We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
27
51
35
19
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
51
35
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge pondbasic accommodationroom was cleanfalling water and kentuck knoblaurel highlandsthe free continental breakfastwi fivery pleasant staylady luck casinoaccommodationsmicrowavecabinmarylandfixturesconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 148 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Lodge is located on a semi-wooded property containing a large pond suitable for fishing (and birding during migratory seasons). The rooms are cabin-like, not luxurious but clean and comfortable, each with a small patio. This was our first visit, and we chose to stay here because of its nearness to our primary destinations, Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. But we liked the place and would come back just to enjoy the bucolic, laid-back atmosphere and to enjoy the view from the deck behind the main building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have been visiting Fayette County for years and usually stay at the Lodge at Chalk Hill, There is not many other hotels in the area unless you stay in Uniontown and drive up an down the mountain everyday to visit the local attractions: Ohiopyle, Falling Water, etc. But the Lodge is adequate and fairly clean. I agree with other reviewers that a fresh coat of paint is long overdue on the decking; we bought our own folding chairs. It is very relaxing to sit on the deck in the morning and have a cup of coffee. Breakfast is typical and basic: bagels, toast, coffee, juice, but little else, so enjoy one of the local restaurants in the area for a full breakfast selection. The room's door is on the outside and the step up into the room is somewhat steep, which many be a challenge for some.

Directly across the road is a small diner (Brick Oven) which should be avoided unless you are desperate; overpriced for the poor quality food and the service is terrible. The waitress served my wife's breakfast, but forgot that I also ordered as well. Huh? Apologies are hollow on an empty stomach. Inexcusable for any restaurant! There are much better dining options in the area. About a mile East on Route 40 is Braddock's Inn which has a very good breakfast, especially during Buckwheat Pancake season in the Fall and Winter. (Months with an "R"). Another 8 miles East on Route 40 is The Lone Star Restaurant and Chet's Cafe, both OK for breakfast. Best dinner in the area is Fabrizzi's Italian Restaurant near Jumonville. Family owned for 60 years or so and the homemade pasta is very good, so is the gravy. My wife and I had dinner there one evening and watched the hummingbirds feed on the porch. There is a Subway within a mile of the Lodge for a quick meal.

Room Tip: Buildings 1, 2, and 3 are on a small lake with a walking path.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandt1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

great place with comfortable nice and clean rooms. Affordable price and addition of breakfast was great. My kids loved fishing in the lake. Helpful and friendly staff with direction. Def. will stay again in few months!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking lake!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Have been a frequent visitor to Chalk Hill Lodge and this is the first review I’ve written. Chalk hill Lodge is a quant retro style motor lodge that is clean although a bit worn. The decks overlooking the lake are beautiful for morning coffee or a drink at sunset. Well kept grounds with a walking trial around the lake. Friendly courteous staff. A great value! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonylexky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel was a great value for the price. We booked on short notice and had a good night's rest. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, and bathroom was clean and worked well. The microwave and refrigerator were very useful.

The grounds of the hotel were well kept, but each room has a deck facing a very nice pond. The deck has not seen a coat of paint or stain in many years, the white plastic chairs were so dirty they were green, and the screen door to the deck was full of holes, letting in enough bugs that it could not be used.

If the outside was as kept as well as the inside the rating would have been much higher.

Room Tip: The 700 block of rooms is not near the pond. All others are along the pond - a good view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews