We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tara - A Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Clark B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The rooms are beautifully decorated in a Gone With the Wind theme. When we checked in they had a bottle of champagne, fruit, cheese, and a homemade cookie with our name on it. How nice! The staff is warm and kind, and they do whatever they can to make your stay memorable. The food is delicious, and we recommend getting the package rate with room and meals. This is our third stay. We are making it a yearly tradition for my sister's birthday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lidcscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Tara - A Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

We arrived to a beautiful mansion and were greeted with champagne. We checked into our room quickly and had a nice tray waiting in the room. We did book the package, and everything we ate was delicious. The room was adequate space wise, but VERY hot. The whole house was actually very warm, and we ended up using the ceiling fan and air conditioner in the room. The in-room jacuzzi took an hour to fill since the water was slow and we had to turn it off since it ran out warm water. Our room faced a main road, but it was fine since there were blinds. Nice for a short weekend since there isn't much to do nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAERRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went for Thanksgiving 2013, and the food was excellent! However, the other two days we were there, our meals were extremely disappointing, the service very slow. The room where we stayed was very dark, no dresser or desk and hard to control the temperature. The air conditioner/heater was very noisy. If you care for television, the units were antiques. The hot water in the bathroom took a long time to come out hot, every time we tried it. The staff was very friendly, the decor was what we expected given the era represented, a beautiful building, in and out. The collection of memorabilia was impressive and tasteful.

Room Tip: Get a room that is decorated in light colors.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for a romantic weekend away! It was a perfect place for the two of us to escape. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Since we had never stayed here before, and there are so many amazing rooms to choose from online, I called to speak to someone about suggestions on rooms. The front desk staff was very helpful with accommodating us and walking me through the reservation. Once we got there, the staff again was extremely helpful and friendly! It was neat to see them all dressed in southern belle clothing. The small touches like turn down service each night, champagne & cheese tray upon arrival, hospitality hour with tea/coffee/snacks, terry cloth robes, large jacuzzi tub, discount at Buhl spa, and gratuity included in the price were amazing!

We took advantage of the package that included the breakfast and dinner each day. It was well worth the money! On Friday night, we ate at Stonewall's Tavern. Outstanding service, food, and drinks!! The next morning, we took advantage of breakfast being delivered right to the room! It was delicious. Then, that afternoon, we drove to Buhl Mansion to get a couples massage. Again, amazing staff and service! That evening we ate at the beautiful Ashley's Dining Room. The 7 course meal was very fancy. There was a live musician who played the violin and baby grand piano that was in the dining room. Nice touch of elegance! And on Sunday, after checking out, we ate at the brunch. Delicious food once again.

We also took advantage of the house/property tour before we left. We enjoyed hearing about the history and information of the property. We liked the fact that if a room was vacant, they left the door open with a small chain in the doorway so that you could see inside. It was nice for getting ideas for a different room in future visits! Wish we could have seen all of them!

The only 2 small downfalls that I can think of are 1) Tara is very close to the main state route in Clark. The side of the house we were on had a lot of traffic noise! We are used to it because where we live, there is traffic noise. But, if you happen to stay, take advantage of the window air/heating unit fan to drown out the noise. 2) The TV in our room, Southern Nights, was small and in an awkward place. We took 2 DVD's with us to watch while relaxing in the room after dinners, but had trouble easily viewing them. The entertainment center was on the side of the bed. So to view the TV, we either had to lay sideways in bed or pull up chairs from the other side of the room and we couldn't see it from the jacuzzi. We saw in other rooms (that were vacant & open) that they had couches and bigger TV's. We will just have to make sure we note that when making a reservation in the future with the staff. I know they will be able to help us find the perfect room!

This is a great place to get away. It has a B&B feel with the personalized touches and hospitality, but it is big enough to still be like a hotel with a little more privacy. We will definitely be going back in the future.

Room Tip: Staff told us to take advantage of a second floor room. They are quieter because there are no footst...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkadFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This year we stayed at Buhl Mansion (related property) and took the limo bus to the TARA for dinner. Stonewall's Tavern is a casual dining experience. The food is terrific and the service was great. Our waitress was fun and made our dinner enjoyable. We have returned several times and have never had any problems. Stonewall's Tavern is a MUST for your dining pleasure!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were on a three day bus trip with a local tour company and this was the inn where we stayed. The room, the food, the service was all exceptional. We were served tea when we arrived and we had two dinners and two breakfasts included in our package. The mansion and the grounds are amazing and all the little details that are there, must have taken years to accumulate and design. You feel like you step back in time. My husband ( an electrician) saw a wire hanging from the ceiling fan in our room and he reported to the main desk and by the time we returned to our room later that afternoon it had been fixed.

The food was served family style by friendly staff and was like being in someone's home for dinner.

When we first arrived in our rooms we had plates of cheese, fruit, crackers and a bottle of wine, with a bucket of ice and glasses. At night our beds were turned down and a plate with chocolates were on the bed. Be aware, there are steps, no elevator, that did not matter to us at all. Also, if you are a short person make sure you tell them so they can put you in a room that do not have the high old fashion beds or at least that you will need the little set of steps to get into the beds. For me it just made it more realistic, for that era.

If you want to feel pampered, this is the place to go. If you are a Gone with the Wind fan, you MUST visit the Tara, and it is right here in our state of PA.

Room Tip: All the rooms are based on the Gone with the Wind theme, but all the rooms were beautiful, and all d...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyg899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I am a tour and travel professional and would recommend the Tara to anyone. I have had the pleasure of staying there myself and the entire Inn is beautiful. It feels like a home away from home. I recently sent three groups to the Tara and each one of them was treated with royal treatment their entire stay. I worked directly with Bill Moore, assistant manager of the Inn, when booking my groups, and hewas an absolute pleasure to work with. He made my job easy! The feedback that I received from my groups was positive - I heard from some of the group members that they didn't want to leave! Their group packages are a true cut above the rest - top notch and truly superb! Thank you to everyone at the Tara for going above and beyond!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
6.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sharon, PA
Park Inn by Radisson Sharon, PA
#4 of 4 in West Middlesex
520 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sharon
Hampton Inn & Suites Sharon
#1 of 4 in West Middlesex
451 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Motel - Hermitage
Royal Motel - Hermitage
#1 of 4 in Hermitage
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grove City
17.0 mi away
Best Western Grove City Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara - A Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara - A Country Inn

Address: 2844 Lake Road, Clark, PA 16113
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clark
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clark
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the greatest movie of our time, Gone With the Wind, Tara recreated is in a real sense an embodiment of the Old South. Tara offers you a lasting impression of Southern Hospitality and a chance to enjoy the luxuries of days gone by. Whether a sumptuous gourmet meal, luxurious overnight accommodations or a guided tour, Tara is the ultimate in World Class Country Inns... devoted to guests who expect the exceptional and appreciate the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Tara - A Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara - a Country Hotel Clark
Clark Country Inn
Country Inn Clark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing