We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pink sheets”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Anything that needed to be said about this Super 8 was by others. I can just rectify some errors.

Funky smell:
It’s there, but if you use the a/c unit on recycled air, you need not to worry. There is no smell inside the hotel either. And you will smell the farm when you are outside and only when the wind blows north to south as it did when we arrived. When we departed and the wind was blowing west to east no smell whatsoever.

Chambersburg is just 3 miles away (first exit is 17). The freeway is being rebuilt, but we were at the first exit within 5 min. And coming back the hotel is right at the exit 20. Very convenient, but unfortunately you will hear the freeway traffic in the room. It is not very pronounced, but clearly audible.

Otherwise, the room was large, clean, good TV channel selection. Yes, the breakfast is pathetic. Skip it. You can go to McDonald’s up to road if you wish.

Overall, good stay, much less than Gettysburg hotels and worth the 30 min drive.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 261 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

First off, I booked directly with the motel, and was quoted a rate (tax included) of 53.21. I heard it clearly (she repeated everything for me) and I wrote it down on my MapQuest map of the property with my confirmation number. Upon check-in, after a dizzying day on the turnpike, the "forced-friendly" person at the counter (who I was obviously disturbing from being able to talk to some guy that was lurking there in the lobby) sternly told me I was mistaken, that they have no such rate and that she certainly would not honor it. I was exhausted (there were only a few cars in the lot btw), so I took it and got my room.

First impression of the room- what a FUNKY SMELL! The room was dank and heavy. I turned up the air to try and help things, but still, what a funk. I checked in in the dark. When morning came I looked out my window and found the culprit (besides no bathroom fan): a full dairy operation next door. Scenic, but smelly.

The bed was just OK, but the room was quiet so I slept well. The shower was good too, which surprised me. Things get steamy very quickly without an active bathroom fan, however. Yuck.

The sink is in the room and there are no towel holders. The room was clean. There was a microwave, a coffee maker, and a frig in the room too (don't know if they all have that). Make your own coffee in the room if you want decaf-I didn't see any at "breakfast".

Breakfast - sugar seems to be the only course. Apple and orange juice, white and not white bread in a plastic display. Fake butter. Fake cream for the regular coffee. Fruit Loops and Corn Flakes only for cereal with a pitcher of 2% milk (most likely not from next door, ironically). Tiny, powdered donuts (white and cinnamon) rounded things out? Would it break them to make some fruit available? The area was clean and well kept, however. You will be hungry again within an hour and God help you if you have kids. The selection is very puny and disappointing.

High speed wireless worked flawlessly. Cable TV was grainy.

Overall you get what you pay for, and since other motels in the area are more costly, I would grudgingly stay here again. It's a room, you sleep, you shower, you move on...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff-and-Kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We were very pleased with this hotel. It appears to be a new building, or one that has been extensively renovated. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed was a tad soft, and we could have used a thicker blanket, but those are minor gripes. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was so-so (two kinds of cereal, store-bought mini donuts, generic toast, juice and weak coffee), but adequate for us. Except for a McDonald's about half a mile up the road, there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, although the next exit south on 81 (about a ten-minute drive) has everything you could want. The hotel is about half an hour by car from Gettysburg, 15 minutes from Shippensburg, and about ten minutes from Chambersburg. The rooms were priced about $30 less than any other "name brand" hotels within a 30 mile radius of Gettysburg, and given the cost we thought it was a terrific value. We've already made reservations for a return visit in October.

If you want luxury or amenities, this ain't it, but if all you need is a clean, comfortable place to crash after a day touring the battlefields, look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuisseGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We found this to be a quiet, clean, comfortable stay. It was located right near the Chambersburg mall. It is a small newer Super 8 and we took a chance, because it had just one review on trip advisor which was good. It was obvious that the place was kept clean, the shower and tub were neat and the room was adequate. The only downside was sharing a double bed with my husband while we are used to our King one at home. It was very...quaint. The breakfast was basic--raisin bran, corn flakes, toast or mini-donuts, plus juice, coffee and perhaps cocoa. There is a microwave in the lobby as well. The front desk staff was very helpful and polite, despite my numerous questions about the area and recommended Bonanza buffet which was quite good (and we rarely like buffets). I would stay here again without hesitation. The area too was safe, and did I mention high speed internet? If you're looking for a five star hotel, do not go to a one star one and then write a bad review because it isn't a five star one. This is good value for the money. A clean, comfortable bed and shower and a quick breakfast to get your day going.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank higas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My wife and I took a motorcycle trip to Gettysburg. Other hotels wanted over $100.00 dollars for one night. The rates here were great compared to that. The room was very clean and well maintained. People there were very friendly and even talked to the owners father-in-law the next morning about his recent fishing/hunting trip. Would stay here over and over again on our next visits.
P.S. we woke to a great country scene of a close by farm. added bonus!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ohiotrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pier-Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcZ770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#9 of 16 in Chambersburg
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Chambersburg I-81
Super 8 Chambersburg I-81
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
207 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
322 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3648 Olde Scotland Rd, I-81 Ext 20 on Right of 696, Chambersburg, PA 17202-9764 (Formerly Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Comfort Inn located off exit 20 in Chambersburg, PA. 64 spacious modern guestrooms, expanded complimentary breakfast, brand new fitness center and business center, 4- hour market, free WIFI, and more. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, make the Comfort Inn your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing