We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay Convient to all the Brandywine area has to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay Convient to all the Brandywine area has to offer”
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Very inviting and comfortable B&B ... close to all the attractions. Rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is outstanding and the innkeepers offer advice and guidance to local attractions, restaraunts, etc.. They offer afternoon tea and a few snacks which is nice after a long day of travel or visiting the attractions. Rooms located in the Carriage house and Spring house are quiet and private. The innkeepers are outstanding, very approachable and sincerely want you to enjoy your visit to the Brandywine area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLux2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    63
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
28
187
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We travelled from Australia specifically to visit this area to see the works of Andrew Wyeth. We stayed for two nights at the Fairville Inn during our visit to the Brandywine Valley and couldn't fault the service and hospitality offered by the inn. We booked one of the rooms in the main house and found our room spacious and charmingly appointed with lovely country style fabrics and clean fresh linens. Our bathroom and closet area was very spacious and everything that we could have needed was available. We were shown to our room by one of the staff, Kim, who took time to point out all that we might need and how to operate the TV along with a helpful guide of the relevant TV channels (good for us as international visitors who are unfamiliar with the cable channels). As the weather was quite warm, they had thoughtfully cooled the room prior to our arrival. Afternoon tea was provided each day and it was a dainty selection of home-baked treats, cheese and biscuits and fresh hot tea or iced tea as the weather was unseasonly warm. The breakfast area /tea area was also pleasantly decorated and there was an adjacent central lounge area with lots of magazines and comfy seating with a big fireplace that would be cosy in cold weather. The grounds were also very pretty with lovely spring gardens and places to sit in the gardens overlooking a meadow and little lake. It is exactly as it looked on the website. Breakfast each morning was juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereal along with a different set of choices each morning for a hot dish that included freshly made omelette or pancakes which were delicious. Coffee and tea was plentiful. We were given plenty of help from the staff and the owner, Laura, with directions to Valley Forge and other more local attractions such as Longwood and the Brandywine Museum. We were also given help with local restaurants and they had an extensive book with menus for local places. The staff even helped us print out emails on their office computer that we needed for other parts of our trip and were interested each day in what we had done. Our stay at the Fairville Inn and in this part of Pennsylvania was one of the highlights of our trip. It was everything we hoped for and a very pleasant and relaxing taste of American country life to contrast with our big city stays in New York and Washington.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2x2KINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Nice pictures on the web site, but did not come close to living up to expectations. Room had paper thin walls. Could here the people above us walking, talking and even using the bathroom!!! The room was supplied with a TINY TV that you couldn’t see while lounging on the most uncomfortable bed. The staff was very cold and not friendly and all. Breakfast was pathetic --- one dish was too dry while the other wasn’t cooked all the way threw. The inn was not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamielynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper506, Owner/Innkeeper at Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Ouch. This was one very unhappy camper. We work very hard every day to provide our guests with exceptional accommodations, breakfasts, and personal service. We believe the many positive comments we receive from our guests, including those posted on this and other websites attest to our success in doing so.

The pictures of our rooms and grounds on our website are true and accurate. Guests often tell us that their room exceeded their expectations. Occasionally, it does happen that a guest is disappointed. Recently, a guest reserved Main House Room #1 when she meant to reserve Carriage House Room #1 (one of our deluxe rooms). When she arrived, she was upset that her room did not have a fireplace or separate sitting area. Once we figured out the problem, we were able to move her to the room she intended to reserve (and did not charge her the difference in price). Whether the guest who wrote this comment meant to reserve another room, we don’t know.

The walls of our rooms are certainly not paper thin. It rarely happens, but sometimes guests in an adjacent room are less than courteous of their neighbors. If this was the case, we apologize on behalf of the offending guests. If we had been made aware of the situation, we would have gently and tactfully intervened to address the problem.

Each of our rooms has a flat-screen television. Some are larger than others, depending on the configuration of the room. The television in this room is 15-inches and is located in an armoire facing the bed. It may be small compared to the large screen TVs to which so many of us have become accustomed, but it is most certainly adequate for this room. (When shown the televisions, most of our guests indicate that they will not even be using them.)

The comment about the bed being uncomfortable is most puzzling. We have several repeat guests who specifically request this room because they like both the room and the bed. We do understand that a bed can be a very personal thing. Some people like them softer, others like them harder. (We recently had two sets of guests staying in another room on successive nights. One thought the bed was too hard, the other commented that the same bed was too soft.) Such is the life of an innkeeper.

The comment about the breakfast hurt the most. In the almost three years we have owned and operated the Fairville Inn, no one has even come remotely close to describing our breakfasts as “pathetic.” We constantly get glowing comments on our breakfasts and requests for recipes. Occasionally, we even get requests for second servings. While most B&Bs offer a single breakfast selection, we offer three hot selections each morning. On the morning in question, we offered a pear-pecan French toast soufflé; an oven omelet made with smoked ham, hash-browned potatoes, scallions, and Swiss cheese; and scrambled eggs (which our guests frequently praise as exceptional). The French toast soufflé, which is very popular with our guests, is crispy on the top with an interior texture that is similar to a bread pudding. Perhaps that is why the guest thought it undercooked. An oven omelet has a different texture (think “frittata”) than a regular pan omelet, but it certainly is not “dry,” especially considering the amount of cheese in this recipe. We received and appreciated very nice comments from other guests that morning about breakfast.

Almost all of our guests arrive with a good attitude, and are glad to be at the Inn. Sometimes, the day at the office or at home, or the drive to the Inn, may have made a guest a little tense or a bit cranky when they arrive We do everything we can to make our guests comfortable, attend to their needs, help them plan their stay, and find them the right places for lunch and dinner. Almost without exception they leave the Inn relaxed and in good spirits. With all due respect, it seems that the commenting guests were one of those rare exceptions. We are indeed sorry that they did not enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I loved every second of my visit to the Fairville Inn and eagerly await my next opportunity to enjoy some more. I arrived in a rainstorm, in the evening, and the warmth of the hosts and the hearth of the facility made me feel warm and at home. I was the only guest and I chatted easily, aided in large part by the extraordinary affection and irresistability of Ozzie, their friendly, calm dog.

Innkeeper Rick eventually showed me to my room, turned on the gas fire place, ensured all was working and tuned in Olympic skating for me. It took an effort not to fall asleep immediately in the embrace of the room. I managed to get ready for bed and slept delightfully -- best sleep in weeks. In the morning, the coffee and breakfast cheerfully galvanized me for the road and Ozzie's goodbye lick sealed the deal for my return.

~ Tom Squitieri

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalicniTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

If you like lovely, peaceful inns in a terrific location, this is it. Longwood Gardens and the other Brandywine museums, wineries, and gardens nearby make this the perfect inn to stay at while sightseeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My wife and I recently spent 2 delightful nights at the Inn. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The inn has tremendous charm and the service is first rate. We literally felt at home from the moment we arrived. The innkeepers had many excellent suggestions on restaurants and things to do. Finally, breakfast was a wonderful treat each morning. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ,England
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I are from England were staying in DC with our son and daughter in law this summer when they proposed a trip to the Brandywine Valley. We were amazed and delighted to find that the countryside was so similar to that of the English home counties and this lovely bed and breakfast was equal to a first class English Inn in terms of its setting and hospitality. The owners were gracious and thoughtful in the way they ran the hotel and accommodated their guests. We booked beautifully appointed rooms with a connecting balcony and were surprised by the elegant and comfortable four poster beds and the beautiful views from our rooms. Breakfast was exceptional especially in view of the fact that the chef grows many of his own vegetable and other ingredient and the menu was imaginitive and tasty. We only just began to see what the area had to offer including Longwood Gardens ( which rival the world famous Kew Gardens in London ) and the Brandywine Museum and we look forward to coming back to Fairville Inn next year .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 506 Kennett Pike, Route 52, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-9384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairville Hotel Chadds Ford
Fairville Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing