We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland Area
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Easy to find location near both Interstates with a very friendly staff. The room was a fantastic size and very clean with plenty of space to relax. This hotel also had a nice indoor pool, which was a definite plus. Additionally, Gettysburg and Antietam are both an easy drive away. Complimentary breakfast was good, although more hot options would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    73
    60
    35
    21
See reviews for
78
64
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

As a reasonably priced hotel, this was a perfect choice for us to be near, but not "on top of" Gettysburg for the 150th Anniversary of the Civil War Battle there -for three overnights. Every morning we had a very peasant 24 mile drive through lovely courtyside into town, which suited us well. Clean and friendly, and a nice comfortable place to come back to after a long hot day of walking all over, the hotel was ideal -right off an exit on Rt 81 next to beautiful open farm country -quiet and peaceful. Another exit south were plenty of places to eat and there was a McDonald's for those desparate times just a quarter mile away. We met with family there from Maine, northern PA and Virginia - all agreed this was a fine choice for our adventure. We have marked this hotel in our travel log fo future use when traveling in that area. Thank you for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel and room were very basic but clean and comfortable. The sink would not drain very well but otherwise was okay. My only real complaint is that the price was so jacked up for the reenactment in Gettysberg but everything else was too. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtlepoint, PA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Hall and room smelled of smoke badly. Refrigerator in room did not work and I was lucky to get microwave to work. Hotel carpets need to be cleaned. Elevator smells of stale smoke. Continental breakfast was lacking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deacon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have to say, I think there are some "corporate" reviews going on with this hotel. I noticed many of the "5 Star" reviews are from reviewers who have made only one review. Additionally, there is NO way any one could review this place as 5 stars. I'm no Prima Donna, in fact I've spent years staying in hotels for Railroad workers (I work in the RR industry). So, I've stayed in some bad hotels. The Super 8 in Scotland, PA is very quite possibly the worst I've ever been to. I took my family to the 150th anniversary week of the Gettysburg battle. We had two rooms booked at this Super 8 over a year in advance. First, we were put in Smoking rooms when we clearly rented Non-smoking rooms. The beds are worn out, having sheets that are so old, you can see the mattress through them. Each room gets three towels that are small and thin and again so old there are areas that can be seen through. No room has an ironing board. If you want to iron your clothes, you get to do it in the "common" laundry room downstairs in the lobby. Yes... you get to iron your clothes in the lobby. Our room had a wall with slime running down the wall. It appeared as though someone had thrown a beer or soda against the wall and the liquid had run down the wall....apparently never cleaned or painted over. The toilet was stained with disgusting dark black rings in the bowl and needed replacement. Simply put, this place is a dump. I found no evidence of bugs in the two rooms we had. We ended up finding a hotel 15 miles away that had two rooms remaining, so we booked them and paid nearly triple the going rates because the entire region is sold out (for the Gettysburg Anniversary). I am not a happy camper. I make reservations over a year in advance for a HUGE event. I pay a considerably higher rate, but still get a lower rate that people making reservations in the last couple months AND I end up paying the highest rate possible on the last two rooms in a 50 miles area because this Super 8 is so bad. This place is awful. Your forewarned.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otee453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Chambersburg I-81
Super 8 Chambersburg I-81
#12 of 16 in Chambersburg
151 reviews
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
296 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland Area

Property: Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland Area
Address: 3648 Olde Scotland Rd, I-81 Ext 20 on Right of 696, Chambersburg, PA 17202-9764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland Area 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** We are currently undergoing a renovation but are still open. *** The Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland, PA is located at exit 20 off I-81. We are centrally located between Gettysburg, Shippensburg and Carlisle. If your travels should take you to visit Historic Gettysburg, a graduation at the Shippensburg University or enjoy a car show at the Carlisle Fairgrounds, you will find our property in the perfect location. All of our nicely decorated rooms feature King, Queen and Full size beds, Micro-Fridge, Alarm Clocks, Hairdryers, Cable with HBO, ESPN, and CNN. We invite you to join us for a Superstart Breakfast daily, you can connect to our Free High Speed Wireless Internet from anywhere in the motel and we also offer the convenience of a Coin-op Laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Chambersburg/Scotland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing