We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old rooms, Old Bathroom, Bad Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Clarion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Clarion
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The only good thing I can say about this Holiday Inn is that the lobby was really pretty. When we got to the room, it was old and tired looking and there was almost no table-top or dresser-top space to put anything down. The bathroom had a very small vanity, and the tub "squeaked" when you stood in it because it was just a cheap plastic tub, with cheap a plastic surround & flaky caulk by the floor. Also, the soap and shampoo was a citrus/lime blend. With as many people as there are our there with allergies, who wants that??

The room came with a balcony, which over looked the pool area. Basically, this is a "Holidome" from the 1980's. Guess you have to like retro. And, the balconies were all connected so you and your neighbors could hold hands and sing campfire songs.

We decided to go to the restaurant for breakfast. Since we are priority club members, we had been given a $5.00 off coupon to use there. When we walked in, the hostess was on the phone and not very interested in us. When she finished, she did smile as she walked us to the table. Guess that's a plus. The waitress came out quickly, and took our order. Unfortunately, our food arrived 2 minutes later, which made it very obvious that they were keeping the eggs and bacon, etc. in warmers in the back. If I wanted that, I would go to a Holiday Inn Express (which would have been better, actually). From a restaurant, though...I expect freshly cooked food. The eggs were rubbery and all stuck together. At least the toast was good. But, the waitress never came to fill our glasses with water, so we had to hunt down the hostess, who had gone in the back for awhile. The water was our only drink, so it should have been served with our meal.

While we were eating, another couple came in to eat (to make a total of six of us in the restaurant). They waited five minutes to be seated because, again, the hostess had escaped to the back room somewhere. Finally, they seated themselves. When we left, they were still waiting for menus and for someone to see them. They told us that the same thing had happened to them the evening before.

Finally, when we checked out of the hotel, the only person at the front desk was a scruffy workman who looked like he had been rolling around in the dirt. He said, "Can I help you?" Come on, really?? Anyway, I told him I wanted to let someone know we were out of room XXX, and THEN (and only then) a girl popped out from behind a wall to the right of the desk (where she had apparently been sitting) to help me out. She was the desk clerk. When she asked how our stay was, well, I told her the truth. It's not someplace I care to return to again, ever. I highly DON'T recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHI, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

I want to personally thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. The issues that you brought up during your stay have not been taken lightly as we pride ourselves on giving great customer service to each and every guest that walks through the door. When you talked about our pretty lobby you must have been refering to our 14 Christmas trees that were up for our annual Parade of Trees. Our guests enjoy these year in and year out and all proceeds go to local charities. We have taken your comments to our hospitality committee and have made a few changes that I know you would be completely satisfied with if you are ever in our area again. I hope that you stop in and see how we have turned your issues into a better more home away from home Holiday Inn. Again I thank you for your honesty and remarks regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 360 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I made a reservation for a room with a King size bed on sept 5,2012 for a room for Oct 24 and 25,2012 I arrived at the Holiday at 3:00PM and handed the the girl am e-mail confirmation #62975469 and told my name she gave the door keys and told me to go around the building to door "E". I unloaded all my bags and went to the room, it was the wrong room with 2 small beds. I then went to the service desk and told them of the mistake they then said my room was not ready and would be ready to give them my cell phone and they would call in 45 mins. I waited for an hour with out a call i then had to go to the service desk where they then moved me to another room the i reserved almost two months ago.

Room Tip: Also had stink bugs in the second room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHI, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

I want to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the inconveinance during your check in at the hotel. We absolutely should have made you aware that a king room was not ready when you arrived at the hotel and that we only had rooms with two double beds available. Our king rooms are by far the most desireable as they all contain microwaves and refridgerators in them. I am gald that you did receive your king room and hope that the rest of your stay was to to your satisfactioon as we pride ourselves on our customer service and are very proud of our current ranking within the Holiday Inn customer service ranking system. Again, thank you for your comments and I hope you stay with us again the next time you are in our area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have a feeling this HI is not long for the chain. Rooms are adequate. Service is sub par at restaurant compared to NY city standards but also found sub par service at the majority of local dining establishments. Counter space is small around bathroom sink and ceiling is low. Inconsistent check in procedures over 3 separate arrivals. There is a Hampton Inn across the street that charges more and delivers more. Dinner at the hotel is surprisingly good for the area - better than Applebees, but not as good as the RRR Roadhouse across the street for a good steak. It is close to the Clarion Mall, K-mart, convenience stores, a

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool to avoid the chlorine smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObanSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelynn S, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear ObanSkye,

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your recent stay. Contrary to rumor, the Holiday Inn Clarion is not for sale. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner here at the restaurant, but are disappointed that our service fell below your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is of utmost importance to us, and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

We hope you'll give us another chance to "wow" you with our service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Coffee table had not been wiped. Stepped on a nail in front of the TV. Late when we checked in so just checked the sheets and wiped down the bathroom. Glad my dog didn't step on the nail. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelynn S, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Stephanie G,

We are deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, so your comments have been noted and have been forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel really is!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stopped here on a drive home from Michigan. The hotel is one of the oldest Holiday Inns I've stayed in for a while. The rooms had dirty carpets and the furniture was worn. There were rust stains on the tub fixtures. All in all, an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Il0vebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelynn S, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

I was disappointed to hear that your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Clarion was less than pleasant. Here at the Holiday Inn we strive to create a home away from home atmosphere. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have always stayed at this old fashioned but updated Holiday Inn when driving from Connecticut to Indiana to see family. When the kids were really little they loved the indoor pool, great way to pacify the kids after a long drive in the car My husband and I are babies of the 1950's this place reminds us of when we were little and traveled by car with our folks. This trip around we are traveling with our three grown up daughters and one brand new son-in- law...the tradition continues, oh and we have our dog too.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Auntiemame40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelynn S, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your time and kind words. We are very proud to be a part of your family tradition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We called ahead for our reservation just a few hours away from the hotel. The staff helpfulness was evident on that call and at our arrival. So friendly - and offered us cold water and granola bars after a long day on the road. We chose them for location and because they accepted our large dog for a very reasonable pet fee. While it appeared to be an older property, the room and bathroom had been upgraded. The bedding was very clean and comfortable and we appreciated the FREE wireless internet. We chose them because they accept pets but would stay there with or without our dog in the future. We certainly did our part to ensure we didn't leave traces of our dog in the room or on the property.

Room Tip: Would have preferred a room facing outside rather into the pool area. Wasn't a big concern to u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelynn S, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Cara S,
Thank you very much for the kind words and positive feedback on the hard work and best efforts put forth by staff. Since we're not a newly constructed property, we maintain a strict focus on service & cleanliness. We're happy to hear that you appreciated our efforts, and look forward to accommodating you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarion hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clarion
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 9 in Clarion
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monroe Heights Clarion
Monroe Heights Clarion
#7 of 9 in Clarion
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarion
Hampton Inn Clarion
#2 of 9 in Clarion
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Clarion, PA
Motel 6 Clarion, PA
#8 of 9 in Clarion
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Clarion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Clarion

Address: 45 Holiday Inn Rd, I-80 at Rt. 68, Exit 62, Clarion, PA 16214-4033 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Clarion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Clarion
Price Range: $63 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Clarion 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our full-service hotel's property in Clarion, PA As the largest accommodation in the area and the only full-service hotel within a 30-mile radius, the Park Inn by Radisson Clarion, PA stands out against the competition. Thanks to a location off I-80 and five minutes from downtown, our hotel's property in Clarion, PA provides quick access to everything, including Clarion University. If you are in town for a few days, our friendly, knowledgeable staff will do everything in their power to provide you with a five-star stay, while amenities like a fitness center, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and in-room refrigerators make you feel at home. Two miles from Clarion University, the hotel is also close to local companies, such as Green Line Polymer, Kraus and Schlumberger. Reserve one of the interior rooms on the second floor to enjoy views of the indoor courtyard as well as a private balcony. Feeling hungry? Lucky for you, we offer on-site dining at the RBG Bar & Grill, which also provides room service. Keep your projects up to date in the business center, and then relax in the indoor swimming pool. With a dedicated sales staff and nearly 6,000 square feet of event space, the Park Inn is the perfect choice for meetings in Clarion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Clarion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Clarion Hotel Clarion
Clarion Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing