We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brandywine River Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Brinton Hotel(West Chester)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentinel Motel(West Chester)(Great Value!)
$80
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel(Glen Mills)(Great Value!)
$113
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$127
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
140
144
63
22
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
144
63
22
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslongwood gardenscookiesquaint hotelhard boiled eggsjacuzzi tubwyeth museumgas fireplacehank's placecontinental breakfastbit datedwaffleslarge bathroomkennett squareconvenient locationcomfortable roomswe've stayedfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 400 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent Friday night here, and honestly this place is great! It's a small hotel with a quiet charm about it. I have seen the words, cozy, and quaint used to describe it and yes they are appropriate. The front desk people were extremely helpful. In fact the front desk person my be running the entire show. I know they at least stock the room for breakfast and tea and cookies as well as handle the front desk. Breakfast was simple but sufficient. If I were to have two suggestions it would be to have a vertical grip handle in the bathroom to assist in getting in and out of the tub. The second would be to have larger coffee cups.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for spending your evening with us. Thanks for complementing our staff as they do their best to accomodate our guests. We appreciate your suggestions and we will take them in. We hope you come back to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I have passed by this hotel on many occasions but never booked a stay there. We found the hotel to be very clean and the safe was friendly and helpful.Convenient location for the attractions in the area. Tea and cookies on our arrival. We will book our stay with them again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Glad to hear that you and your husband decided to stay with us, and that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to ensure that all areas of the hotel are clean, and that all guest agents are pleasant and helpful. Thank you for taking notice. We will be looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have an elderly parent living in one of the many senior communites in the area and have stayed here for years. It is basically a hotel masquerading as a bed and breakfast. The amenities of a hotel but smaller scale. Comfortable beds, clean but not fancy bathrooms, business center for internet access, small fitness room. Recent option to order in room food from excellent restaurant next door a real plus. Complimentery breakfast above average though seems to have gone a bit down hill over the last year-- the economy, I assume. Negatives: occasional noise issues from wedding parties and guests who think it's OK to wear PJ's in public areas. Coffeemakers in the room might help.

Room Tip: If given a room which adjoins another ask for a relocation. Not enough sound proofing. And if you hear a yippy dog, ask to be moved (unless it doesn't bother you!)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hello, and thank you for staying here at the Brandywine River Hotel. It is nice to hear that you are a repeat guest, we appreciate your business. We do apologize about the noise that may come from the big groups as their excitement may sometimes be a little loud. Glad to hear that you enjoy the room service from the Brandywine Prime. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We prefer to stay at the Brandywine River Hotel whenever we are making a trip to visit Longwood Gardens, or other attractions in the area. The location is convenient, and the staff are always helpful. We enjoy the breakfast, although we never seem to make it back to the hotel for the tea and cookies! Staying here is always a pleasant experience, and it feels a little like home even if the gap between visits can be two or three years. We always recommend this venue to colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stratford_reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for being a repeat guest at the Brandywiine River Hotel, and thank you for recommending us to your friends!! It is nice to hear that you enjoy our staff and that you have a pleasant time whenever you come. You are always more than welcome to ask a guest service agent for tea and cookies whenever you desire. There is always someone at the front desk, and they will more than happy to set up a little tray of cookies for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had three rooms, two adjoining and four kids in total. The breakfast that came with the room was good. And the hotel serves free tea and cookies in the late afternoon. Beds were comfortable and staff is friendly. Seemed like a good value for the price. No complaints. I used the small gym in the basement which was perfectly good. Has a treadmill, recumbent bike and elliptical machine. Small but no one else was using it.
I would recommend this spot and particularly for the price. Good business center with computers

Room Tip: 215, 217 and 219 were all good rooms and looked out on to a leafy quiet scene.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateNY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is very nice to hear that you and your family had a pleasant stay. Tea and cookies in the afternoon are a nice little snack for our guests, and I am glad you enjoyed them. Good to know that you took advantage of the fitness center and the business center. We do hope that you return and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews