the other lodging options in the area. Cleanliness and overall comfort give this place a passing grade.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the rear of the building and on the opposite side of the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 738 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Satisfied with our one night stay while watching my friend Howski, recover from his successful attempt at tackling the Denny's Beer Barrel Pub (local eatery) challenge - 3 lb burger division.
Beds were comfortable with two soft pillows. Washroom was clean, had been updated and provided plenty of light. Vanity was quite spacious and the shower possessed ample water flow.
A contential breakfast was available, one we didn't partake in. A more substantial breakfast is available across the road.
Room is accessed via a central corridor and can get noisy if located close to the front lobby. No room safe was provided. Plenty of parking was available.
Tip#1 Request a room towards the rear of the building. This will mitigate both traffic noise and those early morning risers who fail to realize some might still be sleeping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammer222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our first Wingate property, very pleased with everything! Clean, convenient, great room size, super heat/air system (not intrusive with on/off operation), lots of bath counter space. Will for sure stay again at this and/or another Wingate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stopped here on our way home to Richmond. The check-in desk person was friendly, helpful and competent all the way around. Someone was vacuuming the lobby and she shut off the loud vacuum cleaner while we were checking in. The room was squeaky clean and our bed was the most comfortable ever. We had a lovely sunset view and there is a deck on the back of the hotel which overlooks a swamp with bulrushes - noticeable to those nature lovers among us. The breakfast is what one would expect from a watch-my-budget place hence, the quality of food is low but everything was in place and worked properly and it gave us something in our stomachs for the road. Definitely a pleasant place to stay. Our only vexation was the absence of recycling bins....let's get with the 21st century, Super 8!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank metal153
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice location
ample parking
restaurants to walk to
nice clerk
clean hotel and room
fast internet
high quality linens and towels
comfy bed and pillows
would stay again

My only complaint was the price. Should have been about $10 cheaper but there was a Penn State football game 50 miles away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Clearfield
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearfield
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Clearfield
Comfort Inn Clearfield
#6 of 9 in Clearfield
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 9 in Clearfield
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
Red Roof Inn Clearfield
#8 of 9 in Clearfield
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearfield
Hampton Inn Clearfield
#4 of 9 in Clearfield
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Clearfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clearfield

Address: 14597 Clearfield Shawville Hwy, I-80 & Route 879 - Exit 19, Clearfield, PA 16830-6111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clearfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clearfield
Price Range: $57 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clearfield 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Clearfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Clearfield Hotel Clearfield
Super Eight Clearfield
Clearfield Super 8
Clearfield Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing