We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grungy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grungy”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I don't think I've ever given a Marriott property less than a good to excellent rating, but this one deserves a fair rating. I stayed here June 20, 2013. I didn't have a bad experience, but I found the hotel a bit grungy. The personnel was pleasant and my room ended costing less (I had reserved a king room and they changed it to a double), which was good. My issue was that the hotel felt grungy. Even my 10 year old mentioned that it wasn't clean. The hallway and elevator seemed as if they had not been vacuumed for a while. Normally, when I enter a Marriott property, it smells fresh and clean. Not the case here. The room was dated, the bathroom really small and the sink area was not inside the bathroom. The sink did not appear to have been scrubbed, maybe just quickly wiped down after the last guests left. The room just did not feel clean. Thankfully, I carry cleaning supplies. The bed felt clean, but the room carpet did not. I did not sleep well. Not sure if it was the bed or the grungy appearance of the room. Breakfast was ok, your typical Marriott continental breakfast. The price was good, under a hundred, but I won't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnOpinionatedPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie F, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
I do sincerely apologize for your experience at our hotel. We have made changes to staffing our staffing in housekeeping and if you notice it has made a difference. We are going through complete renovations at the end of the year and would love you to stay with us again. Please feel free to call me or email me so that we could discuss your concerns further.

Thank you again and I hope to hear from you soon,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    39
    18
    16
See reviews for
49
49
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Little River
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is the first time I have ever stayed at a Marriott hotel where my bed was not comfortable. I had my choice of two double beds or one double bed for the same price. I took the one double bed. I felt the price should have been less than the $100 I spent.

The room was OK. Nothing special for furniture or size. But it was very clean. However, my bed had some kind of pad on it that bunched up during tossing and turning at night and became very uncomfortable. Therefore, I did not sleep well.

Staff was pleasant and gave me a list of restaurants in the area. I was on a trip and when I came back that way, I chose a Country Inn & Suites, which was way superior to this hotel for the same money and a nicer breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyBusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay. We are planning on going through a complete renovation hopefully by the end of the year and would love for you to stay with us. I understand that does not change the fact that the bed was uncomfortable and you did not sleep well, however I truly hope that you will stay with us in the future and allow us to make this up you. Please contact me via email or by phone so that I can ensure your stay would be up to the Marriott standards we all expect.

Thank you,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dre11434
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

So it's a Marriott in the middle of nowhere. I wasn't expecting the Ritz but neither was I expecting a Super 8. The room was very shabby and for some reason I was given a wheelchair access room which was very weird given that I didn't request one. The noise on the air unit competed with the passing trucks for loudest in the town. The breakfast was blah, save yourself some time and stop by sheets up the road. Having said all of that, the staff was very nice and friendly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dre11434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chambersburg hotels

Pgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just an average hotel. Room was clean, breakfast was good. A little overpriced in my opinion.
Bed/pillows just ok. Nice deck outside of the pool area. Would recommend for a short stay but not an extended period of time. Good location; near lots of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiemoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

For thirteen years we have used the Fairfield as our "residence" while visiting family in the greater Chambersburg area. Spent two nights this and helped them discover a door key lock with dead batteries. Moved to another room . . . clean, fresh and quiet. Staff has turned over but the new folks are gracious and more than helpful. Breakfast as usual a wide variety but still no "biscuits and gravy!" Thanks for another grand stay and special thanks for upgrading the fitness center!

Room Tip: Choose upper floor - Room 316 was very pleasant and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were large, staff was friendly and accommodating and everything was clean. The location was excellent as well. It was seconds from Interstate 81 and various restaurants. The breakfast was ok - attendant in hand the whole time refilling when needed. It was fine for me and my husband and saved us a few bucks instead of stopping somewhere on the way. I'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlovers616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June 2013. Parking lot was large enough to park our truck and 20' trailer. Very well lit. I requested room on front side of hotel so we could see our trailer. She was happy to accomodate me. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel has indoor pool and has clean rooms. Beds and pillows slept well. They provide breakfast but Cracker Barrell and Bob Evans are both next door. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Address: 1122 Wayne Ave, I-81 at Exit 14, Chambersburg, PA 17202-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chambersburg Hotel Chambersburg
Fairfield Chambersburg
Chambersburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing