We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Very Slow Service”

Korean Bulgogi House
Ranked #37 of 171 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Very Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Bright, freshly painted, and clean interior. Very welcoming.

Liked the selection of entrees and side dishes for the lunch special. Had the bulgogi, pancake, kimchi, and cucumber salad. All were freshly made, served hot, and quite good. Did not see kalbi on the menu, but would like to come back to try their bibimbap.

Very friendly greeting when we came in and that continued as we walked out, but the service was extremely slow. We arrived before noon as a party of two, with only one other table of two in the restaurant and they had already ordered. They also seemed frustrated with the wait time.

We waited over 10 minutes before our order was taken and another 40 minutes before our food came out. Simply not acceptable for a weekday lunch to be out of the office that long.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank machias88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
315 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Prepare Your Tastebuds for Awesome Flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

WOW! This place has a small menu but that means things are freshly made to order and pack a huge amount of flavor. What a great find in this town. It is definitely worth deciding to make the trip to visit this establishment.

I saw a road side sign near or in front of the restaurant, but it was not for this restaurant, maybe it is from a previous establishment. There is a driveway on both sides of this establishment and there is limited parking with the building in the middle.

Inside the staff will explain all about the items on the menu and will even give you small samples to help you decide if you are unfamiliar with Korean food. The interior is bright and pleasant. Inside there are tables capable of seating 22 people with some being high. There is a patio outside with 3 tables capable of seating 12 people.

I decided on an order of pot stickers, 3 pieces, which came with a fantastic dipping sauce. I also got a Bulgogi Beef wrap which is Korean beef, rice and a little leafy vegetable, maybe cabbage? I will definitely be going back to visit this place again and maybe even talking my wife into going with me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OBX717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Korean food in bumfk Chambersburg, PA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Found this little gem while traveling South to Florida. Korean food in the middle of nowhere Pennsylvania. The restaurant is located in a remodeled little building. The place had a great little facade, colorful and pretty, with umbrellaed tables and chairs at front. The inside is small but clear and comfortable. Snappy music was playing and a couple of folks arrived after we did. Our food came pretty quickly and it was great. The bulgoki was deliciously done. I had fried rice that was done well. Subtle yet tasty. Was a great accompaniment to the spicy shrimp and vegetables and the japchae. The japchae was a bit gummy. But tasty. The pancake was a bit salty but not unpleasantly so. All of that was a mere $7.95. For an extra dollar each we also got kimchi, cucumber pickled salad and kimchi daikon radish. Scrumptious if you love those pickled vegetables, as we do. Youn!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiebherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, Korean food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have watched various restaurants come and go in the little building that currently houses the Korean Bulgogi House. We haven't tried most of them. We like Korean food and wanted to try this place. I was pleasantly surprised that the inside was clean, bright, and relaxing. The lady who waited on us was very friendly and the food was excellent. We tried the bulgogi, spicy pork, cucumber salad, kimchi, and Korean tea. All was fresh and tasty. We will definitely go back. Korean Bulgogi House may be the restaurant that is able to make it in this location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The restaurant is tiny( looks like a converted drive-thru) but clean and bright. The menu isn't extensive but offers a nice selection. We shared the pancakes, pots tickers for the table and then sampled each others entrees. Especially good: the bibimbap, bulgogi, and the spicy pork. The servers were very helpful and pleasant. We traveled up from WV and it was definitely worth the trip. I foresee some regular visits to satisfy bibimbap cravings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WVrunnermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korean Bulgogi House also viewed

 
Chambersburg, PA
 

Been to Korean Bulgogi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing