We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine B&B in Peach Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Ragged Edge
Ranked #1 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Listen-I'm not a B&B kinda guy but my wife loves them.
She loves to talk to the owners and get their stories-Me? I just want to drink my morning coffee and not have to talk to anyone. Guess who won the "honey lets's stay at a bed and breakfast...AGAIN?"

We were spending two days to get away and this seemed like a good choice. Gettysburg is an easy 20 minutes away.

The property is a hidden gem, tranquil and quiet. The property faces the street but it is set back and is completely quiet. The owners are a very nice couple and will do anything to help make your stay enjoyable. The price per night is more than fair-the rooms are very clean, neat and comfortable. The property is over 100 years old and was renovated by the current owners within the past 8 years. Outside sitting spaces lend themselves to quiet reading or sipping on your favorite wine.

They made us home made pancakes served with real maple syrup, fresh fruit, yoghurt, orange juice, coffee or tea and offered to make bacon as well.

If you like B&Bs this one is very nice. It would be great for a celebration or wedding event.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MES117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Ragged Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Using a voucher from Living Social we stayed at the Inn at Ragged Edge for our 16th wedding anniversary. Through the years we have sometimes been fooled by the website photos which always seem to flatter the accommodations. This is the first time that we have found that the photos did not actually do justice to spectacular structure and furnishings of the Inn.

From the iridescent African mahogany paneling in the dining room, to the exquisite views from the patio, to the comfortable rockers on the front porch, the Inn at Ragged Edge set the bar very high for future picks from websites. Lew and Fran and one of their daughters have been meticulous about selecting antique appointments for this marvelous, historical mansion which they've converted to a B&B.

Their down home spirit of hospitality was the final touch that made our Memorial Day anniversary weekend so memorable.

If you are like we are--more than a bit skeptical about some reviews (Are they all written by their friends? Do they arrange to have the negative ones deleted?) fear not. This place is the real deal. You can't go wrong if you choose it. And we're going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nest which will give you a fabulous view of the stream.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A beauty of a B&B in a park like setting. Mahogany lined panels in all the downstairs areas highlight this splendid property. This was the highlight of Chambersburg, Pa. A sumptuous breakfast served in a stunning setting was a throwback to what B&Bs used to be like. Beds were comfortable and the owners gracious. Cannot go wrong with this. The rate was also quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the "Inn at Ragged Edge" in mid July 2013, instead of one of the chain hotels (ho-hum). What a great decision this turned out to be! I received first class accommodations as well as a relaxed, gourmet breakfast each morning. I stayed here as a launching point to visit the Gettysburg and Antietam battlefields but was also close to Lancaster and Hershey Park. Lew and Fran were excellent hosts and to have a chance to experience this classic, historic inn was very memorable. Their restoration results are amazing! This was one of the most relaxed and stress relieving getaways. It will transport you back to an earlier era when Railroad was King but with all of the modern comforts. My advice....bring a nice bottle of wine and a cigar to the front verandah and "wine-down" while the sun sets on this historic home in Chambersburg! You won't forget the outstanding experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well done and very comfortable. You will not find accommodations like this in t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnOrmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had three nights in the Honeymoon Suite while we attended the Gettysburg 150th celebrations. The owners, Lew & Fran were just wonderful. Welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable, and really went the extra mile for us. The property itself is just delightful. The breakfasts are worth the stay on their own! The Inn is a real oasis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed one night. .. wish it was many more! The owners (Mr. And Mrs. Lew Martin) have done a great job renovating the old inn. Built in 1900, the inn had certainly been very rundown when the Martins got it at the auction. Wow! Have they done a fantastic job. Well worth a visit. The experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHagerstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed four nights at The Inn at Ragged Edge, over the 150th Gettysburg weekend, and found it to be a welcoming and relaxing place to return to, after long and hot days. The long, wide verandahs, many public rooms, and rear-facing woodland outlook provided lots of opportunities to wind-down without feeling that you where living in too close a proximity to others.

They provide a common room, complete with fridge, microwave, and coffee facilities, which is handy for longer stays, allowing you to chill drinks and store picnic foodstuffs, and even prepare light meals/takeaways. Breakfast was served in the large, formal dining room, and I believe that they were trialling a buffet approach, which suited us perfectly.

Our Room was large and comfortable, and the adjoining bathroom delivered on all fronts, with one of the largest baths we've ever experienced.

The Inn is situation a mile or so outside of Chambersburg proper, and so commute is required for anything and everything not provided for and brought in, but we knew/expected that and so it was not a problem. Lew handled most of the 'front-of-house' liaison and was most helpful and welcoming. I cannot over-emphasize the ideal setting of the house, and how it is a extremely pleasant base for touring that part of PA.

The acid test (i.e. would I return): Yes, absolutely.

Room Tip: Offering a number of rooms, each unique, there will be all sorts of combinations of facilities, so m...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antipodeans_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
310 reviews
8.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#1 of 6 in Shippensburg
179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ragged Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Edge

Address: 1090 Ragged Edge Rd, Chambersburg, PA 17202-8173
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range: $108 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ragged Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin to feel relaxed and welcomed as you step into this magnificent historic mansion near the town of Chambersburg, located in South Central Pennsylvania. The Inn at Ragged Edge is only 20 miles from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. This house is truly amazing with its beautiful chestnut wood stairway adorned with hand carved designs. The dining room is stunning with its beautiful mahogany walls where a full course breakfast is served each morning. The Inn offers 9 spacious guest rooms all with private baths, king & queen size beds, flat panel TVs w/ DVD, air conditioning, and soft terry robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Ragged Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel Chambersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing