We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch.”

Gables At Chadds Ford
Reserve with OpenTable
Gables At Chadds Ford is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Chadds Ford
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brintons Bridge Rd.
Transit: No public transportation available.
Description: The Gables at Chadds Ford is situated on land that was originally part of a 138 acre land grant from William Penn to Brinton King. Around 1745, a pre-Revolutionary style house was built on the property. This was one of the first homes to be built in Pennsbury Township. For the next 100 plus years, the property operated as a working farm and quietly became part of the Brandywine Valley’s history. The route along Route One is well known to have housed numerous stops for the Underground Railroad during the Civil War. It has been suspected that the King house may have been one of these stops.The house was renovated in the late 1800s by George C. King, son of Brinton King. He adopted the popular Victorian style by adding wrap around porches and twenty three gables. Two of the four original chimneys from the pre-Revolutionary style home are still visible. In March of 2002, the house was placed on the National Historic Register.The bank barn was built in 1897, and the farm became a traditional dairy farm until the late 1940s. The barn then reincarnated into Dario’s Dairy Bar and General Store. Dario’s featured Elsie the Borden Cow on the side of the building. By the 1960s, the site became the Country Kettle, a home-style diner many Chadds Ford residents may remember.The restaurant features the original frame, steel-framed doors and windows, and Benheim restoration glass. The banquet room is accented with a stunning wall of French windows and is crowned with an antique chandelier. The name for the restaurant was derived from the large number of gables, (gable n. the triangular upper part of an outside wall, between sloping roofs), that are featured on both the Victorian House and the restaurant.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing lunch experience, choose one of the small tables with comfy armchairs next to the windows in the bar area. We generally prefer lunch to dinner here. The food is excellent although portions are small and prices are high. But for a special occasion lunch, it's delightful. Server Mindy is attentive and friendly. Our soups, salads and wraps were great, but next time we would skip the dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aydenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our restaurant. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your dining experiences with us. I am sorry that you think the prices are high and portions are small. Since your review, we have hired a new chef and changed all of our menus, so we now have a wider range of options with reasonable prices. Our dessert menu has also changed, so I encourage you to try one on your next visit. We look forward to having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 303 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

It has been a number of years since our last dinner at “The Gables”. We wanted to try the effect of new ownership, and it was one of few places offering Venison. The dining room was warmer and friendlier than I remembered. The parking lot is paved and marked but “in and out” from/to busy US1 continues to be a challenge. Also, the walkway to the entrance was a challenge for me and my cane. Food was cooked as ordered and very good. Our server was knowledgeable, attentive and seemed as frustrated as we were with the slowness of the kitchen. It took over 20 minutes for our first courses, a slice of pate and a house salad, to be served. Overall, the visit was a nice experience with some rough spots. We may go back for Venison next fall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

First, thank you so much for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience dining with us. I am sorry to hear that your service was slow. We certainly want our guests to enjoy a relaxing meal with us, but we don't want you to feel frustrated waiting for your food. We have hired a new chef and changed all of our menus since your last visit, so we would love to have you see us again before the fall! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Gables has a beautiful facility, with separate comfortable bar, warm dining room and tranquil patio (that is until the small bridal shower was over, and the banquet staff shucked down to their t-shirts and start clunking tables and chair back in place).

My warm Crab Dip with a little Jalapeno zip, was very good. My wife's Shrimp Po'Boy had 4 shrimp that were lost in the large roll (It would have been better to have smaller roll). Food was pretty good. Our server was attentive, but the other staff certainly needs some training on respect to the diners. Our server noticed here co-workers conduct and corrected it.....Good for her!

The restaurant is situated very close to busy Rt. 1, but they do a good job of isolating themselves and the noise. OK experience, but I won't go out of my way to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoadTripper516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. It is our goal to ensure that each of our guests has a relaxing and enjoyable experience. I am sorry to read that you felt some of our staff were disrespectful. Please be assured that we do not tolerate this type of behavior from our staff and have dealt with it accordingly.
We certainly would like for you to return to see us again. We have hired a new chef since your last visit and changed all of our menus, so we would love to have to come see what's new! I would like to offer you a gift certificate to use towards your next visit. If you are interested, we can mail you one or you may print out this response and bring it with you on your next visit with us, whichever would be easier for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We decided to take my mom out for a nice dinner Saturday night. We were seated rather quickly but were told that they ran out off menus so we would have to share one until they were able to round up 2 more. We then all three had the gables salad for $10! You were served about a half a cup of lettuce with some blue cheese crumbles,nuts and fruit. The salad was delicious but needed about 2 more cups of lettuce to even be worth half the price. My husband ordered the NY strip steak. This was delicious. My filet came and was mediocre at best. My poor mom had ordered the pork with rice and some type of beans. Absolutely horrible! There was a spice that made the entire dinner smell like dirty socks. She complained and the waitress did take it off the bill. Forget trying dessert. It took over an hour to even get drink refills! The table next to us couldn't even get a basket of bread. They were told at 7:30 pm that the kitchen ran out. We would never return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beachmg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

I am so sorry to hear you had such a bad experience at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on using fresh, local ingredients, and as a part of the hospitality industry, it is our goal to make every guest feel welcome and happy. I am disappointed to hear you were unhappy with your meal and the timing of the service. Since your last visit, we have hired a new chef and changed all of our menus. We would love to have to come see us again, and we will do our best to make your dining experience a pleasant one. Please accept our offer of a gift certificate to use towards your next visit. We can mail it to an address of your choice, or you can print out this review and present it to the hostess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The piano bar at Gables is a great place to stop in for a drink and a meal at the bar. The restaurant is beautiful but the service and the food lack consistency. We went the other night for my birthday - the conversation was wonderful and everything on the menu looked yummy. The three of us each chose a different selection from the special Restaurant Week menu. The salad with blue cheese vinagrette was fabulous but the mushroom and squash soups lacked punch, the shrimp was good but the pistachio chicken was overcooked, the carrot puree was outstanding and the crab cake was very good, the steak was great as was the pork chop. The service was very good at first except that the waiter couldn't answer questions about the specials, didn't refill water glasses and failed to take away empty wine glasses and plates - he seemed to lose interest. Overall the meal was good but not great. Sad because Gables used to be one of our favorite places for a martini and a great meal. We will have to go back again to see if this was a one off experience. One thing that hasn't changed is that it is way too dark - if you have any trouble reading, bring a flashlight to navigate the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our restaurant. As a part of the hospitality industry, it is our goal to make sure our guests enjoy their entire visit. I am sorry to hear that some of your party did not enjoy their food, and that the service was not up to par. Since you last visited us, we have hired a new chef and changed all of our menus. We would love for you to visit us again so that we may have the chance to "wow" you. We can mail you a gift certificate if you would like to take us up on the offer, or you can print out this review and present it to the hostess, whichever would work better for you. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gables At Chadds Ford also viewed

 

Been to Gables At Chadds Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing