We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brandywine Valley Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewater, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brandywine Valley Charm”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Fairville Inn while exploring the Brandywine Valley for the first time. The Inn is charming. The owners/proprietors were warm, welcoming and very helpful with suggestions about the area's attractions (and there are many) and about the many choices of local restaurants. The Inn is centrally located to the big four attractions (DuPont's fabulous LONGWOOD GARDENS; WINTERTHUR - a former DuPont mansion now a 175 room museum of American antiques; BRANDYWINE RIVER MUSEUM- housing painting by three generations of Wyeths; and HAGLEY where the DuPont company got its start in the gunpowder business). Our room in the Carriage House was very nicely appointed, very quiet and featured our own private deck overlooking a peacefully landscaped lawn. Our room had fresh flowers. The breakfasts were good and tea and snacks were offered in the afternoon. Our stay was not long enough and we plan to return in the spring of 2014 to see this beautiful area in a different season.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House which was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_jlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    63
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
29
190
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Five of us stayed at the Fairville Inn recently for a couple of nights. It is a charming place near to sights such as Longwood Gardens and the Brandywine valley. The rooms are very attractive and comfortable. The breakfast (and the afternoon tea) were delicious, And the owners were very helpful, booking us tickets for the Barnes Collection, recommending a great local restaurant, and generally being good hosts. Strongly to be recommended.

Room Tip: We had rooms in the Carriage building which is further from the road and therefoe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were very pleased with this Inn. It was very welcoming, relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast, and very helpful in planning our stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean, and spacious. The Inn keepers are very gracious hostesses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordNew Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My sister and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Fairville Inn. We were in the Carriage House and room #3. The room was lovely and we enjoyed sitting out on the attached deck both nights listening to the sounds of Summer. A little wine from Penns Woods winery which is nearby and was a short scenic drive from the Inn made it even more relaxing. We loved spending 2 days at Longwood and also got to visit the Brandywine museum which has free admission before noon on Sundays. The Hagley Museum is also very close and is situated along the Brandywine River. Our tour of the home and grounds from 1802 was rewarding. We did not make it to Winterthur which is literally just up the road but will next time.

The Innkeepers, Laura and Rick, were friendly, helpful and very accommodating. We had dinner at Portabello's restaurant at their recommendation and we were very pleased. Our breakfast was tasty and the tea and snacks in the afternoon were also welcoming. Having Ozzie, their dog, on the premises added to the coziness of the Inn. We shall return!

Room Tip: Lovely stay in Carriage Room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeQ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va, usa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Two of my girl friends and I spent three lovely nights at the Fairville Inn last week. We were in Suite #2 in the Carriage House -- a well-appointed suite with king bed, single sleep sofa & sitting area with beautifully upholstered sofa & 2 chairs. There was also a small balcony overlooking the lovely grounds and a gas fireplace for use in-season. We found the ambiance delightful & enjoyed relaxing & visiting in the room after each of our day's activities.

Upon our late afternoon arrival the first day, we were warmly greeted by the young woman on duty, who told us we were in time to partake of the inn's daily tea (from 4-6). What a delightful treat -- lots of homemade goodies, cheese and crackers, iced tea & a wide selection of tea bags for hot tea. The quality of the pastries served at tea was a hint of what to expect at the breakfasts that Rick (one of the owners) prepares, which were yummy. Three choices are available at breakfast each day: we can attest to the quality of the pineapple almond pancakes, the french toast and the cranberry walnut pancakes.

Both Laura, Rick's wife, & Rick visited with us during our stay and were extremely helpful in directing us to good restaurants. They are very friendly & genuinely care that their guests have a good time during their visit.

The inn is perfectly located for visiting the sites in the Brandywine Valley. Longwood Gardens is only 10 minutes away, Winterthur 15. We spent so much time at those two sights that we did not make it to the Brandywine Museum, also nearby.

In conclusion, I give the inn 5 stars. My husband and I stay at country inns often, and this is one of the best I have ever visited. I hope to return with him soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexvaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just stayed at the Fairville Inn and found it just delightful. Our suite was charming, decorated so nicely, comfortable, slept 3 easily, and had a comfortable sitting nook. The food - breakfasts and afternoon tea - were all delicious, done by Rick one of the owners. Laura, the other owner, was extremely helpful in suggestions about what to do, where to eat, making reservations for us and generally just genuinely interested in our excursions. We agreed it was about the nicest place we had stayed over many years of trips together. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very accessible...delicious breakfast and snacks...ever so comfy bed...large room and bath..lovly front porch with rocking chairs..short walk from parking to the entrance..relaxing living area with free wifi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChurchHillGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
5.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 506 Kennett Pike, Route 52, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-9384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairville Hotel Chadds Ford
Fairville Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing