We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Longwood gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaddsford Winery

Chaddsford Winery
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Chadds Ford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With a tradition dating back to 1982 and an annual production of over 30,000 cases of wine, Chaddsford Winery is among the oldest, largest, and most acclaimed wineries in Pennsylvania. Located in the beautiful Brandywine Valley, our goal is simple: craft approachable, food-friendly wines for every palate. Wine Tastings are offered seven days a week, and reservations are not required! However, groups of over 10 should call the winery to make sure we can accommodate your visit. Complimentary tours are offered at 11:30 AM and 2:30 PM on most Saturdays and Sundays. Be sure to check out our Events Calendar to see what fun, wine-centric event is happening this weekend! No outside alcohol or pets permitted.
Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to Longwood gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Right on route 1. Comfortable tasting room. Wines were good. People were friendly and knowledgeable about their wines. Price was reasonable & you get to keep the glass.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mainemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    26
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stopped in and did a wine tasting for $16 for the two of us. It included 2 glasses, 4 reds, 4 whites, and a couple specialty wines. We really enjoyed that it was a good variety of tastings. We did purchase 12 bottles and received a 10% discount. The woman who gave the tasting spoke about the wines and gave us good information as we tasted. We enjoyed the afternoon tasting and had a good bottle of wine to take with us to dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was on the Wine Trail tasting last Saturday. My experience here was very disappointing. The person who was pouring gave no information about the wines and he focused all of his attention on a young couple at the end of the bar. I had to actually ask for the next wines on the list. There were also four other people there who had to do the same. The other wineries were great and very attentive. I ended up not purchasing anything at this winery and I will probably not go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice few hours to spend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a nice day so we decided to make the trip and do the winetasting. You can buy a glass to sample all the wines for $5 a person, or just sample a few for free. The staff was professional and knowledgeable about the wines. It just wasn't designed for you to spend any length of time there. A few seats, small bar. We had to finally push our way in to get our sample due to the volume of people, but the staff did their best to get to you.

We eventually purchased a wine that was reasonable and sat outside by the fire pit. The crowd there was mainly in their late 20's to early 30's. There were some couples with small children (under 2) sitting at the picnic tables in a separate area.

The store inside is very nice. They do sell food from a caterer onsite, but you must bring cash.

This was a nice few hours out, but nothing that made it over the top. I think it is better when they have real events and bands.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJean316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff & Reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Price of wine tasting includes Chadds Ford Winery glass. Staff wa very friendly and knowledgable. Wine prices were very reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaddsford Winery also viewed

 

Been to Chaddsford Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing