We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss This” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Jail

The Old Jail
Attraction details
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
226 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you're in the area, don't miss this gem. Yes, it's a $5 admission (adults) but that gave us a great escorted tour of the Old Jail, Civil War history, and the Underground Railroad, and the Confederates torching the town inn 1864. Fascinating to read the letter a Yankee wrote; the false fireplace used to hide fleeing slaves; the Indian artifacts from the area; the jail itself (3 floors) and the gallows in the "exercise yard". Chambersburg is a small town and this is a gem. Certainly, if you're used to great museums and restored towns, etc. you'll ridicule this endeavor. But, we found it well worth the $5 and glad we didn't miss it.

You can be in-and-out in 30 minutes or less but we spent almost 2 hours there. If you're looking for genealogy, they have an entire area devoted to that. Plan on climbing narrow stairs (no elevators) and being constantly reminded to "watch your head".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The old jail is really cool to see. Lots of historical items are displayed there as well as the jail cells. There is even writing from the inmates still visible on the walls. The dungeon is creepy, but cool to see. Our 3 daughters ages 6-13 found it interesting, but did think the tour got a little long. Over a hour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Urban5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“scary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Go there to get a thrill and a scare for halloween , they do alll this on hallowenn to give a fright to kids and older kids. it is fun fun fun for all. you never know who or whats lurking behind a door or in a jail cell

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Was better...But Still Worth Your Time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been visiting "The Old Jail" for years and years. Sadly, it's not quite what it used to be. Though it should be visited. Kids especially get a "kick" out of being "in jail". This used to be a free visit...which was awesome! Now, it is not. Not expensive though...still disappointing. You don't get to see quite as much as you once did. As parts are blocked off. I think they said due to "insurance reasons". Still very cool. They still use the original giant skeleton key. And have several rooms set up, as it would have been. You get to walk into cells. See writing on the wall from past inmates. Go down to the basement with more cells. Cool creepy. But, not too scarey for the young kids. You can even see where at one time they hid slaves on the "Underground Railroad". So, while I say it "was better". You need to visit atleast once - to reall "feel" some of the history in Chambersburg. Including a room/hallway of 'random' Chambersburg-ian articfacts. So for history buffs, it's cool too. It is not self guided. And typically, all of the guides we had were very knowledgable and answered the children's many questions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KadenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Jail also viewed

 

Been to The Old Jail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing