We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is What Heaven Tastes Like”
Review of Scooped Ice Cream

Scooped Ice Cream
Price range: $3 - $10
Description: Handmade, gourmet ice cream, gelato and sorbet. Multiple time winner of "Best Ice Cream" on the Philadelphia Main Line.
Restaurant details
Description: Handmade, gourmet ice cream, gelato and sorbet. Multiple time winner of "Best Ice Cream" on the Philadelphia Main Line.
bryn mawr, pa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This Is What Heaven Tastes Like”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

OK, you are going to think I am lying, but I am not a real big ice cream guy.
Well, I wasn't, and then I experienced Caramel Stout ice cream.
The ice cream has added stout beer, and the initial taste of caramel is lovely.
But, the slight aftertaste of stout lingers.
And it is amazing.
All of their ice creams are velvety, and delicious. The stout caramel, though, due to the addition of stout, changed the texture slightly, and trust me, for the better.
The banana tastes like bananas, not some
lab invented flavoring.
Salted chocolate caramel reduced my friend to moans of pleasure.
Oh my goodness, get yourself to this charming place and indulge yourself in some tremendous ice cream.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lefty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Great place to take the kids. Real good ice cream. Neat facility in a quaint setting Delicious quick and fun


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eageretr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty ice cream”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My kids really love this ice cream. They have some odd flavors, but that can be nice for a change of pace. The price is also a bit better than other places in the area for homemade ice cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Small town charm with great tasting ice cream!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Scooped is located in the Village of Eagle and a quaint house. The ice creams are all house-made and frequently utilize local ingredients. John, the owner, develops interesting and tasty flavors. The shop also offers fabulous birthday parties. I have hosted two parties for my kids here and it is top notch. The kids get to make their very own ice cream, sample ice cream and take home their very own pint. If you are looking for a tasty treat, I highly recommend Scooped!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonnaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is an excellent little ice cream parlor with great tasting ice cream, sorbets and milk shakes.
The place has seating for about 10 people in the back room at four tables where the walls have some truly classic LP covers (Hendrix, Kiss, Stones, Beatles, and Steve Miller), presumably from the owner's collection.

There is a chalkboard which asks for comments and the kids like that too.

Parking is behind the building and if you miss the turning then turn at the CVS and drive through the back of the parking lots to get there.

The store does not take credit or debit cards,but strangely will accept personal checks. There is an ATM in the back room, but a handling fee applies.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uktravailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scooped Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Scooped Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing