We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”

Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chadds Ford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Longwood B&B is just delightful. Nice suite -- two rooms + bathroom, including a cozy nook for reading. Delicious breakfast -- fruit, coffee, sausage and eggs, sweet potato pancakes, and more. The host (John) is friendly, helpful, and very knowledgable about local attractions. We had an amazing time.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Raphael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 40 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent room with a superb host who was friendly, attentive, and very helpful. John made our three night stay one of our best experiences with a b&b. Location is very good and convenient

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enohpi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Friendly, attentive, comfortable with a well appointed room, and a great breakfast to boot. A real bargain, just 1.0 mile from Longwood Gardens in a very tranquil setting in the Chadd's Ford/Brandywine area of PA. Overall a superb weekend

Room Tip: any room is good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My grandmother and I stayed at the Longwood Bed and Breakfast over the weekend and we had a great stay! It is less than 1 mile from Longwood Gardens (a MUST see! Just beautiful). We stayed in a 3 room suite, it was very clean and nice and big! We had a large bedroom, sitting area, and bathroom. The view looked over the peaceful backyard filled with many trees and a koi pond. John (owner) prepared breakfast each morning (one morning- pineapple and coconut bread along with a quiche and roasted asparagus, the next was an egg and veggie souffle with ham) all served alongside fresh fruit (blackberries, kiwi, cantalope, honeydew, peaches) and fresh coffee, OJ and tea. The other guests were also very pleasant and fun to talk to at breakfast. John (owner) was very knowledgeable about the area's history and suggested things to do. The price is very reasonable for this bed and breakfast and it felt as if we were staying at a friend's house!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shed28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The owner John is very calm, professional, and easy to talk to. He gladly escorted my fiancé and I around the carriage house and answered any questions we had. I went home and reserved online. In the form, there is a spot for special requests, in which I requested I be permitted to check in early on the day of my wedding, so I wouldn't have to wait until very late in the evening. I also wanted my mom and two sisters to come with me, help me put on my dress, and do our make up together. John had said this likely wouldn't be a problem, as we were getting a room mid week. A few days later I received a phone call in which a woman kept suggesting other B&B's, expressed her distaste for my failure to be up front about the check in time and the bridal party, stated it would be a liability concern to have other people in the room, and then insulted me when I asked what the check in time was anyway, in case I would like to stay but rearrange our plans, because "well, it's all over our website and I am certain my husband told you when you were here," as if I was not permitted to forget. I tried to explain that we are not having a traditional ceremony with lots of guests and I am quite flexible. But, she finally admitted she did not want me to stay there. She rudely assumed the details of my wedding and without even trying to accommodate me, she made me feel like I was out of line for making any special requests. I guess they should not have a "requests" box on the reservations!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

In our plans to visits Longwood Gardens we found Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn. My husband and I would highly recommend these accommodates for those in this area. Our Suite was very tastefully appointed and very comfortable. Great detail was given to provide the guest with detailed information on attractions and restaurants in the area. John the host served a delicious breakfast the next morning. Johns went out of his way to make sure that all our needs were met while allowing you to enjoy our personal privacy. My husband and I wish that we had planned to stay more than one night at the Inn. We will defintely stay here again,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eg1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Three of us stayed in the Winterthur Suite for five nights while attending my son's wedding, and wished we could have stayed longer. John was most accommodating, readily available but of sight in his own home, providing us tremendous privacy. The entire carriage house was extremely plush and fantastically neat and clean, with every amenity one could desire. Breakfasts were served at our choice of times and John provided us ample choices, serving fresh fruit and nut bread in addition to the main course. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the central air was quiet and responsive. One warm bug-free night we enjoyed wine and cheese on the upstairs deck while watching the sun set - very relaxing. It's not often you find a B&B this perfect - my hat's off to the host.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
3.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
606 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 268 Kennett Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-8205
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing