We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could you not love this place?”

Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chadds Ford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Three of us stayed in the Winterthur Suite for five nights while attending my son's wedding, and wished we could have stayed longer. John was most accommodating, readily available but of sight in his own home, providing us tremendous privacy. The entire carriage house was extremely plush and fantastically neat and clean, with every amenity one could desire. Breakfasts were served at our choice of times and John provided us ample choices, serving fresh fruit and nut bread in addition to the main course. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the central air was quiet and responsive. One warm bug-free night we enjoyed wine and cheese on the upstairs deck while watching the sun set - very relaxing. It's not often you find a B&B this perfect - my hat's off to the host.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Longwood Bed & Breakfast numerous times. The B&B is located in a beautifully restored carriage house with lovely gardens. It is minutes from Longwood Gardens and other attractions such as the Brandywine Museum, Wyeth Museum, Hagley Museum, and Winterthur.

The rooms are charmingly decorated and ultra clean. We usually stay in the 'blue Suite", as we call it. It is roomy with a big bedroom, large bath, sitting room, and a second bedroom, should you need it. A lovely breakfast was served each morning, and was simply delicious.

There is also a kitchenette outside the suite where you can brew coffee or tea, and a refrigerator for storing cold drinks.

John and Barbara were very accomodating and went out of their way so that we had an enjoyable time.

These owners know how to do things right so you have an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springlake07762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Went with friends to spend a girls' weekend and the inn exceeded our expectations. John and his lovely daughter went out of their way to see that our needs were met, including getting us discounted tickets in advance to tourist sites, recommending restaurants, and making reservations. Breakfast was delicious, our suite was spotless and comfortable, and the location couldn't be beat. Highly recommended -- will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hildy9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

so very comfortable and tidy and spacious and light....big bathroom! I didn't eat because I was visiting a friend and we went out, but it looked and smelled delicious! there was a kitchenette outside my door and I could have tea at anytime and also snacks and cookies downstairs in the cozy dining area. can't wait to go back to see my friend and stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We currently live right outside of NYC, and were searching to find the perfect retreat for us in Pennsylvania, as we are both originally from the state. We found it!! Longwood Bed and Breakfast was the ideal getaway for us. When we arrived for our weekender, we were welcomed by the hosts, a polite couple and their daughter. The suite that we chose was the Winterthur Suite which actually has a separate dayroom as well as the large master suite. A welcome change from our cramped living in New York. The suite was charming with extra touches everywhere you looked, and an amazing view of the property, we really felt pampered! My only regret is that we had such little time, and would really have benefitted from an extended stay, maybe 4 days. Longwood Gardens was beautiful and relaxing but we would really have liked to see the Brandywine River Museum as well. Breakfast was served at our convenience downstairs, complete with caramel scones, berry plate, and petite pancakes. We will most certainly be back in the future. Thank you so much for making our stay memorable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filigree23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

A great stay at a really nice bed and breakfast. Really nice rooms and friendly atmosphere and hosts. This is conveniently located near Longwood Gardens, and the surroundings are beautiful. Definitely a recommended stop if you are in the area and visiting local scenery like Longwood.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank seawhe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My girlfriend and I were in town for a wedding and stayed at Longwood B&B because of its proximity to the wedding. Opting to stay at the B&B over a hotel was great. We stayed in the Brandywine Suite, which was really large and very clean. I am usually hesitant with B&B's. In addition to the bedroom we had a living room separate little room with a day bed. The bathroom was a very clean too. Good bed and fireplace too. There were lots of snacks and the kitchen was stocked.

Unfortunately, we didn't have time to check out the attractions, but are going to come back to see Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and maybe a few other sites. We'll definitely stay here when we return and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. John and Barbara are the innkeepers and are very knowledgable of the area. You seriously can't get a better value for the amazing accommodations provided!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
3.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
606 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 268 Kennett Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-8205
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing