We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and clean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Chambersburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Certificate of Excellence
New Paltz, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here on our way home. I wish we could have stayed longer! My husband loved the hot tub. The room was large, had a kitchen and a very comfy bed with a nice blanket. The bathroom was beautiful, so clean and shiny! I liked that there were real plates and flatware in the cabinets. Everything was great until I opened the cupboard door below the sink the next morning and saw the previous occupants trash had not been removed. We mentioned it to Janet and she apologized and offered us a discount on our stay. I have to say that things like that can happen anywhere but we were totally impressed by the way Janet handled it, so professional and courteous. I highly recommend this hotel and its staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We were very happy that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amentities that our hotel has to offer. We again apologize for the issue you had in your room but by bringing it to our attention we can take proper procedure to correct this issue. Thank you so much again and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    43
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
54
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
windsor, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This fairly new hotel is located about 30 minutes from Gettysburg. The suites have kitchenettes and plates, etc. The room was quite clean and the beds were comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful. While the hotel is close to an interstate highway, the room was very quiet. We will stay here the next time we're in the area.

Breakfast is not included but that's really a very minor thing. You can brew your own coffee and there's a supermarket a short distance away (and you have a microwave and a toaster). And you have a full size refrigerator.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinotperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. All feedback about our hotel is appreciated and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked this hotel with points (Platinum member) and had to cancel it due to a family emergency. I was on a motorcycle trip and stopped in at the hotel on my way. I explained my situation with the desk clerk who said I'd be billed for the night AND lose my points because it was <24 hours notice, which I understand. I asked to speak with the manager and he spoke with me via phone... he didn't even come out. I explained the situation again and he was curt, condescending and unsympathetic stating policy is policy. The hotel was sold out and there were people in the lobby who also had their reservations screwed up and the manager dictated the same rhetoric to them. It's too bad the other folks had booked another hotel, because I would have given them my room. I signed into the hotel so I wouldn't be charged (and so they couldn't sell the room to someone else) and rode the 450 miles home. I told everyone about this ordeal and will NEVER stay at this hotel. To her credit, unlike the manager, the desk clerk was apologetic. I was tempted to ask her to rent my room for 50% cash and pocket the money, but that would jeopordize her job. She deserved the money more than the pathetic manager. The hotel may be a nice place to stay, but I'm only giving it 1 star due to poor managerial customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outbackwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Outbackwack,

Thank you for taking your time to share such feedback with us, as this certainly is a great contribution to the improvement of the quality of our product and services.

I sincerely apologize for the poor customer care our staff has provided you. As an elite member, we always strive to provide you with the best guest experience and we endeavor to meet your expectations at all times, as such, we deeply regret that we failed on this instance.

You patronage and support are very important, hence, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel and will be used to reconsider updates where possible. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manger
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodman
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is about 2 years old and very much up-to-date. For traveling, it is near Rt81. The rooms are spacious and very clean and quiet. A full kitchen is a plus for doing your own thing for meals. The staff is very friendly and helpful and were hosting a free quest appreciation night with a cook out. (Try to find that somewhere else!) A full kitchen is a plus for doing your own thing for meals. The restaurants are close by and we enjoyed dinner at Texas Road House. You would not find a better place for the price. We will be sure to stop again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from possible dog noise or away from bottom floor outside doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do like show our appreciation to our guests by doing a weekly barbecue and we were happy to hear you enjoyed it! We do hope to see you again very soon. Thank you so much again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Was just there for 1 night but the staff was friendly and once a week in the summer they have free BBQ and beer for guest. It's also really close to an amusement park and pool hall (sunset billiards). Apparently though the 1st floor walls aren't very sound proof because my friend and I were talking in the courtyard at night and we were asked to keep it down because people could hear us.

Room Tip: they allow pets here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFreindlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were happy to hear that our staff took good care of you while you stayed with us. We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed our guest appreciation barbecue. We like to take the time to thank our guests whenever we can and that is just one of the many ways we show our appreciation. Thank you again for our review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has obviously been built very recently, and is in immaculate condition. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was average (I think all these places get food from the same company). All in all, the best Candlewood we have stayed in. I would suggest getting dinner at Aki (next door).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nathaniel515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we are only about two years old. Our staff takes pride in making sure our facility stays in great condition. We will work in the future to make sure our hotel stays in the immaculate condition you highlighted. We hope that if you return to the area you will stay with us again. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Such a nice hotel. All rooms have a kitchen. Which is great for families, especially when trying to budget for meals. I don't like eating in restaurants every day when we are away for a holiday, dinner or a lunch is ok, but prefer to cook it myself and this hotel you can do that! We bought cereal, bagels, bread, milk and such because there is a full size fridge, microwave and a two burner stove. There are plates, cookware and silverware, everything you could possibly need to cook a full meal. Plus there is also a dishwasher. They also offer gas grills to cook outside and tables outdoors by the pool to sit and eat at. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenKNI65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the feedback that our hotel receives. We were so happy to have you and were glad that you enjoyed the kitchenettes that our rooms offer. We hope that you return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chambersburg
BEST WESTERN Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chambersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chambersburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Address: 231 Walker Rd, Chambersburg, PA 17201-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chambersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chambersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing