We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longwood Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the Brandy Wine River Hotel whilst visiting Longwood Gardens. The hotel was quiet quaint and comfortable, along side this is was a nice environment with an additional feature of being able to go downstairs to have tea and biscuits at 4pm; It was greeted as a pleasant change to other generalized hotels.The front desk was very helpful regarding information on transport,directions and tourist features in and around the Chadds Ford area. I am very satisfied with the hotel and its services provided to me, I would be more than happy to use this hotel again! All this came together to a great weekend away!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 387 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

I know that there is new ownership. But, when you ask for a guest comment card at departure and you are told "we don't do that anymore", it explaines what happened to a place we really enjoyed before. No Wi-Fi in our room, jets did not work in the Jacuzzi, What happened to the breakfast? Bigelow tea, but none of them are black, green, or oolong only flavored. One juice and it is not orange. Not even real Cheerios- but no bananas anyway. The cottage cheese is gone. Packaged everything. We were welcomed back at check in and the 11pm to 7am gentleman was also great. He let us have coffee and tea at 6am and it was very good. Wife brought tea bags. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We might need to look for a new place. The location has been perfect for us- but this time we were disappointed.

Room Tip: King suites are large, quiet, and comfortable. Especially in fall and winter as they have a firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place really needs work!

Fresh paint, new carpeting and fix the plumbing. Just for the start..

Send your front desk to take a few customer service courses...Stop turning the ice machines off at night.

Stop calling your breakfast offering a European plus breakfast.

Lastly this is not even close to a European style hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VoyageursNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My room was tiny and becoming rundown. The jacuzzi jets were inoperable which really didn't matter as the jacuzzi would not hold water. The "Breakfast" was practically non-existent. The staff was extremely arrogant and rude, especially the manager! I have never had a worse experience anywhere! Never going back, and warning all my friends and family to avoid this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The description of this motel is over the top when compared to reality. It is a basic, clean, small place to stay for the night. The included breakfast was minimal, with packaged muffins, one choice of cold cereal, toast, juice, and a waffle iron. It certainly did not live up to the words "elegant", "charming", or "boutique". The double/double room was small, and furnished like many other motels not the luxurious as mentioned in the description.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sat617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Janice & Chef Joey make your experience one of a kind with their positive and outgoing attitudes and wonderful personalities. The food is great and the omelette station is to die for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is nice, comfortable, very pretty and well situated. The rooms and bed very comfortable, and the staff accommodating.

Breakfast was included, but it was like being on a treasure hunt. Hopefully this was a bad week and not the norm. There was one waffle-maker and a shelf with a few bagels and some cake. The bagels ran out very quickly so waffles were the only choice; hence a long line-up for everyone to wait to make waffles on one very slow wafflemaker. But then, no cutlery. No napkins.

No coffee cups - finally some paper ones appeared. The pot was almost empty. Cream and sugar? Of course - across the room next to the cereal.

Through all of this the staff, who seemed to be the desk staff, wandered about telling everyone that the cups, cutlery etc was 'in the dishwasher'. No more bagels or toast appeared. The coffee pot was refilled. Boiled eggs one morning, but not the next.

You might want to go down the road to the diner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
616 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing