We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Nearby Hotels
$77
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foggy Mountain Lodge(Stahlstown)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$47
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Somerset)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
202
232
139
71
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
232
139
71
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgeroller skatingfamily memoriesbreakfast buffetalpine slideski slopesfamily packagesnow tubingpizza shopwine festivallift ticketsfourth floorsporting claysindoor poolholiday weekendslope sidelong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 698 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Seven Springs Mountain Resort is a great place to take your family and friends. We arrived at 1:30 pm and had no problem checking in early. Check in time is at 4 pm. I work at a Hilton property, so I know early check in's are difficult to accommodate with a large hotel. The hotel lobby is very welcoming and furnished with rustic materials. The service is good as well. The dinning room was very busy during our visit. The dinner buffet is also great. They offer something different every night. The skiing conditions are amazing every time we have visited. They have a great snowmaking system. My dad and I have been here several times and will be back next year.

A suggestion that I think guest may like would be to offer a 24 hour coffee station in the lobby. Yes, you can get coffee in your room, but if you are sitting in the lobby you may want coffee right there and then. People check in at all different times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide the positive feedback about your recent stay at Seven Springs Mountain Resort. Right now, we are offering complimentary coffee in our Hotel Lobby from 5am until 11am, but expaniding into the evening is something we can certainly look in to, so we are glad you were able to share that information to assist us with our continuous growth and improvement. Thanks again!

Warmest regards,
Karen

Karen Gray-Knieriem
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
kgray@7springs.com
814-352-7777 ext. 7575

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went to Seven Springs this past weekend with 5 family members. We had two queen beds and a roll away, the roll away costs like $20 a day extra. We got the Family memories package. Had all sorts of free meals and extras with it. Really a good deal. Rooms were clean and quiet, the only time we heard any movement outside was when the skiers got up to hit the slopes, anyone that skis knows the sound of ski boots hitting the floor. My wife and one young child didn't ski but there was plenty for them to do, skating, swimming, game rooms, shopping, putt putt. There is a all you can eat sea food buffet on Friday nights, a little pricey, but worth it. If you've ever been on a cruise then you'll know what I mean when I say the food is better than cruise food, especially the breakfast buffets. The wait staff in the dinning halls are hit and miss, some are good, some are slow, just like anywhere else you go.
Two of my kids took snowboarding lessons one did a private lesson and the other did a group. The price was reasonable for the lessons, plus it included lift tickets and rental. Compared to Colorado and the big slopes, the prices were extremely reasonable. The group lesson had 4 people in the group, not because no one took lessons, but because they broke them up that way. 4 people in a group is almost a private lesson. An hour and a half with only three other people is almost unheard of. The instructors were a great group of people, don't have one complaint with them.
The slopes were well taken care of, now if you've skied Vail or Keystone or any other Colorado resort you might be a little let down, these aren't those. But for east coast small slopes there's enough variety to keep you interested. Saturday was swamped, though we still never waited over 5 minutes to get on a lift. The amount of people on the slopes is wild compared to out west where you might pass a dozen skiers on a two lift run, here you'll pass dozens of all skill levels. Stay on your toes.
Check it out, you'll like the place.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are closer to the amenities, such as the restaurants and bars, places for the kids to do their thing. But it is farther from the lobby and where you unload and load. Kind of a pay me now or pay me later deal.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boucher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay and experiences throughout Seven Springs Mountain Resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Karen

Karen Gray-Knieriem
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
kgray@7springs.com
814-352-7777 ext. 7575

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a review of the slopes, not of the lodge.
This resort has a modest vertical of 750 feet in the North Face and even less in the other parts of the hill. It is located 75 minutes from Pittsburgh in the Laurel Mountains, whose modest peaks of 3000 ft are not particularly scenic. Day tickets are expensive at $75. Its main claim to fame are terrain parks, which are numerous and of varying challenge.
I was at Seven Springs on January 4, 2014. It was a bluebird day and it had snowed 4 inches in the prior 24 hrs. Temperatures had been low, thus ideal for snow making. It could have been a great day for skiing. Unfortunately, it was not for several reasons, which I understand are chronic problems at this resort. Sadly, only 2 black slopes were open. Giant Steps Slope, for instance, remained close for the whole day although it is one of their best slopes.There was ice on many slopes, including greens such as Lost Girl Trail and bare patches in the blue slope "corkscrew", which was actually hazardous due to rocks and other natural obstacles. As a result of the limited slope and lift availability, the open trails were crowded and the lines were huge at the lifts, particularly at Gunnar and Polar Bear, with no traffic control for most of the day and resulting chaos as people were trying to get on the chairs. Long lift lines and short, crowded runs are a poor combination and we were bored by the end of the day. I suspect that with all terrain open, this resort could keep you busy for a week-end at most. Although most other local resorts offered discounted online ski tickets on Liftopia, those for Seven Springs always seemed to be "sold out" over the past few weeks when I have been checking.
It is obvious that this resort can afford to offer a poor service because it does not really face much competition locally. Hidden Valley, which is more reasonably priced, is an even smaller hill, Blue Knob has better terrain and is inexpensive but is 2 hrs away and has obsolete infrastructure, and Snowshoe, which is superior to Seven Springs on all counts, is 4 hrs away and thus not suitable for day trips from Pittsburgh. I have the impression that Seven Springs caters to pass holders and people using the parks. Families with young children who are learning to ski or snowboard should go to Hidden Valley, more advanced skiers should go to Blue Knob if all or most terrain is open and it has just dumped, and everybody else prepare to have a mediocre experience at Seven Springs (unless they are interested in the Parks) or take long trips to greener pastures far away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Since childhood, have enjoyed an annual ski week to this resort. We appreciate the careful and charming rustic updates and upgrades. We've been to many other places on the east coast and have not found the same quality alpine feel with wood siding and real timbers supporting hotel and ski lodge. We enjoy the scale and level of services to this place. New metal, modern plastic siding, can be found at most ski places, (Snowshoe included). Seven Springs has achieved a natural, outside to inside connection with its structures, interiors and landscapes. It offers an authentic outdoor experience.

Those concerned with the costs of the meals should inquire of onsite resort alternatives. Every kind of fast food imaginable is offered. The timbers breakfast egg chefs are top notch, and make hot fresh omelets, loads of fresh fruit, tons of baked goods, and excellent table service with bottomless coffee cups await. Helen’s restaurant is a treat each year, they offer unique flavor combinations and a revolving menu. Helen’s is overwhelmingly charming. Worth a wintertime visit, Helens at dinnertime shows off large icicles clinging to the eaves with back lighting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate the positive feedback you've provided regarding your stay at Seven Springs. While, there have been many updates to our structure around the Resort, we've been able to keep the original, look and feel.

Thanks again for sharing your experience.
Warmest regards,
Karen

Karen Gray-Knieriem
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
814-352-7777 ext.7575

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This "ski resort" is extremely overpriced. The rooms are very small, in need of updates and were not very clean. Being slopeside is an amenity you do expect to pay more for, however; these rooms were so small there was barely enough room for the four of us (2 adults and two children under the age of 10) to move around. The "packages" are not much of a deal either at $400 per person double occupancy! If you do not choose a "package" the rooms are very expensive to say the least (in excess of $300 per night depending on how may children and adults will be staying in the room.) At other "slope side ski resorts" I have stayed at, the use of the swimming pool and hot tubs were included. Not here! They do have several amenities, but they all cost extra. We purchased a package deal which included lift tickets, pizza with 2 liter soda and use of the swimming pool. The pizza was awful and we could not even eat it due to the topping tasting like old oil and had to take it back. After much discussion, they finally agreed to make us another pizza which took them over 45 minutes to make. Oh, did I mention they allow dogs to stay in a section of the hotel and we were in that section. I have pets and have traveled with them often, but there were two dogs that barked continually and because there is not much sound proofing, they sounded as if they were in our room. We did complain to the front desk several times, but nothing was ever done about it and we were not compensated in any way. In fact, I mentioned it upon check out again and they told me that next time I should make sure I am not staying in the "pet section". There is also no communication between the hotel and the ski rental/ski school/tubing area so you have to continually walk and forth between the hotel and these other places for information/tickets, etc. Management seems to be non-existent and it is very clear that guest satisfaction is of no concern. I would not stay here again because the cost is not justified, even if you are located slopeside. They need to consider a more reasonable rate for what they have to offer. Small outdated rooms are bad enough, but charging for everything, including use of the pool and spa and other amenities is outrageous to say the least. They also need to work on their customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RGFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

I apologize that you were dissatisfied with your stay. While you did stay in our Traditional section of the Hotel and not the Tower, the rooms are still very spacious. Our pool and fitness center are always complimentary too. We can discuss your stay in further detail if you wish to contact me directly.

Karen

Karen Gray-Knieriem
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
814-352-7777 ext. 7575
kgray@7springs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews