We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food delivered as room service at Brandywine River hotel”

Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops
Reserve with OpenTable
Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Chadds Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Creek Road
Description: Located in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, Brandywine Prime is housed in a spectacular contemporary renovation of an historic 300 year old inn. The result is a modern American steakhouse specializing in preparations of fresh seafood and beef, and a modern Burger Bar with great happy hour specials. The old rooms at the Inn provide a perfect venue for rehearsals dinners, baby and bridal showers, private corporate events and intimate weddings from 10 to 100 guests.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Unfortunately they did not allow us to eat on the outside terrace with our dog, like the Gables did. But the room service option was good, unless you like wine with dinner. They do not deliver wine with the meal. But that said, the food was great. Delicious mushroom tart and very nice sauteed prawns with lobster risotto.
Be aware that the room service menu may not be the current restaurant menu. We stopped there first to pick up a menu and ordered from it, which was completely different than the one in the room.

Thank sanpanchocasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 337 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We've dined at Brandywine Prime before and have even stopped by for wine and dessert after dinner at home. It's always a great experience - as was our recent "friends dinner". The specials were fantastic, and everyone thought their meals were delicious, with the exception of a few who misunderstood what they ordered. Michael made it up to them and more - he is a class act. Everything about the place is awesome, from the historic & trendy decor to the knowledgeable and friendly waitstaff. Excellent place - much more than just a steakhouse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for the kind words on your Trip Advisor review. We hope to see you in again soon.

Michael

Owner, Brandywine Prime Seafood and Chops

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I have visited this restaurant twice in the past 6 months, for our anniversary and his birthday. We enjoyed the food both times, the waitstaff was very pleasant and informative. We will go again, but I recommend that you ask the price of the "specials" because they are not what I consider a special - we paid way more for a 10 ounce filet which was on special than the 8 ounce that was on the menu. I always thought a special was supposed to be a "deal". Boy were we surprised when we got the bill. Luckily we had a gift certificate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda19810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Sorry about the confusion with the special. The special filet is a prime cut, while the one on the menu is not, hence the increased price. It is good customers like you who keep us on our toes, reminding us to be diligent in explaining items at the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were invited to share in a special occasion and it was being held at the Brandywine Prime.
Due to different circumstances we were coming from out of town and wanted to grab a bite to eat before the festivities started. We chose to go to the bar area, not only to grab a bite to eat but to watch the World Cup.
When we sat down we were greeted by the Bartender who took our order and then told us that we are not able to order food before 4pm. By, that time it was 3:30pm so waiting a half hour would not be a problem. All we wanted to do is grab a small bite to hold us over…
Low and behold the Bartender gave us the wrong information and she informed us that they are not serving food until 5pm not 4pm. At this time, we started to see what was across the street because of what we were just told. As we were looking, another bartender came out and told us that he just spoke to the chef and he would put in an order for us to take care of our appetite.
We chose to order, the local mushroom tart and a Best of Philly Burger. Both were tasty and took care of our appetite. We always enjoy tasting something local.
My wife and I appreciate them taking the time to cook something before it was time to open the kitchen.

Next up was the festivities…
Everything was on point, the food was delicious, and the bartender was gracious and did a wonderful job in keeping our glasses filled.

My only negative:
On any special occasion why have your servers wear jeans? Just a simply pair of slacks would have been more appropriate and professional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chillaxin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Michael and his staff made our wedding dinner/celebration memorable, the room was beautifully set up, we were able to play music through the evening. The service and food was impeccable, all of our friends and family raved. We felt very special and not rushed and cannot wait to celebrate many times there in the future!

Thank 2014DEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for the kind words on your Trip Advisor review. We hope to see you in again soon. Congrats again on the wedding.

Michael

Owner, Brandywine Prime Seafood and Chops

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops also viewed

 

Been to Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing