We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place for a date.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 71

Bistro 71
Ranked #5 of 155 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great place for a date.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I just enjoyed a very pleasant evening here. It's not a 'restaurant' in the strictest terms. They only serve Tapas and dessert. The food is tasty but just overpriced appetizers. The atmosphere is really what makes it worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhile3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much To Be Desired...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have to admit, there is a lot to be desired from Bistro 71. The Bistro has been around a few years and is aiming to revitalize the downtown area, much like Frederick, MD has done in the past few years. However, Bistro 71 has got a ways to go. Here are my quick points:

• Atmosphere is very modern, and inviting. Interior is well decorated, especially if you enjoy a more modern look and feel

• The food is good, but not terrific. Requests can be taken, but do not expect them to be met.

• Bistro 71 is pricey. If you're looking to spend a lot of money on food, go to The Orchard's and actually get a meal that is worth the price.

• Small – if the place is busy, don't expect to find a room for you and eight of your friends. Remember, this is a bistro and not a family dining experience.

• Wait staff is amateur – two to three-star service should be expected.

Overall the food is good, but not worth the price or inexperienced wait staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pamd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Upscale for this small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Food was fabulous. We reserved a table on the patio & it was so lovely with great music for a relaxing special night out. A bit more pricy than franchise but has a sophisticated atmosphere. As we left there were musicians setting up to do live performance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank tripgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
245 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I went for drinks and appetizers. I had a chardonnay (sorry can't remember the name) that was good and my husband had Sam Adams summer ale. We shared an artichoke and goat cheese bruschetta that was very good. I had mussels that had a to die for cream saffron sauce with slices of grilled bread to dip in the sauce. The mussels were all good and small to medium as I like them. My husband had the spinach and strawberry salad with poppyseed dressing. The service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bistro 71 - Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Love the cozy atmosphere and friendly employees. We always go for drinks but end up staying to eat. On our last visit we split 3 appetizers- 2 orders of the mussels and 1 plate of lamb sliders. We asked for extra bread to soak up the delicious broth from the mussels; the bread is warm and has a slight charred taste that's delicious with the creamy mussel broth.

The patio in the rear of the restaurant is open during the warmer months and offers a nice quiet spot to enjoy drinks and/or dinner. The owners are on-site and always greet us, they're pleasant without being intrusive. We feel like we're in a private, "special" place at Bistro 71.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 71 also viewed

 
Chambersburg, PA
Chambersburg, PA
 

Been to Bistro 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing