We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can put lipstick on a pig, but it's still a pig.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's Philadelphia

Harrah's Philadelphia
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harrah's Philadelphia Casino & Racetrack is open 24 hours 7 days a week - 365 days a year! Ready for virtually limitless slot action, pulse-pounding horse racing and non-stop thrills? We'll see you at Harrah's Philly! Gambling Problem? Call 1800Gambler.
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You can put lipstick on a pig, but it's still a pig.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I've given this place a few try's and I'm done. Terrible is an accurate description for this place. Lets start with the staff. Rude, unprofessional, hard to find, and did I say rude?

The casino reflects the area. Dirty and decaying. Beat up carpet, beat up machines that frequently malfunction and with missing buttons. The table games are staffed by scowling employees who don't look like they don't want to be there.

The food here is just bad. I'm not going back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Db1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,387
    2,523
    1,842
    481
    447
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BETTER THEN MOST IN PA, but still not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Harrah Philly (fka-Chester) is better then a lot of the other PA casino I have been to. The biggest draw for me was the live horse racing. You can bring kids, sit outside and enjoy live horse racing, this gives Harrahs an advantage over the other philly area casinos. I did not eat, so I can't comment on the food. The casino floor was better than expected, good choice of slots. I would go back to watch the horses and get out before it gets dark...it is still Chester after all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyRoastbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a decent standard casino. No frills. Not in the best area. Super surprised to see it right next to a state penitentiary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enjoi_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Temptations Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Temptations Buffet is very good. There are a lot of different foods for people with different tastes. The only problem with the buffet is that it is only opened on the weekends. If you are there on the weekend, stop by for a good buffet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not much to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Okay, who would go to a casino to eat you say, we'll as its really the only close within the area from the hotel, I did, although I will not again, not much to choose from?
Other then that, staff is friendly......

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nukefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrah's Philadelphia also viewed

 

Been to Harrah's Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing