We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Captain Loomis Inn - Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #15 of 35 Restaurants in Clarion
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Henrico, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wide variety of food. I have eaten there twice on business. Always great tasting and cheerful staff. I would recommend to anyone. Each time I have had a shrimp dish and they were cooked to perfection. That is a rare and much respected feat. Thanks for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcrqtrmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A local fixture deserving of a visit”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The food and service was excellent. It is located in the middle of the downtown. Regardless of other reviews, it was very clean and the food was excellent; the portions were more than adequate. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who might be in the Clarion region.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reage55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok, but they need to clean”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food is low quality and the aesthetics leave much to be desired. Even before you enter the restaurant you can tell they need attention to detail. With just a bit it could be a good place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PLAOnancock_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I were traveling back home for Pittsburgh today and stopped at this restaurant. My boyfriend is from Colorado and is very picky about food and we have a difficult time finding places that we like to eat at. We were both very happy with our meals and the service was fantastic. I absolutely love the inside as it is very clean and pretty. We will definitely go back again while traveling.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
316 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stopped off I-80 and decided to drive into town. We saw there was a buffet so decided to try. Food was average. The deserts were good. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would probably try someplace else if we returned to Clarion. It does have an interesting history that you can read about on the menu and many historical photographs around the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grantham353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Loomis Inn - Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Captain Loomis Inn - Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing