We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Breakfast Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hank's Place

Hank's Place
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Chadds Ford
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We met friends for breakfast. I had the peach french toast (peach bread topped with peaches). Super tasty. The service was just okay and the decor is very diner-esque. Would definitely go back for breakfast. Note: CASH ONLY

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMel_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    160
    49
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go early for breakfast, and get the fruit french toast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went on the early side (around 9 am Memorial Day), waited about 10 minutes, and ate a great meal. The french toast is made with fruit bread, then topped with fresh fruit compote (strawberries) and whipped cream - just terrific. The corned beef hash, biscuits, muffins, eggs -- all good. Service was a little brusque but the food came out fast and was fairly priced. What more could you want?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siouxieWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good If You Don't Mind Waiting In Line”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

As others have mentioned here, there can be a long line at busy times. I knew that, so they don't lose points for the wait.

We went to Hank's at lunchtime on Memorial Day, 2013. As predicted, there was a line, but it didn't take too long - maybe 10 minutes or so. We could have gotten in sooner if we were willing to sit at the counter.

The food here is good, and it tastes like they use quality ingredients and cook with care. I had the Philly cheese steak, and it tasted like my mother had made it for me. That is both the good news and the bad news. Sometimes, you just want a greasy, messy cheese steak that you know is like a heart attack on a plate.

My wife had the eggs benedict with chipped beef. Even the creamed chipped beef was good. Her home fried potatoes were improved by the flavor of having been cooked on the grill with bacon. There's never any problem with bacon-flavored home fries!

This is a very busy place, but the servers are good and we did not have to wait too long for our lunch. The bathroom facilities are very clean, but small so sometimes there is a line for the bathrooms, too.

You have to remember to bring good, old-fashioned American cash, because they don't accept any kind of plastic here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PokeYerNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the stop--or even the trip if it's out of your way!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Amazing breakfasts in some of the most beautiful country on the East Coast. It's where the affluent go for incredible diner food (at diner prices). I've been going there for 30 years, and I've routinely seen both Andrew and Jamie Wyeth sitting at the counter there along with Joe Biden a few times. Expect a wait of 30 minutes or so on weekends (the people are friendly... ask them what to do in the area, and the 30 minutes will fly by).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Low key, diner atmosphere, good food with many specials. Great breakfast. Highly recommend for those not looking for fancy. You are there when you see the beautiful flowers!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sat617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Place also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing