We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chambersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
South Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

Fabulously decorated victorian home. Large, comfortable rooms,cozy bedding and delicious breakfast! Especially the banana bread!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
85
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Roger and Barbara were such great hosts! Their 3 story Victorian home has a number of fantastic rooms (they gave us a personal tour!). Our room (the Cranberry Room) was so spacious with a fireplace and a huge 2 person whirlpool tub. The home is full of fine Victorian detail without being overdone (like some of B&Bs we have been to). The breakfast was fantastic - the food was delicious. My wife and I appreciated that the portions were not too big but seconds were always offered. We also appreciated the free internet access and the recommendation for an excellent local masseuse. Chambersburg is a pleasant little town with lots of history, beautiful homes, a quaint old main street and some excellent food. It was the perfect place to have aromantic weekend getaway from the bustle of the Baltimore/D.C. area!
Of the 6 or so bed and breakfasts we have been to, Craig Victorian is definity a favorite and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

I was travelling through on a long 1700 mile trip and, rather than staying at a generic motel off the interstate, chose to stay at this very pleasant bed and breakfast in chambersburg - it was a very pleasant experience, the place is beautiful and the hosts were quite nice and had good non-generic recommendations for dinner -

  • Liked — great old victorian house
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank new0rleanslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

This was our third or fourth visit. Our Granddaughter attends Wilson College across the street, so we anticipate 6 visits a year for several years to come. Beds and pillows are great. If you're into correctly done Victorian decor, you simply must visit for a tour. Their breakfast is far better than the bagel & cereal you get at a motel.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank PopNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

This was our second visit to this nice B&B, which is located halfway on a trip we make a lot. We were the only guests, and were treated like royalty. We asked for a couple of cups to make tea, and were treated to an entire tea service! Beds were very comfortable. There is virtually no street noise afer 9pm. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jah1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

We had been looking for a place to stay which would be about half way between North Carolina and New York. Since we prefer a bed and breakfast, we tried the Craig. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable. After an excellent breakfast, we continued our trip. We enjoyed talking to the hosts and will probably stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts and quiet location.
  • Disliked — A lot of stairs.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutegrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

We were just passing by Chambersburg on I-81 one weekday and wanted a break from the chain motels, so chose this place. It worked out well for us. We were the only people there so it didn't matter that we didn't have a private bathroom. The woman who runs the place is a salt-of-the-earth type which we appreciated quite a lot. The breakfast food seemed to emphasize quantity over quality. She gave us some bread her husband had baked to take with us which was very thoughtful. Evidently her husband is a better cook than she is. The house is huge and rambling. It felt luxurious to have the place to ourselves.

  • Liked — that it was there
  • Disliked — shower curtain didn't keep water in shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SlippyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
#1 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chambersburg
BEST WESTERN Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 756 Philadelphia Ave, Chambersburg, PA 17201-1267 (Formerly Shultz's Victorian Mansion)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Victorian home located along a tree-lined street of gracious homes in the north end of Chambersburg was built in 1880 by John Watson Craig(1830-1908). Guests are welcomed to large, pleasant, air-conditioned bedrooms. The mansion's porches, patios and lawn are available for guest relaxation. The mansion features three large common rooms with fireplaces and a dining room on the first floor. 19th-century architecture and intricate wood carving is found throughout the mansion, from the corner turret to the elaborately designed and crafted foyer and open staircase leading to the third floor. A family collection of antiques enhance the richness of the mansion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing