We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the reviews say and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
“All the reviews say and more”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived, albeit late, we loved this quaint property. We stayed this past Memorial Day Weekend and had several non property related challenges. We took a 2 1/2 hour planned trip from DC and managed to spend 4 hours in our car on the way north. 95 was rough to say the least. And after assuming warm weather, Mother Nature blessed Friday night and Saturday with gusty winds and chilly temps. So we were not properly packed for the outset.

But when you arrive at such a charming property with such kind and thoughtful hosts, not much else really matters. We stayed in the Inverness Room overlooking the front of the property, fountain, and horse pen to the right. It has a cool front porch/balcony that we used throughout our stay. The room was decorated perfectly and we loved the fireplace. On our last night, we watched the DVD "Duets", which was a perfect end to a perfect weekend.

And as if this wasn't enough, the morning breakfasts were delightful and we took more than one opportunity to nip at the Port wine and cookies graciously left out for guests. If I got caught, I was fully prepared to tattle first on my lady friend then other guests if the interrogation was too difficult. :-)

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Select one that suits your budget and your mood. A nice large room and bed with the neat additions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    27
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
302
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B&B Mother's Day weekend and had a wonderful time, despite the wet weather. Ashley and Glenn were great hosts and prepared some of the best breakfasts we have ever had at a B&B in the US and Europe. My wife had special dietary needs that they accomodated very well. The rooms were immaculately clean, the beds very comfortable, and the bathrooms extremely clean with attention to every detail. The location was also great with easy access to several very good local restaurants (we recommend Brandywine Prime). I also recommend visiting the local wineries, especially Penn Woods, recommended by Glenn. This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at and we will be going back.

Room Tip: Inverness Suite was original master bedroom and had a private balcony. Great room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hamanassett B&B for our Anniversary. This was our second stay at this B&B. We absolutely love being there. The home is decorated with such fine treasures and so interesting to walk around. We always find this establishment charming and peaceful. We enjoyed playing billiards and watching movies from their collection after a day visiting Longwood Gardens and other activities in the area. In the mornings, we can always count on an outstanding breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and elegantly decorated.

We come to the Brandywine area for the many gardens and museums in the area. So, we look forward to staying at a place where we can feel at home. That is always what we received at Hamanassett. We will be coming again....hopefully soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast US
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is a pantry well stocked with snacks and refreshments. The house has wonderful common areas, a game room, a glassed-in porch and a comfortable living room. Breakfast was wonderful and delicious. The grounds are nicely landscaped with a koi pond right outside the front door.

We enjoyed our stay here and would certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k51773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed there three nights and it was wonderful. The accommodations were super and the breakfasts were out of this world. Ashley and Glen are most gracious hosts; it is more than a business to them it is a way of life. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nereid44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband purchased a night at the hamanasett B&B as a surprise birthday gift for me! It was our first time ever at a B&B and we both loved it! The house was so nice with a lot of things to do like enjoy the patio area, see the horses in the pasture, play games in the game room, and even free movies to watch in our room! We were impressed with all the free snacks and even drinks (coffee,wine, and sherry) that we were offered during our stay. Glen, the owner was very nice and personable! The breakfast was excellent as well! We will definitely go back soon hopefully!

Room Tip: I am sure any room there would be great, however if you have a request I am sure they would be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend here and we were just blown away by how beautiful it is. We stayed in the Windsor room and it was so fantastic. The bed was so comfortable and the cozy sitting area next to the fireplace made some of my last minute work a real joy (for once!). The breakfasts - to die for! We are desperate to find a recipe for the baked pears, but something tells me there is just no comparison out there. The innkeepers are personable and you can tell that they love what they do and that they have put so much of themselves into this bed and breakfast. We were really delighted and cannot wait to take a trip back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast for your visit to the Brandywine Valley. I very much appreciate your taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor Community of your visit to the Brandywine Valley and your stay at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast.

The pear dish is one of my most requested recipes. As a result, I've just put the recipe on my web site. You can find it if you go to www.hamanassett.com and click on "Breakfasts". Down toward the bottom you'll find a button that says "Enjoy Hamanassett Recipes at home." Enjoy! I hope when you return to our beatiful area we will again be your lodging of choice.

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester Heights
6.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Glen Mills/Concordville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Address: 115 Indian Springs Dr, Chester Heights, PA 19063-5622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brandywine Valley romantic escape near major attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, Barnes Museum, and Hagley. 30 minutes from Philadelphia. Enjoy our Southern Hospitality where customer service is a priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing