We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
27
52
35
19
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
52
35
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private deck large pond basic accommodation room was clean falling water and kentuck knob the free continental breakfast laurel highlands wi fi spent two nights very pleasant stay lady luck casino accommodations microwave refinished cabin maryland maywood
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 150 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The room was musty and smelled like an ash tray. The refrigerator had mold and was disgusting. We went to sit on the deck, however, the chairs and table were filthy. The last guest used the table for an ash tray. Also the table only had three legs and was unusable. The TV only got about 5 channels and reception was bad. Both beds were very uncomfortable the bed spreads had stains and burn holes. The hair dryer did not work there was not soap in the soap dispenser. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Wonderful setting in the middle of woodlands with its own lake. Perfectly placed to visit Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob houses which are both stunning. Cabin itself a little basic but you should not be wanting to spend too much time in it! We arrived in snow and there were very few people staying at this time so it felt a little like a ghost town but in high season it would be buzzing. Great value and a great centre to explore wonderful Pennsylvania.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sooperstar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The photos of the motel are misleading due to the rooms appearing larger and nicer than the pictures.

The beds in room 201 need to be replaced as the mattresses are sagging. The towels appear to be well used like for 20 to 100 years. However the room was clean, but I would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mawae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a great area, close to Falling Water and river rafting. My son and I stayed at the Lodge at Chalk Hill - the reception desk welcome was rather cool, but the room was fine. It's right off the road, but set back enough so that it was quiet. The breakfast was okay, but the bare minimum (plain bagels, limited cereal selection) and not very inspiring.

We ate dinner at the Summit Inn, which was good. While I didn't stay at the Summit, it appeared nice. The Lodge at Chalk Hill was okay for us, and probably as good as anything in Ohiopyle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have no clue where the people stayed at but there's no way it was the Lodge at Chalk Hill. As soon as I opened the door the carpet was filthy and a pungent odor poured out. The "white" towels in the bathroom were brown. There were stains all over the sheets, the walls were filthy, the sliding door to the patio was broken, and the front door looked like someone had tried to break it open. It was so bad we demanded a refund 5 minutes after we walked in. They gave it to us along with no apology. Do not stay here...run as fast as you can!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adyoung8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews