We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pictures are deceiving” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Chalk Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Pictures are deceiving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The pictures of this 'Lodge' are great online, but there is not a lodge to be found on the property. The rooms look like storage sheds and the room numbers written on the doors with chalk. The decks on the rooms are nice that overlook the pond, which overlooks the main road beyond. The one perk was that when we decided to not waste our money and stay the night, they voided our reservation and gave us a refund.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 157JMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    31
    18
    13
See reviews for
32
55
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family returnion is in Connellsville, and we have stayed at the Lodge at Chalk Hill in August for the past five years. We find the staff, especially, Gita, very helpful and accommodating. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very adequate for our purposes.

This year we brought our dog, Morris with, and I did not find out until I arrived that only the "600" section is used for guests with pets. It is definitely understandable, but my husband, daughter and I were looking forward to staying in our favorite room: 201. We were, however, delighted that we got to see that section of the property; for the number of times we've stayed, we had no idea there was a really huge "fire pit" availble, with two picnic tables, and a pretty dilapidated swing set--which my daughter still enjoyed! My husband made a lovely fire, and also made dinner--cheeseburgers, that were absolutely scrumptious.

The lake on the property provides great fishing for locals and guests, alike. I caught a beautiful 12 inch large mouth bass; which was the envy of my fishing buds. However, if you just want to sit on the deck and watch the lake; with Rt. 40 in view as well, it is still quite relaxing. We are planning another trip in October and we'll definitely stay at the Lodge.

For a great deal, comfortable beds, with no hustle and bustle for miles around, you can't beat the Lodge at Chalk Hill!! Thanks, Gita!

Room Tip: We enjoy the corner units best (101, 201, etc.)--they're a bit more private; just having other g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beethoven3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My father and I stopped here to visit Fallingwater on our way to moving me from MA to New Orleans (we were in the room basically just to sleep). The room we stayed in was clean, but certainly nothing fancy. The real difference between this being an average and a good stay was attention to detail; i.e. no channel guide, wi-fi only in the main building, loose wallpaper corners, weatherstripping. To us it just showed a lack of effort to fix the small stuff. The continental breakfast had a decent spread (though no decaf coffee). The price was pretty good (got AAA discount) and it was 15min-ish from Fallingwater. For a longer stay it seemed to have a little deck and decent view from each room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EEG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a last minute trip for some much needed quiet time in Ohiopyle and a visit to Kentuck Knob. I found the room to be adequate, even surprised to find a full kitchen of supplies (much needed silverware when I brought back take-out dinner). My room was very quiet, I enjoyed the deck overlooking the pond. There's a lot of traffic on 40 just beyond the pond, but it was not a big deal. The price was right, the owner was very friendly. I would stay again, but will likely try some of the other accomodations when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swandive208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Lodge is located on a semi-wooded property containing a large pond suitable for fishing (and birding during migratory seasons). The rooms are cabin-like, not luxurious but clean and comfortable, each with a small patio. This was our first visit, and we chose to stay here because of its nearness to our primary destinations, Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. But we liked the place and would come back just to enjoy the bucolic, laid-back atmosphere and to enjoy the view from the deck behind the main building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have been visiting Fayette County for years and usually stay at the Lodge at Chalk Hill, There is not many other hotels in the area unless you stay in Uniontown and drive up an down the mountain everyday to visit the local attractions: Ohiopyle, Falling Water, etc. But the Lodge is adequate and fairly clean. I agree with other reviewers that a fresh coat of paint is long overdue on the decking; we bought our own folding chairs. It is very relaxing to sit on the deck in the morning and have a cup of coffee. Breakfast is typical and basic: bagels, toast, coffee, juice, but little else, so enjoy one of the local restaurants in the area for a full breakfast selection. The room's door is on the outside and the step up into the room is somewhat steep, which many be a challenge for some.

Directly across the road is a small diner (Brick Oven) which should be avoided unless you are desperate; overpriced for the poor quality food and the service is terrible. The waitress served my wife's breakfast, but forgot that I also ordered as well. Huh? Apologies are hollow on an empty stomach. Inexcusable for any restaurant! There are much better dining options in the area. About a mile East on Route 40 is Braddock's Inn which has a very good breakfast, especially during Buckwheat Pancake season in the Fall and Winter. (Months with an "R"). Another 8 miles East on Route 40 is The Lone Star Restaurant and Chet's Cafe, both OK for breakfast. Best dinner in the area is Fabrizzi's Italian Restaurant near Jumonville. Family owned for 60 years or so and the homemade pasta is very good, so is the gravy. My wife and I had dinner there one evening and watched the hummingbirds feed on the porch. There is a Subway within a mile of the Lodge for a quick meal.

Room Tip: Buildings 1, 2, and 3 are on a small lake with a walking path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandt1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

great place with comfortable nice and clean rooms. Affordable price and addition of breakfast was great. My kids loved fishing in the lake. Helpful and friendly staff with direction. Def. will stay again in few months!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalk Hill
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
13.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
8.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#6 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uniontown
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Uniontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chalk Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chalk Hill

Property: The Lodge at Chalk Hill
Address: 2920 National Pike, Box 240, Route 40 East, Chalk Hill, PA 15421
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chalk Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chalk Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Chalk Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Chalk Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chalk Hill Hotel Chalk Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing