We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“American art featuring the Wyeth family plus others” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brandywine River Museum of Art

Brandywine River Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$495.00*
and up
Private Brandywine Valley Tour with Driver
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Chadds Ford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover an outstanding collection of American art, including works by N.C., Andrew and Jamie Wyeth, housed in a historic grist mill with glass-walled lobbies overlooking the scenic Brandywine. During the holiday season, experience the extensive O-gauge model train display, one of the largest in the country, with five trains running simultaneously on nearly 2,000 feet of track. Enjoy guided tours of the Andrew Wyeth Studio, the N.C. Wyeth House and Studio and Kuerner Farm (April to mid-November). Museum shop and cafe.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“American art featuring the Wyeth family plus others”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The first presentation of the Museum is of a two story Grist mill with red brick, But wonderfully added onto the back is the large open contemporary building housing some of the finest American art of featuring the Wyeth family. Especially enjoyed seeing large works by Howard Pyle. The galleries and open space overlook the Brandywine River river for lovely views. Restaurant on second floor looked like a nice possibility for lunch. A must is to see the tour to either Andrew's or NC studio. We toured NC studio and home, and loved seeing his reference materials that he may have used for his illustrations, canoe, vases, etc. Interesting was the tall ladder used for his two story size paintings.

The photographing rules have recently changed and no longer are photos allowed in any of the galleries. No knowing this I was asked to delete my photos by a gallery watcher, an unpleasant experience, especially since i had specifically asked at the front desk if photography was allowed and was granted approval.

There are two other sites in the area that would make this tour worth a stay overnight. The Historical site of the Battle of Brandywine in 1777, minutes away from this site and on down the road a short distance is Longwood an incredible estate of one of the DuPoints.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    119
    22
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Such a great collection of art in a great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went on the tour of the artist studio and visited the museum. We had to stay for hours (from 11 until 3 as there was so much to enjoy and appreciate. Would highly recommend it for Wyeth fans, especially for those that remember the series of paintings done of Nureyev by Jamie Wyeth. The collection by Andrew Wyeth was spectacular as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank turquoiseConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wyeth's through the Generations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Interesting to see 3 generations of artists and how their painting vary from each other. Nice location along the River

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FMC157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just spent a full day on several tours at the museum and they were all excellent. We toured N.C. Wyeth's home and studio, Andrew Wyeth's home as well as the Keurner Farm and also took a docent led tour of the museum. The tour guides were all incredibly knowledgeable and friendly and as a result I have a much greater appreciation for the Wyeth family and their artwork. The museum is one of my favorites; wonderful artwork displayed beautifully in an old grist mill that itself is a work of art. I especially love the large windows overlooking the scenic Brandywine River. We visited on a very rainy day but that didn't deter at all from the beauty of the surroundings. The restaurant is also quite nice and offers good food at reasonable prices in a beautiful setting. I highly recommend this museum and especially the tours; they really offer an excellent opportunity to get a full experience of the Wyeth's impact on the art world.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrufrockCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Come Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of our main purposes in coming to the Brandywine area was to spend a day at this Museum. We wanted to see the Jamie Wyeth and Rockwell Kent show which had travelled here from the Farnsworth Museum in Maine.

We had enjoyed the show in Maine, but had heard it was hung much differently in Chadd's Ford. WOW! There were several more Rockwell Kents from the Wyeth's personal collection that had not been in the show previously. Also, the selection of Jamie Wyeth's work was also varied from the original show. I really liked the show in Maine, but was glad we had the opportunity to see it as it is hanging here. I think it improved the overall experience of both artists works.

We really enjoyed the entire museum, particularly all the works of the 3 generations of Wyeths. We did not take a guided tour, but the docents taking their groups along the galleries certainly sounded very interesting. Actually, you can do the museum in a few hours, which we did. But we liked it so much,that after lunch in the cafe, we went back and did it all over again.

Also, lunch in the cafe is a really nice break. The room overlooks the Brandwine River, and you can watch the kayaers as they float down the river. The food is very good, and reasonably priced. We had soup and half sandwiches for the price of $8/person.

On the weekends there is a bazaar of local artisans in the courtyard. The gardens are a good place to sit, relax and watch the river go by. We did not take the outside studio tours, but will do that on our next visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandywine River Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Brandywine River Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing