We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average & Overpriced”
Review of Hank's Place

Hank's Place
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Chadds Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average & Overpriced”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Met a friend for lunch recently in this VERY noisy restaurant and the food is so-so, just average, and it's overpriced! I had a Reuben sandwich which was saturated with sauce--too soggy to pick up--the entire sandwich required a knife and fork. Crinkle cut fries were bland and just barely warm. The coleslaw was delicious, but served in a tiny cup--maybe a good tablespoon at most. The Diet Coke ($2.50 a glass!) was excellent! My friend had some type of grilled wrap which she said was delicious. We each had a slice of pie ($5.00 a slice!) to wrap up the meal. This place is very popular and has excellent wait staff but they're pushing prices into rip-off range.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BassetH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    172
    50
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
greenville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Locals All Time Favorite”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hank's Place is a locals all time favorite for breakfast, lunch & dinner. It is a casual family style restaurant in the heart of a beautiful historic district. So popular in fact, there are often long waiting lines for breakfast on weekends, unless you arrive early. There are homestyle specials everyday. I recommend the Kennett Square Shiitake and Portobello Mushroom & Cheese Omelet anytime of day. Be sure to explore and drive the backroads along Route 1 and visit the Chadds Ford Gallery featuring Wyeth prints, just footsteps away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mec534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale,PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a local diner family style restaurant. Prices were reasonable for the amount of food you receive. I got a Greek dish called Moussaka which came with a salad. It is usually in that it has allspice and nutmeg in the dish, which you can taste, but were not overwhelming. I thought it was very good. My husband got a mushroom strudel which came with a salad. The salad was just ok. The strudel was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0se1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE PRICE”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Food is ok but overpriced, and the wait to get in and to be served was way too long. We ordered breakfast and could not believe how much time it took to get two breakfast orders, but the bill came immediately. Our simple breakfast bill for two (before tip) came to $32.55 - this is not a reasonable price for waffles and eggs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mycloudj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIETTE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Longwood Gardens Trip”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We saw this place on our way to Longwood Gardens and were impressed with the flowers in and around the restaurant. Decided to try it on our way out of town. The wait was a little longer than expected but the food was excellent and well worth the wait. Would definitely go back for another meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WANDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hank's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing