We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Ragged Edge
Ranked #1 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Inn at Ragged Edge is one of those places that reminded my husband and I of the surprise you experience when you find an unexpected $20 in your jean or coat pocket....this bed and breakfast is a winner.

The new proprietors, Lew and Fran are absolutely lovely, charming and accommodating and over the last 2 years, they've done an incredible job of renovating the property and grounds, bringing this B&B to a standard that you would expect.

Each room is tastefully decorated with comfy beds, lovely linens, expansive views of the "estate" -- my husband and I stayed in the Kennedy Room which was nice -- lots of room. If you ask, Lew and Fran will give you a guided tour of the house and it's worth it, just based on the craftsmanship and quality of construction. You'll get a complete history of the property. The breakfast food is wonderful -- just what you'd expect from a bed and breakfast and the room rates are more than reasonable.

Again, this place is a jewel and if you're traveling through the area and need a place to refresh, make a reservation. (You'll get WAY more than staying at a conventional travel hotel.) The Inn at Ragged Edge has stunning architectural details, the kind of which we just don't see in today's building. The front porch is wide, lengthy and perfect for sitting with a glass of whatever refreshment you want and watching the sunset. The grounds are expansive and there's plenty of nooks and crannies to settle in with a good book or good conversation. if you want to run away, go here.

This place exceeded our expectations and we had such a good time that when I was visiting friends in Chambersburg, I stayed in the Rae's Creek Room which is one of the smaller, more affordable rooms, but it was just as cozy and lovely as the rest of the rooms.

I'm planning to take my sisters here for our next Sisters Trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zehndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
87
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lew and Fran were wonderful hosts for our one night visit. The large Victorian (I think) house has 9 bedrooms, a very large downstairs with a variety of parlors and dining room, hand-carved woodwork throughout, a wrap-around porch, back patio, and a really nice nature trail and stream behind the house. We drove to that area for antiquing, which is more prevalent down in Hagerstown, MD but this is just a short drive North of there.

Room Tip: The Garden View room is good sized with a couch, table and chairs, a mini fridge and sink, and a ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thanks to Living Social we became acquainted with this lovely B&B. Located on Ragged Edge Road at the east edge of Chambersburg, it is very convenient to Gettysburg and the battlefields as well as several excellent wineries and orchards.

Our stay at the Inn was perfect! Our innkeepers, Lew and Fran were gracious friendly and very accommodating. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. When we arrived in our room we found a bottle of sparkling juice, bottles of water and chocolates. Very nice indeed! There was a community room in close proximity to our room with a full size refrigerator, sodas, additional water, snacks, coffee - available at any time.

The area around the Inn is wooded, very private and offered an opportunity for a trek through the woods, down to a creek all on an established nature trail. We found ourselves enjoying time on the beautiful wrap around porch. We especially enjoyed a cup of coffee during the morning hours while sitting on the patio above the scenic creek. What a restful spot it truly was. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens tended by Fran.

Let us not forget the breakfasts. Each morning was a different menu, complete with egg dishes, fresh fruit, home made pastries, juices and much more. It was obvious that Fran put a great deal of thought and planning into the morning menu. The food was presented in a delightful setting (surrounded by beautiful mahogany paneling) and offered friendly conversation with other guests and our innkeepers.

One could use this B&B as a destination in and of itself, or as a base of operations for day trips to Gettysburg and the surrounding areas.

Fran and Lew were available to answer our questions and to make suggestions about interesting sites and attractions in the area. Would we recommend a stay at the Inn At Ragged Edge - a resounding yes!

We look forward to many return visits - we hope you will too! Maybe we will see you there.

Jack and Ermina Cameron
Columbia, MD

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbershopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Ragged Edge because our children gave us a groupon for a two-night stay there. I have never stayed at a B&B before and was a little hesitant that it would not be private enough. On the contrary, we had as much privacy as we wanted, but could also socialize as much as we wanted as well. The breakfast food was absolutely amazing with home-made stuffed French toast with fresh blueberries and cream cheese; fresh sliced peaches and blueberries, fried potatoes with peppers, tomatoes, and sausage one morning and the next fresh croissants with eggs and cheese, homemade cinnamon rolls, fresh sliced peaches and berries the next. There was always some kind of snack provided throughout the day. On one floor they have a "community room" that is stocked for all guests to use a large refrigerator, microwave oven, various snacks, sodas, and water. Wifi is available as well. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and had a comfortable king size bed, jacuzzi tub, skylights, and our own bathroom,, and of course complete privacy. The home itself is absolutely amazing with many details one could easily overlook, and the furnishings are beautiful as well. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. After this stay, I won't be hesitant to stay at another B&B.

Room Tip: Look at their website for details on each room. Then call the innkeepers if you have any more questi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Export, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at this inn 6 times over the past years and found it to be an enjoyable experience every time. The owners Lew and Fran were great hosts and the breakfast they served were second to none. We can't say enough good things about this B & B. The mansion is kept in excellent condition and the rooms are very clean. When sitting on the wrap around porch you can feel the same experience that the original owners felt 100 years ago. The Inn at Ragged Edge is truely a great experience. The rates are very reasonable considering the historical value of the inn and of course the very unique breakfast entrees. If you are looking for a great Bed and Breakfast then this is the one that will impress you and keep you coming back.

Room Tip: My review means nothing unless you experience the service and historical value of this B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This beautiful Inn, bed and breakfast is on the edge of a ragged rock outcrop, thus it's name. It was the summer home of a local railroad tycoon at the turn of the century. The owners have captured the beautiful, simple charm of the house. It is light and spacious, capturing the surrounding beauty . A quiet spot of charm .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

While the Inn itself is lovely, many details remain amiss. For example, we stayed in the Garden View room, and the gold sofa in the room really needs to go, as it had many stains on it. I realize that the price of the room was quite reasonable, but charge more for the room and offer clean towels on a daily basis in addition to a general sweep of the room when guests leave for the day, such as making the bed and emptying baskets. Get rid of the odd kitchen table with the stained runner; it serves no real purpose in the room.
Secondly, no establishment should serve food out of a crock pot. Make the food to order. Add that extra special touch. Offer a choice for breakfast. It does not have to be anything fancy. Provide real cream for guests, not a cream substitute that is left out overnight.
Thirdly, the noise factor in the adjacent room greatly disturbed us. There is an interior door that is directly linked to the room next door. We heard everything, and I do mean everything.
Thus, take this Inn to the next level. Focus on the critical comforting details.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Buford52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
302 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
2.4 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
289 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ragged Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Edge

Property: The Inn at Ragged Edge
Address: 1090 Ragged Edge Rd, Chambersburg, PA 17202-8173
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ragged Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin to feel relaxed and welcomed as you step into this magnificent historic mansion near the town of Chambersburg, located in South Central Pennsylvania. The Inn at Ragged Edge is only 20 miles from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. This house is truly amazing with its beautiful chestnut wood stairway adorned with hand carved designs. The dining room is stunning with its beautiful mahogany walls where a full course breakfast is served each morning. The Inn offers 9 spacious guest rooms all with private baths, king & queen size beds, flat panel TVs w/ DVD, air conditioning, and soft terry robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Ragged Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel Chambersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing