We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Mother Earth News Fair”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Champion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Mother Earth News Fair”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our third trip to the MEN Fair at Seven Spring Resort. The adults can't tear themselves away from all the exhibits, hands on demonstrations and workshops to enjoy all the ammenities in the resort. But the kids have, we've taken 3 teens and there is plenty for them to do while the adults happily learn about eco living. We never leave the resort while we're there, because there is no reason to leave. There are numerous restaurants, but we always eat at the Alpine because they have a wonderful buffet for breakfast and for dinner, which is different each night. And they cater to gluten-free eating. A very nice chef came out and walked me through the buffet and explained everything that was "safe" to eat. He even offered to make anything I saw gluten free if desired. There was plenty of food I could eat, so I was a happy camper. You can get your hair done, manicure, get a spa treatment. There is a bowling alley, arcade room, golf course, sporting clays, and a few shops (not a lot). There is paintball, disc golf, Segway tours, moutain bikes and canopy tours. The Alpine Slide is open and the kids loved it, even the big ones (adults). We've only been in the fall, so I don't know about the summer activities, but there was so much for everyone, it made for a great weekend.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the main lodge, so I can't comment on any other rooms, but we've ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Hogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    211
    120
    63
    48
See reviews for
251
126
5
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have visited several resorts in the Caribbean. This resort was at least equal to any of the others, with one exception. We had made our reservation as part of a package offered by the resort. Upon our arrival a wonderful young lady at Reception put us in an appropriate (quiet) room. The room was extremely comfortable and immaculate. The staff at the restaurant at which we dined was friendly and gave very prompt service. The food was all delicious. I would have liked more vegetarian entrée options. We would love to return and possibly stay a bit longer. The resort offers many attractions, but due to our schedule we were unable to take advantage of them.

Our only not completely satisfactory experience was that we were unable to get our room to cool down enough to sleep comfortably at night. The resort apparently had the air conditioning disabled and we could not leave the outside door open to due insects.

Please disregard the service rating below as, once again, I am having trouble with Trip Advisor's rating schematic. It gets stuck on terrible! I rate this resort overall as Very Good, a 4 out of 5 rating.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is a thoroughfare and if you are bothered by noise, I would suggest you request a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have been here several times for an annual convention. The scenery is beautiful there. Cleanliness of rooms was excellent. Stayed in the "tower" area.

Most of the people attending our convention were age 45+ with majority being over 60. This facility is just sooo spread out and you are guaranteed to get your exercise in. It is a very long walk from the tower to the convention center. Parking goes fast so if you have someone with you with walking problems your out of luck.

I realize that this property is known as a ski resort so it is aimed at a more athletic crowd. Had a senior with me the last 3 times for convention and they were tired from all the walking. Maybe should have got a room closer to restaurants/convention center.

Would be nice if they updated some things at the property.

If you stay slopeside in the tower part of hotel ask for room at either end. Dont stay in middle since either the exhaust or the air conditioning unit runs constantly below. That ruined peacefully sitting on the balcony trying to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leecyleecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overall a very nice family vacation.

Pros

• Zip line canopy tour – Amazing and our guides were fantastic.
• Alpine slide - For all you Jersey folks, brought back a lot of Action Park memories.
• Hot Tub overlooking the mountain - Can imagine overlooking the Mountain in the winter. Worth the fee the hotel charges to use the hot tub.
• Staff (other than the front desk) were extremely friendly, always smiling and offering tips to enhance our experience.
• Food – Very good although a bit on the pricey side.
• Trillium Spa – Beautiful facility

Cons

• Front desk staff – Consistently not very friendly and sometimes down- right rude. Example includes mentioning the coffee in the lobby was empty and being told “that is not my job”
• Helen restaurant - Overpriced and not the fine dining experience we were promised and paid for.
Exercise facility - Being that this resport is owned by the same owners as the Pitt Pirates, I would have expected more than 3 treadmills, a bike and a eliptical machine.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer wing. Restaurants on the 4th floor in the event you dont wakt to walk stairs to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren46592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7SpringsMtnResort, Public Relations Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at Seven Springs Mountain Resort. We appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review. It sounds like you had quite an adventure here and enjoyed some of the best amenities here - the spa, canopy tour and hot tub, to name a few! Your feedback is is extremely important to our team so we can continually improve. Thank you again. We hope to see you on the mountain again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We come here annually for a meeting and it is always a good time. The prices in the bar and limited menu was a surprise from previous years. I would recommend bringing your own beverages $3 for a bottle of soda is a little extreme and over $ 6 for a draft beer limited my purchases to only one

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7SpringsMtnResort, Public Relations Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit! We are glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back near future - maybe for a non-business related visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was overall nice but nothing spectacular. It is showing signs of age and it is dated a bit in design. The beds in our room were full size and my wife and I would have been very happy with a single queen size bed. A full size bed is just a bit small to be comfortable. The cleanliness of the room and view were excellent. On the down side, the shower was not that great. There was no working vent in the shower/toilet area, the drain stop was out of tub and did not work and the shower head was lower than my head and I'm only 5' 10".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our Resort. Our Hotel was built in two different time periods. Our Traditional section offers a rustic lodge feel and those rooms all have two queen beds. Our tower section offers many different styles of room, each with either two queen beds, or one king bed. Updates have been made within the last few years to all of our guest rooms. Please feel free to contact me with more detail to further discuss your room accommodations.

Very sincerely,
Karen

Karen Gray
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
814-352-7777 ext. 7575
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VIrginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This resort is big and spread out so be prepared to walk. Our room was about as far from the elevators as you can get, so we found ourselves trying not to forget anything.

Rooms are ordinary – clean and functional. We had a view of the slopes, but really there aren’t any bad views. Our friends had a “suite” with a view of a lovely pond (for the “39” series which is close to the elevator but next to the ice and beverage machines.)

Their room had a small sitting area with a fridge. Ours (672) did not have any sitting area or fridge. We did have a balcony and if you are there in the winter to ski, you can put anything outside to cool. Rooms come with a Keurig coffee maker.

The resort has several places to eat from Helen’s, an upscale restaurant, to a pizza place. We opted mostly for Timbers which has a wide range of food but don’t expect any thing creative. Breakfast, which was included in the rate, is a buffet and it certainly will fill you for most of the day. One can choose from fresh fruit, waffles, pancakes, scrambled eggs and a variety of meats. There also is an omelet bar as well as a table full of carbohydrates. (bread, pastries, biscuits.)

This is a family resort and geared to kids. Mini-golf, video games, bowling alley and swimming pool will keep them occupied.

One note on parking. When the resort is full, you may have to park in an upper lot as there isn’t adequate parking in the lots near the hotel lobby. Shuttles run between the lots and hotel.

Rooms come with standard amenities – Bath and Body Works lotions and shampoos.

The good news is that the resort is about 45 minutes away from Fallingwater, the Frank Lloyd Wright home which is well worth the effort. Reservations are necessary. If you are not there to ski or hike, there really isn’t much to do. And there definitely is no night life for adults.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussylady001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such an informative review. We are glad that you enjoyed the views from the different rooms that you and your group were in. At Seven Springs, the benefit to having such large hallways, gives guests the opportunity to enjoy most everything under one roof, so there is no need to walk outside, should there be any serious weather conditions. I'm not sure of the dates that you stayed with us, but every weekend there is some type of entertainment, whether it is a band, or a dj, at our Foggy Goggle, Bavarian, or Matterhorn lounges. Should you wish to discuss your stay any further, or make any future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Your review is very much appreciated.

Warmest regards,
Karen

Karen Gray
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
814-352-7777 ext. 7575
kgray@7springs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champion
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
10.2 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
46 reviews
18.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
603 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Springs Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Springs Mountain Resort

Property: Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Address: 777 Water Wheel Dr, Champion, PA 15622-4007
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Champion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Springs Mountain Resort is the perfect place for family vacations that create lifelong memories. Each year the family-friendly resort hosts more than one million overnight and day guests who enjoy a vacation that includes the finest skiing, snowboarding and golf that Pennsylvania has to offer, the exhilaration of the new Laurel Ridgeline Canopy Tours, sporting clays and the ultimate in relaxation at the luxurious Trillium Spa.Seven Springs is conveniently located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike, located within 200 miles of Pittsburgh, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Cleveland and Columbus.With more than 60,000 square feet of meeting space available, Seven Springs hosts more than 1,000 meetings, conferences and banquet groups each year. Seven Springs Mountain Resort can accommodate more than 5,000 overnight guests in its perfectly appointed 414-room, 10-story high-rise hotel, nearly 1,200 condominiums and town homes, 11 cottages and 15 chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
7 Springs Mountain Resort
Seven Springs Pa
Seven Springs Resort Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Hotel Champion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing