We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! I want to live here!!! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow! I want to live here!!! :)”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very special hotel. Full stocked kitchen. Recliner in room. Table for dining. Pool and hot tub. 2 double beds in our room. Very. Clean. !! Wish we were not just staying 1 night. Service is great. Shopping and restaurants nearby. Pizza boxx is next door. Try their home made sub buns. To die for. That is another review. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2006rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your positive comments with the staff immediately. We would gladly like to have you stay again with sometime soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    43
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
54
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This property is very new, and yet the rate we reserved it for was either equal to the other older hotels nearby, or was actually cheaper.

It shares a parking lot with a number of restaurants such as Texas Roadhouse and Fuddruckers, and there is a shopping plaza with a Super Target, Giant supermarket, and Kohls close by.

WIth the facility being new, everything in appearance is very clean and orderly. They do not serve a morning breakfast, but that shouldn't be much of an issue if you are using the kitchen facilities in the rooms. The hallways are brightly lit and easily accessible.

We found the room to be very spacious and comfortable, and of course with everything being new, well-kept. We had a 2 queen room which also had a recliner chair; a kitchenette with full-size fridge, stove top, microwave, dishes and utensils; a counter/desk to sit at; large closets; and fairly spacious bathroom.

The only issue I have is the parking lot which is shared with multiple businesses - primarily restaurants. During the weekends, especially the evenings, this parking lot is packed full and will mean a long walk to the hotel entrance. We felt the parking lot is a bit dimly lit which could pose a security issue. For whatever reason, the design of the building put it in an unusual position facing the side of the plaza building which makes the entrance awkward.

At this time, this is clearly the best place to stay in Chamberburg in my opinion. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150thBucktailPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback for our hotel. We were very please to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well our many amentities we have to offer. Most importantly, we were happy to hear that you will stay with us again! Can't wait ot see you again! Thank you and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Free laundry was a welcome surprise on the tail end of our road trip. Buy detergent at a nearby drug store to save money over single use detergent sold at hotel. Rooms comfortable-- easy to get extra linens, towels, etc as needed. Friendly staff.

Beds a bit creaky but comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklineTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our compliementary laundry facilities and our comfortable rooms. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again very soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First, my family really enjoyed the service of the front desk staff. They were very helpful with any need we had. The location of the hotel was good for our touring through Gettysburg. The location was also good for restaurants and shopping in the area. The rooms was spacious enough for a family of 4 to make it somewhat comfortably. The kids also really enjoyed the pool. They also offered free washers and dryers.
The drawbacks are the hotel does not offer a breakfast. Another drawback is they do not clean your room or change your towels during your stay. These are really the only 2 drawbacks.
We would consider staying here again. However, if we can find a better deal elsewhere we will stay at the other place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. You did highlight some of our benefits and our drawbacks. We would like to let you and future guests know that we do have things for purchase for breakfast and we do have restaurants that serve breakfast nearby. Also, we do only do housekeeping every seven days. If you ever need fresh linens or more supplies the front desk always has some on hand for our guests. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molokai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
294 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms are large and well-appointed considering the price, which is quite reasonable. There isn't a lot within walking distance, but nothing in Chambersburg is more than a few minutes away by car. Good place. If I come back to this area I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. Please give us a call because in our parking lot is Texas Road house, Aki Japenese, Moes, Dry cleaners and Nathans and Brusters Ice Cream. We are also located less then a mile from Target and Giant grocery store. Also Kohls in 2 minutes from our home away from home. We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for staying with us.

Lee Lemelman

Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed at this exit 4 times, the first time at the Candlewood. We arrived very late due to weather and a traffic back up. The staff was amazing when we got there, had the paperwork ready, got us something to eat and drink and sent us to the room happy. The next morning, the daytime staff was as wonderful. CLEAN, inexpensive rooms with kitchenettes. I will be back and I will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneRimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you again for taking your time to review our home away from home. All of your comments will be shared with our staff immdietly. We hope to see you again soon.

Lee Lemelman
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Candlewood in Chambersburg provides you with a clean, spacious suite with all the features you might want but not all the frills. Kitchen area, desk, internet, clean new beds, clean bathrooms and nice carpeting. Even has an indoor pool (no it is not Olympic size...but what the heck). Candlewood suites is the economy version of the more luxury-oriented Staybridge suites (both are IHG line of hotels). I love them both and they have never disappointed me. You get a nice warm welcome and an attentive staff in either. Chambersburg is a good option for visits to Gettysburg and a really nice informal steak dinner can be had in walking distance at Texas Roadhouse. Also, join their Priority Club if you stay at IHG hotels and you will get points you can actually really use for free stays down the line.

Room Tip: They do accept pets. If they bother you then ask for a room away from one. We ran across a neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nittanyfan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our home away from home. All of your comments will be shared with our staff as we take pride in our product we give you our family. Thank you again and come home again soon!!

Lee Lemelman
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chambersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chambersburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Address: 231 Walker Rd, Chambersburg, PA 17201-3503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chambersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chambersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing