We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I did a girlfriends' getaway and were very pleased with this lovely hotel. Location was great! Right across the street from Hanks Diner and The Brandywine River Museum and close to most other sights. When we arrived around 5:00, they had their "tea time" which we indulged in - delicious iced tea (they had hot coffee, tea, etc. too) and scrumptious home-made cookies. Included a standard continental breakfast which was definitely adequate (cereal, yogurt, bagels, muffins, waffle machine, etc.) and parking. Friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. Room was comfortable and quiet, too. GREAT VALUE!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 389 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

Clean, charming, all amenities, nice breakfast and couldn't ask for better location. Right near Brandywine Battlefield and River Museum! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very close to Winterthur, Brandywine Museum (Wyeths) and Longwood Gardens. Many neat places to visit inthe area. Could have stayed twice as long. Crabcakes are great in the area. Fresh!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Brandwine River Hotel. Great location to see the sights in the Chadds Ford/Brandywine area. We stayed in a siute and had a very relaxing weekend.
Definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for my 45th reunion of the Univ of Pa, School of Veterinary Medicine. A number of other classmates and their spouses stayed as well. The Inn is not too large, cozy, pleasant, clean and surprisingly quiet even though it is located on US Rte 1 in Chadds Ford. They have a small dining room where they serve a good breakfast, not a full breakfast, but not just a continental breakfast either. The breakfast is included. Overall, we liked it very much. There is a very good restaurant just down the hill from the Inn, a very easy walk. A group of us had dinner there one night and it was outstanding.

Room Tip: Not enough space for comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanBergeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is located near the restaurant Brandywine Prime which makes it an attractive location for those seeking an evening stay. The hotel and staff are nice, however, the operating infrastructure is a bit dated. We have stayed in the winter and summer and each time the room air is extremely dry; the heating/cooling settings are not easily adjustable and the lack of humidity creates an uncomfortable room environment. Additionally, the water in the bathroom (e.g., shower, tub, sink) changes in temperature uncontrollably and this can be uncomfortable while taking a shower as the water temperature quickly goes from hot to cold and back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank OneGeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We've stayed several times to visit family in the area, but we would also go back for a vacation. Nice breakfast included. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are fine. It's not a luxury hotel -- more traditional solid comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRB_BRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
632 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing