We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great, brief stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
Lambertville, New Jersey
1 review
“A great, brief stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Got this place only a few days in advance at a good rate. The rooms were gorgeous and clean. The house and grounds were very pretty and charming. And the hosts were very friendly in a sincere way, not the sometimes fake welcome you get in some places. We only stayed one night, but it was a nice relaxing stay. It's really a beautiful building and obviously well-cared for. Chambersburg isn't exactly Vegas on terms of activities, but if you're in the area, you really can't beat this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
82
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Unable to book a room closer to school, we opted for this B&B in Chambersburg, about 25 minutes away. Roger greeted us when we arrived and we were shown to our room.

The room was elegantly appointed, in keeping with Victoriana, and quite comfortable. There were refreshments in the mini-fridge, and snacks available upon our arrival - quite a nice touch if you are not across the street from a mini-mart or other establishment. We slept quite soundly in the comfy bed and the bathroom, while decorated according to the period, was modern and very nice.

Next morning we were treated to banana loaf, generous fruit salad, and hot coffee, tea or decaf. Barbara cooked omelets to order and they were filling and delicious. The company at breakfast was engaging and enjoyable as well.

Although for our purposes the location was somewhat removed, we would highly recommend the Craig Victorian B& as a warm and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My small dog and I stayed at the Craig Victorian on 10/13 & 14/2012. The house is beautifully decorated and rooms quite large. Mine had a large Jacuzzi tub + a separate shower. Roger and his daughter were very welcoming and their small dogs (which were kept to the staff area) friendly with mine. There's a nice fountain in the front which adds a soothing touch to the scene with large shade trees and neighboring houses which are just as beautiful. The inn is only a few minutes from a great restaurant downtown - Bistro 71 - which Roger recommended and I concur. Breakfasts were delicious - waffles one day, an omelet the other. Be aware, though, that it's on US 11, which is the main street out of town, and traffic can be a little noisy. This is certainly no fault of the inn, just that if you're in a front room and a light sleeper, you might want to close the windows or request a room not facing the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NealH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander City, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Craig Victorian, 10-10-2012, we were welcomed into a beautiful home and immediately made to feel "at home". Our room's were spacious, tastefully decorated, and most of all quite and comfortable.
Our breakfast was special, with fresh fruit, homemade banana nut bread, french toast (with hot maple syrup), eggs, and ham. Who could ask for more.
If we get a chance this will definitely be a repeat stop.
Really a great stay, and exceptional value!
Again Thanks,
Jim and Lucy Fuller

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I spend our anniversary at this bed n breakfast....great host and great food.....love this place ...great memories....enjoy it every year...roger and barb are the best....never stay anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyleatherton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

From the wonderful hospitality, the gorgeous and large rooms, comfortable beds, and the most delicious breakfasts, it was all wonderful! So much more than a B&B! The Craig has numerous sitting areas to gather with friends or just sit back on a large front porch and read.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My stay at the beautiful Craig Victorian was perfect! The home is gorgeous, elegant but comfortable. But the highlight of the experience was the hosts, a very welcoming, gracious couple. I stayed in the Forget me Knot Room,, very cozy and relaxing. And the breakfast were sublime. I rarely ate lunch because I was so satisfied from my delicious breakfast! Chambersburg is very convenient to Gettysburg and the many other historical and outdoor attractions in the area. I will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeline1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
#1 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Chambersburg
Clarion Inn Chambersburg
#16 of 16 in Chambersburg
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Craig Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 756 Philadelphia Avenue, Chambersburg, PA 17201 (Formerly Shultz's Victorian Mansion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Victorian home located along a tree-lined street of gracious homes in the north end of Chambersburg was built in 1880 by John Watson Craig(1830-1908). Guests are welcomed to large, pleasant, air-conditioned bedrooms. The mansion's porches, patios and lawn are available for guest relaxation. The mansion features three large common rooms with fireplaces and a dining room on the first floor. 19th-century architecture and intricate wood carving is found throughout the mansion, from the corner turret to the elaborately designed and crafted foyer and open staircase leading to the third floor. A family collection of antiques enhance the richness of the mansion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing