We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful displays of Byers Choice dolls”

Byers' Choice Christmas Gallery
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Chalfont
Attraction details
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Beautiful displays of Byers Choice dolls”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

There is a film when you first enter which tells you about how Bob and Joyce Byer started the business. After that you stroll through a street and several Christmas galleries decorated with Byers Choice dolls that look the like the London described by Charles Dickens. The attention to detail is amazing. If you visit Monday through Friday, you an go up a few steps and watch the dolls being handcrafted by employees who are truly artists as no two dolls are exactly the same in their facial expressions. There is also a big room displaying Christmas crèches and nativity scenes from around the world. The gift shop has a huge selection of Byers Choice dolls along with other high quality items. There is no admission fee.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank treeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful Byers experience”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

OK, I admit it... I was all Bah Humbug before I arrived at the Byers Choice Christmas Gallery in the middle of a very hot June. However, I was immediately overcome by the sheer artistry of the products. Gallery after themed gallery of cute, expertly manufactured, colourful dolls, all carolling away to their heart's content (although as a Scot I feel I should point out that the Scotsman doll's kilt is more akin to a full-length skirt - the tradition is that the kilt hem should just touch the ground and no more when kneeling!!). Anyway, we had a wonderful afternoon wandering through the galleries and saying No to my family's impassioned pleas to buy a doll in each one. Really worth a visit to view such craftspersonship.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas Wonderland”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Byers is a company that Is known for it's handcrafted Caroler dolls. They have set up villages to display their dolls. If you like Christmas, you need to stop here. If your timing is right, you can even view them making the dolls. Byers also has special events throughout the year. Other high-rated remarks about this attraction are true.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PA_Pat_in_Chalfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stop regardless of the time of year”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This Christmas Museum and Gallery is exceptionally well laid out and is real fun for any age. I have visited it quite a few times for events and just to share it with visitors to our home. The London street scene is just fun and make sure you bring your camera to take some photos of your and your friends and family costumed in their period English garb. The tour showing you how the Byer's Carolers are made is very interesting. Last but certainly not least is the gift shop featuring the famous Byer's Carolers as well as other very high quality items from around the world. It's a great stop or destination if you are in this part of the country.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
421 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“What an amazing winter wonderland, a must.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This place is awesome and a must if you live or are visiting the area, especially if you have children. Just rooms and rooms of Byers dolls set in different scenes it was just wonderful to see. At the end, there is a great store where you can make purchases of various great items. Again, a must see, especially at this time of year!!! The children will love it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byers' Choice Christmas Gallery also viewed

 
New Britain, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Byers' Choice Christmas Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing